FIRST DRIVE: Mercedes-Benz E350e – KL to Penang

We’ve been awaiting the arrival of the Mercedes-Benz E 350 e for a long time, and it finally made its official debut in Malaysia last week. The locally-assembled plug-in hybrid is looking to shake up the executive segment with competitive pricing and a high kit count, but does that actually translate to a compelling package in the real world?

That’s where we come in, with a detailed look at the new top-of-the-line version of the cooking E-Class. Not only do we give you a full walk-around tour both inside and out, but we’re also taking the car on a proper test – a highway drive from Kuala Lumpur to Penang to see how a PHEV really copes with long-distance driving.

Pricing for the E 350 e starts at RM392,888 for the Exclusive model, with the AMG Line you see here costing just RM3,000 more, at RM395,888. The limited Edition 60 model, which is identical to the Exclusive save for a number of trim changes and some extra kit, goes for RM408,888. All prices are on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a four-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

You’d be hard-pressed to tell the E 350 e apart from the standard W213 E-Class, as they are exactly the same apart from the blue front brake callipers, the Plug-in Hybrid badges on the front fenders and the charging port at the rear of the car, under the right tail light. Inside, there are unique displays to show the car’s battery level and energy usage, plus a button to select the powertrain mode.

Under the bonnet sits an M274 2.0 litre turbo engine producing 208 hp and 350 Nm of torque, paired to a 87 hp/440 Nm electric motor sandwiched between it and the nine-speed 9G-Tronic automatic transmission. Total system output stands at 281 hp and 550 Nm, enabling the E 350 e to sprint from zero to 100 km/h in 6.2 seconds. A 6.2 kWh lithium-ion battery under the boot floor provides an all-electric range of 33 km.

So, how does the Mercedes-Benz E 350 e do on a highway cruise, and how far from its impressive claimed fuel consumption figure of 2.1 litres per 100 km do we end up? Watch as our man Hafriz Shah gives you a thorough run-down of the car in the video above. For full specifications and equipment, check out our comprehensive launch report as well as our sister site CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz E 350 e AMG Line

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Sound good for Taxi and Uber use.

This car is actually meant and built for this purpose .

Keep the taxi driver or Uber driver and passengers happy and fresh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 12
    • Elegence and real luxury car. Good review overall. It is still a leader in market. Follow closely by BMW and Audi. Lower category like Peugeot, Volvo and VW trying hard to catch up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 45
      • Cnpau on Oct 09, 2017 at 10:40 pm

Lexus, the allure of Japanese motoring refinement at its finest.

• Mercedes Elegance for Taxi and Uber status>>> yes , I agree 100% . Luxury >> maybe or so ,so

BMW is not everyone liking car. In malaysia BMW is bought by ah beng , ah kow ,ah long , pimps .
        These group of people got no standard and BMW currently is perceived as Low Class category car

Audi is problematic and lower class too as it is a glorified VW ( as you put it VW is lower class) even a Toyota and Honda is better right? .

Peugeot is french car for mass market they only built near luxury car.

Volvo is never lower category than Audi and BMW and in fact better than them . Only your dumb head think so. It is so much sought after luxury brand in UK and Europe with sales surging cause of it renowned safety bought as an ideal and safe family car .

Malaysia market for yearly new car sales is just a tiny drop in the ocean and nothing to cheer about.

So your comment does not represent the thought of most buyers here who are keen on a Volvo and they perceived Volvo to be better than owning an Audi and BMW >> period…

Volvo is not cheap anyway with some models cost more than an Audi and BMw even Mercedes for your info.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
        • Olvo Sales on Oct 10, 2017 at 1:59 pm

Mercedes one quarter sales volume is 15 years volvo sales volume in Malaysia. Consumer cannot be blind lah bang. Just ask FA to give like 30% discount and hopefully the sales can pick up 30%

• whaler on Oct 10, 2017 at 3:38 pm

Just requested MBM to give 35% discount for this in hoping sales will be more affordable and sellerable to every Tom Dick and Harry to own one on par with other contis, Kimchis and japs

• oliver on Oct 10, 2017 at 3:54 pm

Previously under Ford ownership, Volvo did not have a good line up of vehicles that entice buyers and did not do well compare to the German cars who were more aggressive then.

