Nissan X-Trail Aero Edition introduced – available in 2.0L 2WD and 2.5L 4WD versions, RM141k to RM164k

Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) has announced the introduction of the Nissan X-Trail Aero Edition. Both variants of the T32 sold locally, the 2.0L 2WD and 2.5L 4WD, are available in as this specially-kitted version.

The SUV gets dressed up with aero parts from Japanese aftermarket specialist Tomei Motor, and the package adds on a front and rear aero bumpers, side skirts and gloss black five-spoke 17-inch alloy wheels. The interior also gets snapped up with brown Nappa leather upholstery.

No changes otherwise, the third-gen X-Trail – which made its local debut in January 2015 – being powered by a 2.5 litre unit in its range-topping 4WD form, the QR25DE-k2 offering 171 PS at 6,000 rpm and 233 Nm at 4,000 rpm in the way of output.

Meanwhile, the 2WD variant is powered by a 2.0 litre Twin CVTC MR20DD direct injection unit, which has 144 PS at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm of torque at 4,400 rpm. Both mills are paired with an Xtronic CVT gearbox, which features an ECO mode as well as a seven-speed manual mode.

The X-Trail Aero Edition is priced at RM141,428 for the 2.0L 2WD variant and RM163,616 for the 2.5L 4WD model (both on-the-road, without insurance). The SUV comes with a seven-year, unlimited mileage warranty, whilst the factory-fitted accessories get a three-year or 100,000 km warranty (whichever comes first).

In conjunction with Tan Chong ‘s 60th anniversary, ETCM is offering attractive deals on the X-Trail Aero Edition – buyers can pick from savings of up to RM6,000 or a Raya rebate package of RM4,500 with a RM1 promotion for an eight-inch Multimedia Navigator. Existing X-Trail owners aren’t left out – the Tomei accessories package is available for sale to bring the SUV up to an Aero Edition.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• 150K car with 2 airbag. Madness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • lolket on May 02, 2017 at 7:33 pm

But but but Nappa leather more important… GJ ETCM, keep driving Nissan to the ground.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Kunta Kinte on May 02, 2017 at 8:37 pm

Looks like car prices are going higher and higher and MITI is condoning their tricks of disguise of adding “kit” and then justifying the increase.

What happened to Jib’s promise to reduce car prices? Where is our 30% price reduction?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 26
      • You should first ask people that buy and support this type of “promo”. Why not for the cost of that kits TCM give discounted child car sit like P1?

• safety 1st on May 02, 2017 at 7:03 pm

Meanwhile ETCM gip X-Trail 2 good airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • JasonT on May 02, 2017 at 8:23 pm

Correctly said, why only 2 airbags? Most vehicles at 150k already fitted with at least 6 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Kunta Kinte on May 02, 2017 at 8:40 pm

Most stupid company on earth. X Trail only got 2 airbags and their Almera got no VSC also, they got time to sell kit to people.

Hello bodohs in Tan Chong, people want safety. X Trail should have 7 airbags and not 2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
      • Yeah right. If pipu wanted safety, they’d pick Persona instead of ur deathtrap vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • Kunta citroen sales man on May 02, 2017 at 11:00 pm

Just stick to your citreon, dont bash others abang

• Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda, Nissan Tidur on May 02, 2017 at 11:54 pm

Airbags, VSC all cannot make money, profit margins. They also want to make more money by setting up plastic molding factory making bodykits and make them fitted as standard so that they can make money and make their family and cronies richer.

• Same L0rrrr on May 03, 2017 at 9:52 am

At least the sushi still better RV than the potong that is driven by Kinte

• ETCM…please listen to your customers…please provide offer the current x-trail with 6 airbag, complete with blis, lane departure warning etc..better still, please launch the xtrail hybrid in CKD form…dressing up your current models with crappy accessories and overcharging, will not translate to sales….the Malaysian car buying public are much smarter than you think….even I am still keeping my j32 2.5v6 teana, because of my disappointment of the current teana model….in comparison to toyota camry and hyundai ioniq, it so called top spec teana is like ‘roti kosong’…..very sad…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
    • Same L0rrrr on May 03, 2017 at 9:55 am

With 6 airbags, would u buy one?

• Dont forget the facelift needs to arrive pronto with Apple Carplay/Android Auto. Give the next Honda CR-V a proper fight lah because Bermaz is slowly making the CX5 face away with their own incompetence

• Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda on May 02, 2017 at 7:17 pm

Eh Tan Chong, you are awake?
    Where is the Nissan Note?
    Why is the Almari still using four speed auto, recently I use Grabcar in Thailand their Almari already use CVT
    Oh wait.. wait..
    Hello?
    Are you asleep?
    Tidur saja

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • Idk if stupid tan chong did their market research or not….7 airbags la!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • old horse on May 02, 2017 at 8:23 pm

Qashqai la!

