Lexus LC 500 officially launched in Malaysia – 5.0 litre V8, 10-speed auto, 0-100 km/h in 4.4 seconds, RM940k

With the order books open for over a month now, the Lexus LC 500 finally makes its official launch debut here in Malaysia. The RM940,000 price tag (on-the-road without insurance) will net you the brand’s flagship luxury coupe, along with a five-year/unlimited mileage warranty and five-year/100,000 km free scheduled service package.

First unveiled at last year’s North American International Auto Show (NAIAS) in Detroit, the LC 500 is a faithful recreation of the stunning LF-LC concept that previewed it more than five years ago.

Underpinned by the new Lexus Global Architecture – Luxury (GA-L), the LC 500’s platform employs a mix of materials – high-strength steel, aluminium and carbon fibre – in its construction. Meanwhile, the bodyshell, which features plenty high-tensile steel, provides higher torsional rigidity than even the LFA‘s carbon structure.

A combination of dramatic lines and aggressive angles, the attention-grabbing design of the low-slung coupe is not complete without Lexus’ trademark spindle grille as part of its visual bag of treats. Joining it are the car’s triangular headlights with three LED projectors within them, along with arrow-shaped taillights at the rear.

Under that sculpted bonnet is a 5.0 litre naturally-aspirated Atkinson-cycle V8 petrol engine that comes with VVT-i and D-4S direct injection. Rated at 470 hp at 7,100 rpm and 540 Nm at 4,800 rpm, the mill directs drive to the rear wheels via a Direct Shift 10-speed automatic gearbox and Torsen limited-slip rear differential (optional in certain markets).

The powertrain allows for a zero to 100 km/h sprint time of 4.4 seconds, and if you keep your foot planted on the accelerator, you’ll arrive at the car’s rated top speed of 270 km/h.

Moving inside, the driver-centric cabin is awash with leather, which covers a wide number of surfaces including the dashboard, seats, steering wheel, gear knob and other pieces of trim. As you’d expect, the interior is meticulously put together by Lexus’ famous Takumi master craftsmen.

The LC 500 also comes with rotating dials beside the instrument cluster, something that was found on the LFA before it. Another throwback to the high-revving V10-powered car is the movable ring embedded in the fully-digital instrument cluster, which changes its appearance depending on the selected driving mode.

Elsewhere, there’s the latest Lexus Multimedia infotainment system linked to a dash-mounted, 10.3-inch touchscreen display and Remote Touch controller, along with heated and ventilated power seats, ambient lighting, dual-zone climate control and a 13-speaker Mark Levinson premium sound system (also optional in other markets).

The Malaysian-spec LC 500 also comes with the Performance Package and Convenience Package, the latter featuring Parking Assist and blind spot monitor with rear cross-traffic alert.

Meanwhile, the Performance Package equips the LC 500 with active rear steering, variable gear-ratio steering and speed-activated rear wing (raises when travelling more than 80 km/h). The seat inserts and headliner also receive an Alcantara layer, while there is now a carbon-fibre roof and door sill plates.

Customers will get to choose from up to 11 exterior colours as well as several interior colours themes – black, dark rose or ochre (shown here) – depending on the exterior colour chosen. A set of 21-inch aluminium wheels come as standard here, wrapped with Bridgestone Potenza S001L tyres (245/40 front and 275/35 rear). The LC 500 is produced at Lexus’ Motomachi factory in Japan, which was where the 500 units of the LFA were manufactured.

For more information and specifications of the Lexus LC 500, head on over to CarBase.my

GALLERY: Lexus LC 500 official images

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• GtrFan on Jul 26, 2017 at 12:01 pm

Get Nissan Gtr better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • Periasamy on Jul 26, 2017 at 6:13 pm

Rm1 million for a car that is a mere Toyota. And 70% of it is just taxes which most of us hardly see coming back even!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • Pedro on Jul 26, 2017 at 8:46 pm

Yes 70% taxes. 700k + 300k car price.

• Every comment from you just show your ignorance to accept their growing world appearance and bluntly hatred against the brand with no reason. Obviously, your hatred makes nothing to them and can’t stop them claiming for the 4th largest premium car maker in the world now! near 700k units sold last year worldwide and fastly growing in Malaysia (based on MMA report).. Even average car maker only sell 1 – 3 millons car a year.. And plus, they don’t sale cheap as volvo etc. to achieve this volume.. Don’t tell me if the big 3 not even borther about this..