Currently , Volvo under new owner, their new line of cars are selling well and breaking their own global sales record for four consecutive years with launching of newer stying and higher technology stuff.

Soon we won’t be surprise more of volvo cars will appear within our neighbours .

• I agree Audi and BMW are lower category than Volvo
        now

Yeap …………..No doubt >>>>

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • Advance Tech on Oct 10, 2017 at 2:58 am

Right,

Same with BMW and Audi , the quality wise and reliability are worst than Peugeot, Vw and Volvo.

• 12yrsold on Oct 10, 2017 at 10:44 am

Sound good on paper but it will not work here. I wish U can buy the 350e to try it out if it’s viable let alone profitable to use it as Uber taxi in Malaysia.

If the repayment of more than RM 3,500 per month did not dither U, the replacement of parts will make U think twice. FYI, the timing chain replacement will cost RM10k.

• MBM Sohai on Oct 09, 2017 at 1:33 pm

How much tax exemption? Why still 400k? Check Langkawi price, CKD is more expensive than CBU. E300 AMG CBU is cheaper than C class CKD. MBM sucks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
    • Lexus not biskut on Oct 09, 2017 at 3:03 pm

Camry Hybrid better specced for lesser money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 35
    • 4bini on Oct 09, 2017 at 5:17 pm

Last time E300 Bluetec Hybrid was sold for RM333k. And we all know, making a Diesel engine is far costlier than a petrol engine. Infact the E300 Bluetec Hybrid cost much more than this E350e to build.

So, Malaysians are paying RM70k more now. I thought car prices are supposed to go down?

What happened to the 30% price reduction promise Gomen gave to us 4 years ago? Prices seem to be going higher and higher and higher.

Did Malaysians get cheated again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
      • Wait a darn minute. When car price exp, u bash. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?

Which world u came from that has bog standard cars RV higher than purchase price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
  • Johnny Doughs on Oct 09, 2017 at 2:14 pm

High kit count ? U guys must’ve been paid by mbm to say that. No driver assistance systems for a car that’s 390K, it’s a hybrid with tax incentives and it’s still exorbitantly priced. Even the cbu G30 530i has much more specs than this stripped down e class. And that 530i is a bloody CBU WITH NOO TAX INCENTIVES. while this E350e WITH TAX INCENTIVES doesn’t even have half of what the 530i has. Adaptive cruise control for example, lane keep assist and a host of other fun toys. Only fancy thing this e class has is an air suspension, over priced rubbish. If it’s priced about the same as the E200 then it would be fair, 320-340K or so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
  • calldisc on Oct 09, 2017 at 2:51 pm

KL – penang @ highway drive? why not try Federal highway at 6.45pm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Johnny B. Good on Oct 09, 2017 at 3:01 pm

Hello PT team, how abt a comparo pls.
    E350e vs S90 T8. TQ

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
    • Michelle on Oct 09, 2017 at 8:08 pm

Please compare car at same category please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 43
      • Advance Tech on Oct 10, 2017 at 2:36 am

Agreed E350e (281 HP) is already at lower category to compare with S90 T8 ( 407 hp).

No need to compare further and waste time , the data already shown

• Feisal shah on Oct 09, 2017 at 3:15 pm

9958…4ever won’t get rich.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • Reboot on Oct 10, 2017 at 2:49 am

Same category as Nissan, Infiniti, Acura , Peugeot , Alfa

• No offense, but honestly 7 liters per 100 km is not at all impressive for a plug-in hybrid. That’s equivalent to about 33 mpg (US standard measurement), and plenty of regular cars achieve that fuel economy. I need hardly mention that it’s also 3.5 times worse than MBM’s stated fuel economy. I get that it’s likely going to be more efficient driving around in low speeds in KL’s awful traffic jams, which is great, but seriously, 7 liters/100 km on the highway is not very awesome at all.