UMW Toyota issues video reminder on airbag recall

The video above starts off by saying “accidents can happen to anyone, at anytime.” True, and if the unfortunate happens, you won’t want the device that’s meant to save your life to potentially do the opposite. We are of course talking about those faulty Takata airbag inflators that can explode with excessive force, shooting metal fragments into the cabin.

The crash doesn’t have to be a major one for the unstable airbag inflators to cause damage. Some have died not from the impact of the crash, but from shrapnel released by the airbags.

The defect is due to propellant degradation occurring after prolonged exposure to high humidity and temperatures. The inflators contain a non-desiccated, phase stabilised ammonium nitrate propellant that may cause the rupture of the module. If it does, metal fragments will pass through the airbag as it inflates and shoot into the cabin, leading to possible serious injury or death.

The auto industry’s biggest ever recall has affected many car manufacturers, and Toyota is one of them. The most recent expansion of UMW Toyota Motor’s recall was in March this year, when around 42,000 units of the Corolla Altis, Vios, Yaris and Alphard manufactured between May 2010 and December 2012 were added to the list.

In October 2016, UMWT recalled around 80,000 units of the Vios, Corolla Altis, Yaris and Alphard manufactured between October 2007 and December 2011. Grey imports are covered as well.

How to check if your car is affected? Key in your car’s VIN number at this page by UMWT or via Toyota’s app. One can also call Toyota by phone or drive to a service centre.

If for some reason you own or drive a car that has been recalled but have not acted on it, please do not wait any longer – head to your respective service centres, Toyota or not, to get the faulty airbag inflators replaced. Know of anyone who drives a car listed here? Tell them, remind them, scare them even – accidents can happen to anyone, at anytime.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Worried on Sep 14, 2017 at 4:15 pm

Is 2007 avanza effected by this..anyone knows? Tq

• Those owner already went to underworld can’t recall

• Bla bla bla on Sep 15, 2017 at 11:19 am

Ur such a mean person arent u??

• alldisc on Sep 15, 2017 at 11:21 am

Proton no issue video reminder on power window recall. Meh

• Topkek on Sep 17, 2017 at 8:51 pm

When jepunis makes fatal killing airbags you praise, when p1 history sudah basi power window problem now got lifetime warranty you bash pulak

• halloha11 on Sep 15, 2017 at 10:51 am

Even Perodua also having same issue like rear axles issue and no safety features whereas Proton doesnt have any problem about rear axle and also Proton have safety features.

• How to check status for grey imported Alphard? It’s not stated in the UMWT website..

• 12yrsold on Sep 15, 2017 at 11:15 am

He he he. john is foaming in his mouth.

• Toyota recall: Good one Toyota, care for customers, bravo, brilliant!!

Proton recall:!@#$#%^&**&^%$#@#$%^&*(*&^%$#@#$%^&*&^%$#@#$%^&*I

• I’ve been waiting for the replacement airbag for the 2009 Vellfire since 28th of Oct 2016. Told to wait till Feb 2017 and later on pushed to Sept 2017 due to no stock. Talk about corporate responsibility. Shame on you UMW Toyota!

• PlainBS on Sep 15, 2017 at 2:52 pm

So late for the recall, look at Honda

• transformer on Sep 15, 2017 at 8:27 pm

I’m a Grand Livina owner, i pity Nissan owner as Edaran Tan Chong recall notice are nothing compared to Honda Malaysia practises, Honda even publish their statistics(percentage replaced). Now even UMW Toyota start to move forward at a quicker pace to replace faulty airbag inflator.

• “accidents can happen to anyone, at anytime” but you tell us no replacement stock since Oct’16 till now, one year already. What a shame UMWT!

• Andrew on Sep 17, 2017 at 9:37 am

I have call toyota malaysia on the availability of airbag replacement many months back but there is no confirmation on availability. Told them its safety issue and they say will expedite then it just goes quiet. I have even written to toyota japan inquiring the same and they ask toyota malaysia to call me to plan for replacement. True toyota malaysia did call me but spoken the same unavailability of the airbags and do not know the availability and say they will call me when ready. Then it just goes quiet till today. Sigh