BMW 5 Series long wheelbase for China: from RM290k

BMW is set to introduce a long-wheelbase version of the latest 5 Series at the upcoming 2017 Auto Shanghai. Measuring 133 mm longer than the standard BMW G30 5 Series, the stretched sedan gives its extra space for the benefit of its rear passengers, and will be available in Luxury and M Sport trim lines. As before, the longer 5 Series will be exclusive to China.

The Luxury trim variant gets Nappa leather, a Bowers & Wilkins audio system and a pair of 10.25-inch screens for the rear passengers (each mounted on the front seat headrests), while a tablet computer is integrated into the rear armrest to serve as a control hub for the stretched 5 Series infotainment system.

The sportier edge to the long-wheelbase 5 Series is portrayed by the M Sport trim variant, which comes with the M Aerodynamic body kit, including the familiar three-intake front bumper design, deeper side skirts, larger wheels and a rear diffuser. For China, three petrol variants are on offer: a pair of 2.0 litre turbo fours with 224 hp and 252 hp in 525Li and 530Li guises respectively, while a 3.0 litre turbo six powers the 540Li.

In China, the long-wheelbase 5 Series will arrive in this third quarter of this year, priced between 450,000 to 750,000 yuan (RM288,881 to RM481,468).

GALLERY: BMW G30 5 Series

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Matjava on Apr 10, 2017 at 4:09 pm

Lower eksais tax kot?
    China 5 Series RM288k.

Meanwhile M’sia 5 Series RM399k.

• Tax the rich..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
    • Kelab Kebenaran Kunta on Apr 10, 2017 at 4:47 pm

Where is Gomen’s promise to reduce car prices? 4 years ago janji to reduce by 30%. But 4 years have passed and ALL cars have gone up in price.

Malaysians just got cheated. Duit GST pergi mana?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 18
    • Poor people buy Proton so no problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • fireman on Apr 10, 2017 at 5:35 pm

China is more free market than Malaysia.

• Malaysia only offer 1 spec for G30 that is 530i M Sport. I guess in China also offer the specs that lower than 530i M Sport and stripped out it’s tech & feautures in low spec of China’s G30.

• Bashers says; why only China? Why no in EU or Trumpland or jepunis overlordland or southern overlordland or tomyam? Ini conspiracy theory and mesti salah P1/Gov/Na… oh wait…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 17
    • Kelab Kebenaran Kunta on Apr 10, 2017 at 4:48 pm

Non bashers like you insist car prices and fuel must be high. Don’t you feel sorry for the rakyat? Majority is your own people and yet, you don’t feel sorry at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 12
      • No. I dun feel sori to selfish pipu who demand to use cars/motors when they shud be using public transport.
        I feel sori for mother earth. Do u?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
      • malaysian living in china on Apr 11, 2017 at 10:39 am

i think most malaysians will prefer higher petrol rather than higher car price. even if petrol were to increase rm2 perlitre. per year usage u get an average of extra 3-5k a year? i can live with that rather car priced at 100k more if taking a continental car for example

• Mikey on Apr 10, 2017 at 4:42 pm

The 5 series LWB will cannibalize it’s very own 7 series. Anyway, it’s for China market only. Why bother to comment ??! Like john said – It’s P1/BN Gov fault. Hehehe.

• camtakpro on Apr 10, 2017 at 11:10 pm

This is china. “BMW 5 Series long” can become “BMW 5 Series 龍” and everybody just buy it.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 10, 2017 at 11:20 pm

china cars cheaper than us…sad