BMW Malaysia opens regional parts distribution centre

BMW Group Malaysia has officially opened its regional parts distribution centre in Senai, Johor at the Free Industrial Zone of the Senai International Airport. The regional parts distribution centre is BMW’s largest facility in the Asia Pacific region, situated on 775,000 sq ft of land with an investment of RM130 million to support 23 countries in its reach for BMW, MINI, and BMW Motorrad brands.

BMW Group Malaysia has engaged 55 local service providers with annual contracts valued at over RM25 million, according to Datuk Azman Mahmud, chief executive officer of the Malaysian Investment Development Authority.

“This new Regional Parts Distribution Centre is very timely in capturing the growing market opportunities in this region, especially with our existing strategic free trade agreements and the upcoming Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP), as it will increase market accessibility across its member countries,” he added.

With the setting up of the new regional parts centre, it is expected to create 120 new jobs as it supplies markets in Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, South Korea, Australia, New Zealand, Indonesia, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Macau, Philippines, Brunei, Laos, Cambodia, Myanmar, Vietnam, Bangladesh, Mongolia, Sri Lanka, Tahiti, New Caledonia, Fiji and Guam.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Madani on May 12, 2017 at 11:18 am

Syabas! Satu lagi petanda bermulanya kebangkitan sektor automotif di Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
    • Darren Chia on May 12, 2017 at 12:13 pm

Where the bashers always saying Thailand this Thailand that.Eat skunk now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
    • slow slow slow on May 12, 2017 at 2:41 pm

Already 5 weeks and still waiting for the part from German. You can have a Johor warehouse but if parts are not complete, what for.

• 120 jobs! wow …

• john is otak batu on May 12, 2017 at 1:10 pm

This will increase the confidence of 2nd hand BMW car owners. RV should be better! Good job BMW!

• KayaKaya 1M on May 12, 2017 at 1:29 pm

With increased sales of BMW cars over the years in Malaysia, this indicate that more and more Malaysians have becoming richer too…..

We are right on target to become a developed countries when 2020 comes…..

Syabas and Syukur….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Aero (Member) on May 12, 2017 at 6:06 pm

I don’t understand what’s wrong with us Malaysians. I really don’t.

When foreign car companies invest in Thailand and Indonesia, we say “ini semua salah Proton/ Najib/ BN etc..”

When foreign car companies invest in Malaysia, most people just ignore and say “meh, so what ?”.

How are we supposed to improve with third class mentality like this ? Always bashing and talking cock, but no mutual respect and community participation. Always me, me, me and only me. Not me ? Not my problem. … Why ?

Anyway, as always, I give my dua tangan thumbs up to BMW for continuing to invest in Malaysia. Looking forward to more news about the planned left-hand drive exports. This parts centre will no doubt be a huge relief for current BMW owners. No longer need to wait 1 month for some parts to arrive all the way from Germany or U.S.. And the parts themselves should become cheaper now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Azhar on May 13, 2017 at 4:48 pm

Tahniah BMW.
    I LOVE BMW