• Periasamy on Jul 26, 2017 at 6:15 pm

Better I buy a 2007 Ferrari F430 for hardly RM360k.

At least girls also know what a Ferrari is. Ask most girls about Lexus, they will say it is the biscuit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
    • AsalAdaMyvi on Jul 26, 2017 at 6:51 pm

Myvi better. period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jul 26, 2017 at 11:26 pm

Absolutely beatiful car and the price justifies it…kudos lexus…

• I see... on Jul 27, 2017 at 7:36 pm

Not only are you proven xenophobe, you also have poor taste.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • So freaking beautiful, but terrible pricing. How come GTR can priced around RM500K – RM700K oni and you priced it at RM940K? Better buy BMW i8, cheaper roadtax also muahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
  • Santokh on Jul 26, 2017 at 12:13 pm

Syabas UMW Toyota! Power of dreams!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
    • Periasamy on Jul 26, 2017 at 6:23 pm

Lexus Malaysia think they are selling Rolls Royce. I was in their showroom today, their caplang RX200t is being sold for RM388k and their junkyard LX570 SUV is being sold for RM950k.

Hello Lexus, wake up lah. Your sales are so bad. in MAA monthly sales chart, your sales are teruk gila.

UMW really got no brains in their head.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
      • Everywhere else, Lexus is cheaper than the Germans’ big three. Only in Malaysia, under UMW Toyota, Lexus is considered as more premium thus should be more expensive than BMW or Mercedes. At 1 million ringgit, there are many choices to choose from.
        You want a luxury GT, how about a Bentley Continental which by the way, has a much better interior. 500k can get a 2010 model and save the 500k for maintenance.
        You want sporty, how about a Nissan GT-R or Ferrari F430? 500k can get you neat examples and you still have 500k for maintanance. Yes, these are used but do you seriously think the Lexus can compete with the GT-R in performance or compete with the F430 for looks?

• Holofanboi on Jul 27, 2017 at 9:29 am

Actually periasamy, due to the weird pricing of Lexus here in Malaysia it attracts a VERY specific group of buyers here in Malaysia.

Alot of Lexus’s customers (in MY at least) are favored by high net worth individuals, but not the ultra high net worth ones. Some in this income bracket do not believe in the usual ‘west/euro is better’ adage and tends to place pride in all-things-asian.

As such, Lexus caters very well to the group above. In a way, the recond Nissan-GTR’s attracts the same buyers, except they have a more showy personality. The crazy pricing is more of a ‘willing premium’ to them.

• Kopi Pasta John Ohwai on Jul 27, 2017 at 9:37 am

umw all tido

• Definitely not.. And yes they are not targetting poor customer like us commenting rubish here.. Only talk but no money.. Visiting lexus showroom recently? End up with no enough money to buy one? Then why complaining? Just go to proton @ perodua and buy from them.. Do we expect they need to sell cheaper in Malaysia whereas in all part of the world they are equivalently priced against big 3? Have you checked the price in other market also against other premium? Then don’t compalining the dealer so much if u can’t afford but gov who taxes us the price..

• 1 million for a Toyota??? I just need to spend 200k plus for a BMW/Merc/Audi or any other European car (real conti car) to pick up girls…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
    • RealMaserati on Jul 26, 2017 at 9:05 pm

Cheap car pick up cheap …

• KK Chow on Jul 27, 2017 at 2:50 pm

High Class pick up fancy Ferrari rather than this Junk name Lexus . Lexus also pick up cheap too.

• FYI, it’s Lexus.. Currently 4th largest premium car maker in the world.. Far greater in sales volume if compared to our proton and perodeua combined.. Just accept it.. Cheap customer like us shouldn’t bother, but the big 3 had already acknowledged and well aware its present at the very begining..

• Kawenlari on Jul 26, 2017 at 12:25 pm

So alluring…lady in white dress.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • UMW... on Jul 26, 2017 at 12:26 pm

Who would buy this instead of a Porsche Panamera 4S? I really want to know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Ones that already have Porsche Panamera 4S

• ae101 on Jul 26, 2017 at 10:47 pm

So what if it is a Porsche. Panamera 4s? You mean that fat ugly 4 door sedan? It’s design can’t beat this curvy LC. Also this kind of car will become a collector unit in future due to its rarity. LFA and NSX are good example.

• Curvey or not, it’s a Porche.

• Yes... on Jul 27, 2017 at 4:48 pm

Pebble Beach is full of Lexus (lexi) on exhibition. And Jay Leno’s garage has a whole bunch of Lexus too.

