GALLERY: Volkswagen Arteon – new CC in detail

Unveiled at the Geneva Motor Show earlier this year, the shapely Volkswagen Arteon carried the four-door coupe mantle from the equally elegant CC (previously the Passat CC). Now Volkswagen has released a considerable gallery of the new model.

Built upon the the Volkswagen Group’s now-familiar MQB (Modular Transverse Matrix) architecture, the Arteon measures 4,862 mm long with a 2,841 mm wheelbase, 1,817 mm wide and 1,427 mm tall, and is available a range of Volkswagen’s four-cylinder petrol and diesel engines.

These include the 148 hp 1.5 litre TSI, a 2.0 litre TSI in 187 hp and 276 hp states of tune, and a 2.0 TDI turbodiesel offered in 148 hp, 187 hp and 236 hp forms. Transmission-wise, the base models receive a six-speed manual gearbox, while others further along the range gain a seven-speed DSG dual-clutch automatic.

Three trim levels are on offer – Arteon, Arteon Elegance, and Arteon R-Line. The Elegance adds chrome wing mirror caps, LED tail lights with dynamic indicator light function, contrast stitching on the Alcantara/leather heated seats and floor mats, with 18-inch Muscat alloys.

Meanwhile, the R-Line takes a sportier route to style, with high-gloss black front air intakes, a sports steering wheel dressed in leather, Alcantara/leather heated seats, 18-inch Sebring alloy wheels, unique R-Line bumpers and chrome-plated tailpipes.

Standard across the Arteon range are LED headlights and tail lights, LED daytime running lights, Keyless Go, stainless steel door tread plates, Composition audio unit with eight speakers and auxiliary USB ports, an electronically controlled climate system, semi-electric front seats, driver alert system and Progressive Steering. Inside, the Arteon’s dashboard bears strong resemblance to that in the Passat.

Additionally, the Arteon comes with ambient lighting along with upholstery and trim finishes including leather, Nappa leather, Alcantara, and aluminium, in a variety of colours. The Arteon also comes with a comprehensive safety suite, which includes Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC), second-generation Emergency Assist, Lane Assist, predictive cornering lights with predictive control, PreCrash, Side Assist and Sign Assist.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• The F12 of Maranello on Jun 01, 2017 at 5:35 pm

Please make it available in Malaysia. That’s it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • Aaron on Jun 01, 2017 at 6:04 pm

To be honest, I actually prefer the elegance trim. It’s just effortlessly sexy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • John Tan on Jun 01, 2017 at 6:12 pm

More importantly…will it come to our shore, when and how much?

• Totoro on Jun 01, 2017 at 7:07 pm

Please make sure VW Malaysia includes an option for manual

• Veeedub on Jun 01, 2017 at 7:14 pm

Early 2018 MY launch circa 250k

• madu lebah on Jun 01, 2017 at 10:30 pm

Sounds about right at around RM250k. But this is even higher than the outgoing CC but I guess it is justified given the higher specced Arteon VS the Passat lineups.

• 250k? thats competing with its sister car Audi A4! but its an A5/A7 with an A4 price…if u dont mind the badge, shud be good.

• Nice car but after-sales service SUCK!?!

• Lovely handsome car hopefully reliable with our weather condition i.e gear box….hardly see B9 on the road but hopping arteon will change people perceptions towards VW once again

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 02, 2017 at 12:08 am

could have done a better job at the back

• NoMoreVAG on Jun 02, 2017 at 12:12 am

Arteon instead of Passat CC so that VW can charge more with a new name?

• Gracke on Jun 02, 2017 at 12:29 am

The new 1.5TSI is a must to bring it here!!!!! Gorgeous.

• Jonn Dol on Jun 02, 2017 at 5:49 am

Looks more head turning than the BMW 3-series and Audi A4 inside out..

• they should adopt this grilled design over their golf, polo, tiguan etc…that will be a hit and much needed refreshed look

• Gavint on Jun 02, 2017 at 8:58 am

All ask to bring, price announced , ‘ stupid lah, better buy BMW, Mercedes , Porsche ‘

• If this rides as good as it looks, this I will think is a better buy. My BMW 320i is hardly 6 months old and the built quality is very much questionable. Very disappointed with eery sounds and ride quality !!

• Pavan on Jun 02, 2017 at 1:49 pm

Bro, you’re too used to Jap car’s built and ride quality.

• u sure boh? on Jun 02, 2017 at 2:02 pm

As I know, there is no 320i for quite sometimes. It has been replaced with 318i and 330e.

Oh btw, you mean your new 2007 BMW 320i??

• Bernard on Jun 02, 2017 at 1:12 pm

Great looking car but may become outdated looking fast like the earlier Passat CC…

• Passat CC and CC still a looker same as pug 508 be it facelifted or prefacelifted these are gorgeous car, Accord also got charisma…

• When they gonna launch here..wish to get r line with reasonable price..