Toyota has given the Fortuner in Thailand a subtle mid-life update – the pick-up-based SUV has received a couple of choice tweaks in the Land of Smiles to keep it competitive in the marketplace.
The big news is the introduction of the 1,499,000 baht (RM193,100) 2.4V 4WD auto variant, making it the cheapest four-wheel drive Fortuner available in Thailand. Previously, buyers looking for all-paw traction had to spring for the range-topping 2.8V 4WD auto model, priced at 1,649,000 baht (RM212,500).
Other changes include LED fog lights, new side indicator and tail light lenses and redesigned side steps, while inside there’s a new eight-way power-adjustable passenger seat to match the driver’s pew. Also fitted are rear disc brakes on all but the base 2.4G 2WD manual.
Powertrains remain unchanged, so buyers get a choice between 150 PS/400 Nm 2.4 litre and 177 PS/450 Nm 2.8 litre turbodiesel engines or a 166 PS/245 Nm 2.7 litre naturally-aspirated Dual VVT-i petrol mill, mated to six-speed manual and automatic transmission.
Prices have risen across the board, so they now start at 1,239,000 baht (RM159,600) for the 2.4G 2WD manual, rising up to 1,419,000 baht (RM182,800) for the 2.4V 2WD auto, 1,569,000 baht (RM202,100) for the 2.7V 2WD auto and 1,579,000 baht (RM203,400) 2.8V 4WD auto.
Meanwhile, the TRD Sportivo models are priced at 1,689,000 baht (RM217,600) for the 2.8 2WD auto model and 1,759,000 baht (RM226,600) for the 2.8 4WD auto model; the White Pearl CS and black roof option costs an extra 20,000 baht (RM2,600).

When is Malaysia turn to get this?
Malaysia don’t even have 2.8 diesel model, so don’t think this will come anytime soon. The most likely to be introduced by UMW would be TRD Sportivo models of the 2.4 diesel and 2.7 petrol we have now.
Fortuner is coming!!
TRD body sticker and black colour rim ..
This is a very handsome vehicle…the best looking 4×4 ever…the headlights and taillights are equally beautiful…kudos toyota…
T Fortuner > All
Malaysia 2.4 diesel without TRC ..ESC…This are important. .not some fancy accessories or whatever lah.
even without umw, toyota in thailand is very expensive…futhermore it is thailand ckd.
RM masuk longkang…any countries expensive for poor Meleisians.
Thais currency is Bath. Your point?
Toyota is generally over price in this region.
Why only this region? cuz 1st world?
Bob pls. check it first with vr clearly about the price n specs before u post it here, otherwise u will really get BOB on ur head.
Wow! The new updates r so spectacular! Look at that, it now has REAR DISC BRAKESSSS! Oh and it still has 3 airbags.
A lot of modern kapcais have both front & rear disc brakes for maximum stopping power…so funny knowing a 2-tonne car has only front disc brake…serioulsy???? hahahaha
hello kawan, excavator use disk or drum brakes
Hello kawan you must be a toyota fortuner owner…pity you..if u like excavator so much drive it to work laaa…no one stopping you :)
cheapest four-wheel drive Fortuner is 1,499,000 baht (RM193,100),really? Quit high if consider it is Thais CKD.
Dun say it. Later basher will say tomyam earn 10X more than MY, have cheapest price cars & petrol in world.
Generally the car is good and nice, but the internal space feel smaller than the previous generation Fortuner.
2.8 diesel only 177hp/450nm? is this a dinasour engine? even the kia 2.2diesel can produce 200ps/440nm….