• Heng Lee on Aug 19, 2017 at 7:01 pm

The Porsche won’t break down 200m before the chequered flag like it became a Toyota tradition at Le Mans already… ;)

• Jamil on Jul 26, 2017 at 12:34 pm

Likey the curvaceous and tight bodyline figure. UMW terbaik!

• RM940k is ALOT ,in caps, of money for a ‘glorified’ Toyota for all I care is a Camry on the underneath. A car with more swoopy lines to make to make you puke, an engine that hark backs to the Meiji Restoration .In a time when all the Teutonic marques are going Electro-Turbo and this still burns fuel the old, unassisted way. Is a car with a few extra bucks less, gets you the uber cool Porsche Panamera 4S and with it, more performance, more seats and the exclusive German bragging rights, as they say, once you go Euro, you never go back.

But stopping there. I really really love the LC, does it justify is stupidly high price tag and the road tax that goes with 5000cc of Nippon V8.

The thing that amazes me with the Lexus LC is that the longer you look around it, the more little interesting details you find around the car, the mirror rear light housing, the protruding door handles,the metal roof rails that ends towards the C-pillar in the shape of the Japanese katana. In any case is these little detail that I think makes it worth the RM940k asking price. The other car company, in my opinion, that comes close to giving this form art deco like details is uber-marque like Pagani & Spyker.

The V8 is also not bad for a unassisted motor, and Lexus lately have a thing for making wonderful sounding motors thanks in part to Yamaha. The engine, old in its concept does put out respectable performance, thou no where matching to something with a Bavarian or Munich pace.

Does it justify the price tag? weather you love or hate the looks, given the amount of detail poured into the design, an engine that connects emotion rather than pure Autobahn numbers… I think it is….. now if only they can fixed that damn infotainment system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Shocked on Jul 26, 2017 at 5:41 pm

You seem like one of the more knowledgable commenters here, didn’t expect you to say something like it’s a Camry underneath

• “For all i care is a Camry”. Basically is to mimick the age old Paultan commenters popular thinking that every Lexus is a Camry underneeth, from the IS to the LS, is all a Toyota.

• jinggo on Jul 26, 2017 at 12:57 pm

better buy porsche or aston martin.. lexus lack of prestige becoz it is toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • Go home Lexus. You lot are all drunk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • I think you are the one that need to go home. What the hell are you trying to say? “You lot are all drunk”. I’ve been trying to process those, but oh god, I can’t. Or maybe I’m drunk

Btw, the car look fantastic and beautiful as it is. Its just the pricing that were too much for a Lexus.

• Ben Yap on Jul 26, 2017 at 1:17 pm

the company that breds godcar is the one that breds lexus.

• Lipstik on Jul 26, 2017 at 1:33 pm

Lipstick on a toyota

• Rinnegan on Jul 26, 2017 at 1:53 pm

With RM940,000 in hand, would one buy a Lexus?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • ex-VGM staff on Jul 26, 2017 at 2:20 pm

something for someone who wants to be different.
    why join the mainstream when u can be unique??

• Because... on Jul 26, 2017 at 7:50 pm

You are not brainless and have some level of cognitive ability to know that there’s better value in a Porsche. This is just UMW jacking up the price.

• That’s one expensive Toyota.

• passion on Jul 26, 2017 at 2:23 pm

mark levinson by samsung. yum yum.

• What a beauty! The lady in white I mean. The car is okay too.

• thepolygonal on Jul 26, 2017 at 3:18 pm

Slow… Clap clap clap.
    I can only hope someone else buys it so I can see it on the road.
    Clap… clap clap…

• CAR REPO SPECIALIST AND AUCTIONEER on Jul 26, 2017 at 3:24 pm

I have been waiting for this baby all my life..will lookgood next to my mustang..

• The interior cant even compete with cars 1/4 the price. Such fugliness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
  • Teropong supporter on Jul 26, 2017 at 3:58 pm

very dated design, already looking boring…the white model quite fat not match the car…skip!

• Sama L00 on Jul 26, 2017 at 4:10 pm

Everyone in the world knows Japanese car is good. But why is it so expensive in Malaysia? Ask ur beloved government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Albert on Jul 26, 2017 at 4:13 pm

The 1 million Ringgit toy for the rich and super rich.

• alldisc on Jul 26, 2017 at 4:47 pm

That rotating dials… Very similar to proton iswara UK spec. Some 25 years ago. And oh wait. Mitsubishi Gallant super touring from 1984.

