GALLERY: G30 BMW 530i M Performance in Malaysia

Launched at the end of March at a price of RM398,800, the G30-generation BMW 5 Series arrived in Malaysia solely as the 530i M Sport. Meanwhile for those who are after an even sportier exterior for their G30 5 Series, there is the M Performance package on offer now, installed on the vehicle on display at the opening of BMW’s regional parts distribution centre in Senai.

Here, the items include the double-spoke, 20-inch 669M Bi-Colour wheel set with run-flat tyres, retailing at RM33,103, high-gloss black-painted kidney grilles for RM543.60 each per side, carbon-fibre side mirror covers at RM1,976.30 each per side, carbon-fibre rear diffuser at RM10,147.95, and a carbon-fibre bootlid spoiler at RM4,282.80.

As seen here, the G30 530i M Sport wears a total of RM52,573.55 in M Performance accessories – but wait, there’s more.

Other M Performance options not fitted to the display car include 20-inch wheels of various designs, with prices ranging from RM27,287.60 to RM33,103. A BMW M Performance sports brake kit with red calipers can also be specified, at RM23,557.70, while M Performance side skirts are also available, with each left and right item priced at RM1,274.90, while side skirt film can also be specified, at RM1,014.80.

Elsewhere, the carbon-fibre front splitter can also be specified – at RM7,176 – in addition to the aforementioned carbon-fibre attachment, while at the back, a rear bumper trim can be optioned, at RM3,448.20, as can a matte black painted rear diffuser at RM2,174.60, in place of the aforementioned carbon-fibre item; a RM1,946.05 matte black-painted rear spoiler can be had instead of the carbon-fibre unit.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Unlike AMG launched recently, this is M is just like a TRD badged vios. Even perf-craved richman knows what is true perf richman car, an AMG.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 128 Thumb down 157
    • YB Kunta Kinte on May 15, 2017 at 5:15 pm

Silly to compare M styling to TRD Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 30
    • YB Kunta Kinte on May 15, 2017 at 5:22 pm

20-inch 669M Bi-Colour wheel set with run-flat tyres, retailing at RM33,103

When 4 tyres/wheel set cost RM33k, you realise, our Ringgit has really no value anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 29
      • Nancy Liu on May 15, 2017 at 11:14 pm

Mr. Please find a life. There is nothing good from your mouth. You say the same bad thing to your family everyday?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 14
      • Nancy John Ohwai on May 16, 2017 at 6:45 am

This is same price as Porsche tyres!

• Bulu_kETiak on May 15, 2017 at 7:40 pm

The AMG 43 models launched in Msia recently are proper AMG cars as opposed to these M performance accessorised 530i. It would be more appropriate to compare the M550i to an E43 AMG.

Besides, comparing an RM80k++ Toyota to an Rm398k BMW shows a distinct lack of knowledge in cars. LoL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • Otak Udang on May 15, 2017 at 9:12 pm

What a dumb thing to say…TRD and BMW Motorsport SAME? Ha ha h ah ah ah ah ah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • Yes. Both r hawking new wheels, new bodykit, new suspension. Engine upgrade? Podah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 22
        • John otak udang on May 15, 2017 at 10:28 pm

Dear stupid john.
          If u want to compare with AMG, get a fact on M5. Not M trim for sporty look only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
          • Stupid as stupid does. Read the article. Is this M5?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 25
          • YB Kunta Kinte on May 16, 2017 at 10:16 am

no point trying to educate someone uneducated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
    • Caress on May 16, 2017 at 6:41 am

This article is not about an M car you hoe

• Gaviny on May 15, 2017 at 4:16 pm

For me , I think Mercedes is at least 5 years ahead of BMW design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
    • I don’t like. Mercedes gear shifter for the current model now located side of steering wheel (like old MPV) except for AMG variants. I like BMW more.

• Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda, Nissan Tidur on May 15, 2017 at 4:29 pm

That’s a nice looking white Honda City Modulo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • The f10/f30 m sport steering wheel is much more desirable …..

• Primus on May 15, 2017 at 7:37 pm

The side air vents and window frame surround are in satin aluminum color, look out of place with the black M Performance parts. Much better if these parts can be specified in black like those offered in other markets.

• What safety? on May 15, 2017 at 11:54 pm

So after spending RM50k++ for looking sporty, this car doesn’t gain a single horsepower anyway. So much for “M Performance” styling, without adding any real performance.

• Don't u think? on May 16, 2017 at 12:17 am

In my view, the design of the rear lamp looks like overdoing or too big, they should have make it smaller so that it has a sleeker look

• Tok Guru on May 16, 2017 at 7:43 am

The car doesnt live up to our expectations in terms of styling doesnt it?

• Mummy Yummy on May 16, 2017 at 7:46 am

The M badge is just cosmetic?? No performance improvement in the engine, izit?

• For performance this is not the car to buy. For M looking without performance, this is the rich toy car to look for. Personally I will get the X5 about the same price.

• Where is M Performance side skirt?

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 17, 2017 at 12:04 am

bodykit banyak ini

• that guy on May 29, 2018 at 6:37 pm

good choice when u only want the almost the same look as the M5 without the performance where u end up dont really utilize it anyway or take it to the track.