Nissan Sylphy, Teana sedans discontinued in Australia

Nissan no longer has a sedan in its Australian line-up after discontinuing the Altima (Teana to us). According to CarAdvice, Nissan’s local arm still has stocks of the medium-sized sedan (large for us), but will no longer be bringing more Down Under.

“The reason relates to the investment required to update the Australian-market Altima’s engines to meet the new Euro 5 emissions standard in Australia. Nissan has decided to not make this investment, so, for now, the Altima won’t be in our new-vehicle catalogue in the future. As a result, production of the Altima sedan will stop for Australia,” said Peter Fadeyev, GM of corporate communications at Nissan Australia.

This latest development comes after the discontinuation of the Pulsar sedan (Sylphy to us) there earlier this year. “The Nissan Altima sedan and Pulsar sedan won’t be offered in Australia in the future,” Fadeyev confirmed.

In any case, sales of the Altima has not been good. CarAdvice points out that the sedan found 1,791 and 1,488 Australian homes in 2014 and 2015 respectively, before sales tapered to just 890 units last year. Nissan has sold 154 Altimas so far this year (till end March). In its roughly three and a half year lifespan in Oz, Nissan sold 4,593 units of the sedan. In contrast, Toyota has shifted 4,389 Camrys in this year alone.

With the sedan book closed, Nissan will no doubt double efforts in pushing SUV sales in Australia. There, the Japanese carmaker has a strong five-model range that includes the Juke, Qashqai, X-Trail, Pathfinder and Patrol. The Navara caters to ute buyers.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• loler on Apr 05, 2017 at 4:27 pm

Waiting for keyboard warrior to say that in bolehland nothing is good, no sylphy no teana no etc, oh wait..

• Jaguh Kangaroo on Apr 06, 2017 at 7:54 am

Proton still selling in Australia but in small numbers like rare sportcars.

• meanwhile on Apr 06, 2017 at 10:43 am

Still not bungkus like nissan

• Jonn Dol on Apr 06, 2017 at 1:57 pm

Looking at their current lineup, you can say that Nissan is pretty good at producing SUVs, but their normal cars are borderline obsolete.

• Curi Curi Malaysia on Apr 05, 2017 at 4:46 pm

Teana in Australia doing badly cause Camry Hybrid CBU only AUD25k (RM80k). So people buy Camry Hybrid.

Pity our Camry CKD is RM175k despite being tax free and having cheaper CKD somemore.

UMW makan RM100k clean profit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • alldisc on Apr 05, 2017 at 10:18 pm

proton/perodua push vios price up.

vios pushes altis price up.

altis pushes camry price up.

camry 2.0 pushes camry hybrid price up. cannot blame UMW. otherwise, vios sells at 85k. altis at 90k, camry 2.0 100k, camry hybrid at 110k. is that what you want?

• Later you compare with Thai pricing is more expensip coz free falling ringgit. Tau pulak compare currency. Bodoh

• curi tulang masa kerja on Apr 05, 2017 at 11:40 pm

Hahah the tax dun go to UMW

• ducatisrambler on Apr 06, 2017 at 8:46 am

There’s no distinction of “CBU and CKD” in Australia now. They had 5% import tax but even that is gone. Afaik, the three manufactureus , Mitsubishi, Toyota and Holden all closed their doors in Australia. Heck even the staple Australian Holden cars would be manufactured in Germany after the closure of it in Oz

• Don't Spin on Apr 06, 2017 at 8:54 am

Seriously are you spinning your head out? Otherwise show the facts and evidence. Tired of you making the same comments all over PT website wasting valuable space and our time reading your non productive crap.

• Spin King on Apr 06, 2017 at 9:05 am

Right I just checked Toyota Australia official website. A Camry Hybrid on SPECIAL OFFER is AUD32,990. This is comment based on fact.

• Very lame to compare with Aussie. Why dun compare wit Thai 189k baht?

• Nikolai on Apr 06, 2017 at 12:50 pm

Not fair to compare the Australian Camry to the Malaysian Camry.

The Malaysian variant of the Camry is known as the Toyota Aurion in Australia.

So you’d have to compare to the Aurion Hybrid instead, but yes, it’s still expensive in Malaysia (especially since in Australia, one earns Aussie dollars).

I live in Melbourne myself.

• Not surprising..nissan’s mainstream offerings this generation has been underwhelming..they do no offer any compelling reasons or USP’s..dynamically they lag..power wise lag..price also not cheaper…fuel economy also so so…engines are dated.. design wise also nothing to shout about…..there is no area that they are better than their competition..once u lose out on every area..there is no reason for people to buy your cars…the only moderate success for this gen is the Xtrail and even then it’s not really a great product..people here bought it because they aren’t many options at that price for a 7 seater..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • wawasan2020 on Apr 05, 2017 at 5:30 pm

tak ape ..semua import ke negara tersayang kita.. TCM suka model antik ..

• Ainul Ali Hassanuddin on Apr 05, 2017 at 5:34 pm

I regret that I have purchased Nissan Slyphy. Poor handling, poor engine and parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • Miss Ferauza Ferraro on Apr 05, 2017 at 5:59 pm

I can’t believe Nissan can’t sell more in Australia than in Malaysia even with a wide range of better models.Here Nissan make the roads an eyesore with their mostly Almera.What happen to new Sentra? And why not bring Altima here? Coz medium size sedan (our is big) monopolised by Accord.Surprisingly Camry went down terribly.Maz 6 ni hiding in a cave now.Altima is better looking than Camry and Maz 6,can give a good fight with Accord in a same price range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • Bash Basher on Apr 06, 2017 at 8:58 am

Altima = Teana. And it is right here in Malaysia for your info

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • Apparently, bashers dun even read the 1st sentence in the article. They just click on Leave Comment, bash, then multiple like themselves, & get high on their “work”. All just for 1ringgit.

• Wrong Bash on Apr 06, 2017 at 2:14 pm

2016 Altima totally different than Teana.. Pls Google yourself..Don’t strict your brain just for local feed.Eat some international dedak as well pls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • Even nissan have to bungkus, you think proton have chance?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • tarakbaca on Apr 05, 2017 at 10:49 pm

Nissan is not bungkus per se, they go to do engine RnD, tarak baca ka?

• Ah Kow on Apr 06, 2017 at 11:27 am

Nissan focusing on electric, probably no time to focus normal combustion engine.

• alldisc on Apr 05, 2017 at 10:25 pm

what are you waiting for AP holders? go australia. ask the dealer there to register the car, make them second hand. then quickly import using your AP. then sell the Sylphy for 70k and Teana for 85k. marvellous.

• Johorian on Apr 06, 2017 at 7:35 am

Note, Qashqai, should be here…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 06, 2017 at 8:28 am

nissan how to sell when u can buy mazda which so much better and proper japan made in oz

• Back in bolehland, I seriously think ETCM is in a coma. Nothing good is happening. I have been looking for a competent D-segment car for a while now, and end of this month I am taking delivery of the latest Accord 2.4. It has everything I really want, if only ETCM brought in the facelifted Teana with really good specs, only then they would have stood a chance to get my money. But no, they dissapointed us with inaction. Blessing in disguise anyway, the RV for my previous Nissans were horrible, dealers looked at those cars like they were korean.