2017 Honda Civic Si to debut on April 6 – sedan, coupe

First revealed as a concept back in November 2016 during the Los Angeles Auto Show, the 2017 Honda Civic Si will finally make its debut on April 6 in sedan and coupe body styles.

In terms of performance, Honda is repeating the same bits of information that accompanied the Civic Si Prototype (shown here) reveal. Under the hood, there’s a 1.5 litre turbocharged four-cylinder with dual variable cam timing (VTC) and direct injection, mated to a short-shifting six-speed manual transmission.

No mention of an increase in power but because the Civic Si is meant to be a higher performance version of the regular Civic, it is likely a given although no official figures were disclosed. As before, Honda has stated that additional performance upgrades will be available for the Civic Si, including a new active damper system, active steering system, limited-slip differential and high-performance tyres.

“With the new Honda Civic Si, we’re injecting even more sporty goodness into our 10th-generation Civic line-up. This will be, hands down, the fastest, best-handling Si we’ve ever offered to our customers,” said Jeff Conrad, senior vice president and general manager of Honda.

On the LA concept, a full Honda Factory Performance (HFP) bodykit, rear spoiler, hexagonal-shaped exhaust tip and 19-inch forged aluminium alloy wheels (wrapped with with 235/35 performance tyres) was shown to all. Expect these items to be carried over to the finished production version, albeit with a few minor tweaks.

Similarly, the interior gets “Dry Metal Carbon” instrument panel trim, sport seats at the front (with red stitching and Si logos), aluminium pedals and a red theme for the TFT LCD instrument display and audio system illumination.

GALLERY: Honda Civic Si Prototype

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Albert Yong on Apr 04, 2017 at 5:14 pm

Pity Malaysians. We will never see such cars. We only will see our 3 variants of Civic.

Singaporeans are so lucky. Got always the latest Honda. They will get this car. Lucky them. Earn a lot and yet the Civic less than SGD100k. Kacang puteh for them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
    • Kunta is now Albert on Apr 04, 2017 at 7:06 pm

Nice design. Youngster will like it.

• Henry Ford The XII on Apr 04, 2017 at 8:03 pm

I wonder what was your comment back when we – Malaysia – got the FD2R while Singapore only got the lesser FN2R

• Oh, back then his kind bash Gov for allowing this high performance car to be brought in and “endangering his life” worr….

• sinjapork on Apr 04, 2017 at 9:21 pm

Got super car also no use there, got COE plus no real long road unless you go to bolehland, then kacang puteh got penalties for overspeeding. Pity them

• Juanita Desiree Phung on Apr 04, 2017 at 10:23 pm

Albert pls.Do you know how much for Singaporean have to buy COE before they can buy a car? This car surely will cost them another SGD50k.Yes they earn a lot but they have to spend a lot too.. High cost of living in Singapore usually top 3 in the world.This year no 1.The percentage of citizen own a car is low.If you own a car you don’t have the joy to drive.Too many traffic light.Drive like robots.Work like robots.Some lucky ones will migrate to lower cost or less congested population.If you not lucky you’ll end up working in fast food restaurants.Go see yourself many front liners,cashier and cleaners look like about to die in few seconds.Lucky Singaporean? Go migrate.

• In tomyam, Civic HB is even more expensive than Accord here. So base on ur logic, tomyam must be more pitiful than here lah?

• Not really. This Civic Si only for USA domestic market.

• Redidiot on Apr 05, 2017 at 4:16 pm

Yupp. Coupés don’t sell well here. Never did and never will.

• civicx on Apr 04, 2017 at 5:20 pm

coupe look must more better than hatchback..1.5 turbo engine with manual transmission, perfect match

• armandd on Apr 04, 2017 at 10:12 pm

Yeah. Unfortunately, Malaysians are becoming lazier and distance themselves from manual cars. For them a car is just a tool to get from point A to point B. Driving is a boring activity for them, which is sad actually.

• Agree with that. The government should just reduce tax on cars with a manual gearbox, to encourage drivers to shift gear themselves besides enjoying lower maintenance cost from the manual gearbox.

• Muthusammy Loo on Apr 04, 2017 at 5:28 pm

If Honda Malaysia intend to bring ‘niche’ Civic Si (or SiR) and perhaps Type-R, they need to impose these following conditions for that particular carbuyers:

General conditions:
    1) A valid Class D license holder (not DA) and able and well versed with manual cars otherwise they need to go for refresher course.
    2) Age limit should be raised to minimum 30 years old (not younger than that) and maximum 55 years old.

While the special conditions will be:
    1) No past history of major accident or any type of accident where the carbuyer himself/herself are at fault (based on police report and insurance claim).
    2) Clean traffic record (no summons issued by PDRM/JPJ towards him/her, whether paid or outstanding for at least 5 consecutive years)
    3) A proper medical checkup
    4) Last but not least, undergo psychometric tests

Once carbuyers bought the Civic Si or Type-R, he/she need to go for driving course organised by Honda Malaysia that consists of safety, defensive and lastly, advanced course (sorted by priority).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • David on Apr 04, 2017 at 6:14 pm

Honda didn’t even get enough demand for the 4-door hatch.. In other words, if 4-door hatch can’t make it, then we can stop dreaming coupes would make it here.

With no condition, we still can’t get it here in m’sia.

• ken chow on Apr 04, 2017 at 7:26 pm

ferrari/lambo buyer also no need such req

• may I know why u want to limit the age of owning such car?…even a 70 years old drive better than a youngster…

• Bernard on Apr 04, 2017 at 8:40 pm

Great car. Hope it’s sold here below 50k

• teslaX on Apr 04, 2017 at 9:23 pm

What so special about it? Got 800hp?

• Mikey on Apr 05, 2017 at 9:36 am

It’s special only to people who like/appreciate a coupe & it need not be 800hp either.

• Jamble1987 on Apr 04, 2017 at 9:31 pm

I like the new Civic all around hatchback or coupe but I love the new type r coming out so sick fr

• Mikey on Apr 05, 2017 at 9:29 am

So, this Civic coupe Si is NOT for M’sian. At least not NOW. Maybe in 2/3 years time, some AP holders will bring it in as a recon. IMO, this 1.5 turbo with manual transmission will be a joy to “drive” given the well renown smooth gear shift with 6-speed to play.

• thepolygonal on Apr 05, 2017 at 9:55 am

For Si, the only one that makes sense is the coupe. Honda Malaysia will just put it in the website because dah lama tak ada sporty looking model in the website. Harga = City X 2