• The girls are HOT HOT HOT !!!!

• theman on Jul 26, 2017 at 5:26 pm

Lexus design philosophy in one million package! NICE! I would get this over the porsche as this looks more gaya! Lexus reliability should one of the best in motoring world.

• gigi kuning macho on Jul 26, 2017 at 7:06 pm

A toyota for 1 million?? I buy a Lambo, or Ferrari better la….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Stimbot on Jul 26, 2017 at 7:13 pm

Licin puteh abang suka…u made my day PT!

• dont know which fools buying this glorified toyota, when u have maserati, jaguar, ferrari, lamborgini, lotus, porsche

• Practical Dude on Jul 26, 2017 at 9:54 pm

For $940k, can buy a Macan 420k + Merc E200 380k & balance an entry level Ducati 90k + a Myvi 50k for the wet market run

• Jason T on Jul 26, 2017 at 11:25 pm

What? 5.0L churning out only 470hp and somemore at 7,100rpm???? OMG…..

• hazamiey on Jul 27, 2017 at 2:43 am

I wonder where are these paultan readers come from. How can they can’t understand our local tax structures if they are really2 following this automotive page. The LC500 is priced from more than $92,000 USD in the US and if u multiply by 4.28 (by current exchange rate) is already close to RM400k. If u multiply with our import duty which is more than 100%, u already have a car close to RM900k. That is not far off from the 940k list price. If one would like to compare it with the latest Panamera (4S is the equivalent competition in terms of performance), that car will set u back RM1.1 mil.

I managed to have a sit in an RCF and found out that the quality of the cabin is astonishing, nothing short of Merc and Audi or even Porsche. BMW? Can kiss goodbye. I believed that LC500 interior is far more better that the one offered by the IS-based RCF. The RCF alone already asking u close to RM800k. Weird that BMW M4 is more than 700k and nobody here complained about it. To say that the LC500 is a glorified Toyota shows how much immature the commenters here. This car is closer to the legendary LFA than a Lexus IS. The 5.0 L V8 is a bespoke performance engine. Anybody can slap a turbo into direct injection engine nowadays. But to have an Otto and Atkinson cycle in a single engine, that is a pure engineering.

Go watch Motortrend Channel review of this coupe (and no, it’s not a sportscar so don’t compare it with Lambo) and see how the journalist marvels with the brilliance of its engineering. It’s a relaxing coupe built with high degree of precision and craftmanship, with a performance to match. I’m not really into Lexus and still, with RM1 mil in my pocket, I’ll go for the screaming 911 GT3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • 1935kg….omg…its a tank!!

lexus make ugly cars as usual…overdesigned

• Joffrey Lannister on Jul 27, 2017 at 10:04 am

Instead of spending RM1 mil for the car, I bet I can get one of the ladies in the pictures for less than a tenth of the price.

• Those who commented about how bad is it, or how expensive it is for a Toyota…Guys clearly you are out of the league. This car is not for those show off Bumis who only know about Ferrari, Lambo and Range Rover. This machines is for sophisticated ppl like businessman, tycoon, or royalties. For normal ah beng, ah lian, anak2 umnoputra. I would say recond GTR and Ferrari, Lambo or Range Rover suits you best. By the way, your standard hasnt reach to appreciate a new car yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • All you numbskulls in here , commenting and giving opinions about recond cars and maintenance don’t understand one thing..this car not meant for u…it’s for people who can just take out the cheque book and sign just because they like the look and sound of it…and Yes the price is a ridiculous (to normal folk like most of the commenters in here talking about bloody maintenance and recond)…..it should really be around the 400 k range…

Have had the chance to drive the car because know some of the Lexus people….one rev of the engine and a drive down the road you adik will naik… the interior will leave u gasping if u sit inside as opposed to analysing PT pics like a creep…so dont come here and talk about recond etc…people who buy these cars probably already have all 1 or more of your options…

• CAR REPO SPECIALIST AND AUCTIONEER on Jul 27, 2017 at 12:29 pm

You damn right buddy, most comments here are from kiddies who dont understand engineering marvel.. this beu is onli for ppl with class and money.. i cant wait for it to be MINE…yall should work harder to get a H, T, or the 2 peess.. pls pay for installment at least 12 months.. thereafter we will visit you .. business has been superb,,thanks guys..

• anoynmous on Jul 27, 2017 at 11:58 am

I would really appreciate if people that cant afford a lexus to just not trash them before even owning one and experience the drive. Its like before eating grapes, u already said the grapes are sour.