• Kunta Zakar Kinte Naik on May 02, 2017 at 8:43 pm

Additional 20bhp expected with this ‘add on’

• Leafable on May 02, 2017 at 8:51 pm

I rather to have more airbags than useless plastic panels.

• Zakar Naik on May 02, 2017 at 9:07 pm

I am waiting for Almera Xtronic CVT with 7 speed sequential. Must come with proper temperature gauge. Will not accept low cost blue and red idiot lights.

• Karma Coming on May 02, 2017 at 9:12 pm

In summary, Aero edition is just add-on parts put on a standard car??

• Elchino on May 02, 2017 at 9:21 pm

Wait until the new 7 seater CRV gets launched and this X-Trail can ta pau!

• Bernard on May 02, 2017 at 10:34 pm

The pricing should be rm50-80k only!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Patrick on May 02, 2017 at 11:01 pm

Still 2 airbag? Your competitors all already 7 airbag! Your customers & their family life should be taken as an important aspect when you launching a new edition. Perhaps an “Nissan Safety Edition” should launch later? Oh, NO, you should be make it an standard across all model.

• Hello A-holes in ETCM. We dont want your crap special edition. We want the latest facelift with specifications so good it would make people think 3 times about buying the soon to be launched Honda CRV.

Regards, ex-Nissan buyers fed up with your incompetence.

• Mr. Fozzy on May 03, 2017 at 7:56 am

Why so expensive? Subaru forester is far better than this with the price tag. I buy my subaru at 127k only 2.0i-p on the road without insurance. You get 7 air bag, all wheel drive, boxerengine really stable when you throw at the corner, good NVH and handling. X-trail just sell appearance not people needs.

• klguy on May 03, 2017 at 8:26 am

i’d rather get a used 2012 Q5 for this price

• please dont blame on May 03, 2017 at 8:43 am

no need to blame TAN CHONG …

just don’t buy their car will do..

For me .. I rather want all the active safety feature compare to passive..

I’m OK with no air bag.

• azrai on May 03, 2017 at 8:44 am

Nissan X-Trail Ah Beng edition.

• Mikey on May 03, 2017 at 10:28 am

When the X-Trail was launched back in 2013, there was rave review hence TCM sold by the Bus loads.

Fast Forward to 2017, how in a short time of 4 years can make a well loved SUV into a – should I say Not well loved anymore simply bcos of 2 airbags(which was NOT mention here) but we assume bcos the writer said “No changes otherwise”.

What I can see here is this aero edition have beautiful specially-kitted aftermarket kits & comes with 3 rows of brown Nappa Leather seats which is Top Notch.

This SUV comes with a 7-year unlimited mileage warranty, whilst the factory-fitted accessories get a 3-year or 100,000 km warranty.

Unfortunately most guys look at the negative side more than the positive. Why, bcos M’sian are a demanding lot who want the best for their hard earn $$$ & I think they all have their Rights.

• Right way is temper demands with expectations. Not cry, & cry, & cry, want, want, want. MY pipu r just too spoiled

• Jonn Dol on May 03, 2017 at 12:37 pm

Yes! Must exercise their Rights.
      Change for Better!

• qqexp on Jun 16, 2017 at 6:49 pm

Fasten the seat-belt is utmost important no matter with or without airbag for the rear seats passenger.

• suggest ALL potential customers to wait for NEW 2017 honda CR-V …coming soon

• slowcar on May 03, 2017 at 4:01 pm

aero kit with donkey power.. 200nm with cvt… god bless those who buy this car

• JW Wong on May 04, 2017 at 10:36 am

Come on Tan Chong Motors, even base spec CR-V has 4 airbags and cheaper than X-Trail.

Stop offering the Aero Kit and upgrade the safety features.

• My xtrail T32 now in tceas workshop with gearbox problem with 10k mileage warranty left. Few months ago, air-conditioning auto shut and claim warranty. Think before buy this car.

• Kavi Thiresa on Jun 05, 2017 at 12:17 pm

Xtrail aero edition

• Hunaish Didi on Jul 19, 2017 at 10:14 pm

I did some research about this new X-Trail Aero edition and found only one mistake, they forgot to redesign the tail light! Average family car with 7 seater I think its good price which I paid.

• Will never consider buying another Nissan car of any types or model simply because Nissan Malaysia failed to honor to their Warranty of defective car parts; even before expiration of the Warrant Period.