2018 Volvo XC60 spotted in Malaysia – R-Design trim

Another Volvo model looks set to be introduced soon, as the all-new XC60 has been spotted in Malaysia by paultan.org reader Sean Woo. The SUV was first unveiled at this year’s Geneva Motor Show, and has already been launched in Singapore.

This particular unit, sighted in Glenmarie, comes outfitted with the R-Design trim package. You can tell this by the design of the front grille, which differs from the Momentum and Inscription’s vertical slat arrangement.

Highlights of the R-Design include a more pronounced lower apron, off-coloured side mirror caps and a different rear bumper with black accents that frame the dual exhaust pipes. The SUV seen here also appears to wear a set of 19-inch five-double spoke matte black diamond cut alloy wheels.

Although we didn’t receive a photo of the car’s interior, a few items exclusive to the R-Design package are to be expected, like the R-Design leather steering wheel, gearshift knob as well as sports seats.

Much like its other siblings, a Sensus infotainment system will be a standard fit, although the optional Bowers & Wilkins premium sound system is an uncertainty. Other items include a 12.3-inch digital instrument display and automatic climate control (four-zone system only available on the T5 and T6).

The XC60 rides on the same Scalable Product Architecture (SPA) as the 90 Series models (XC90, S90 and V90), and can be fitted with the T8 Twin Engine plug-in hybrid powertrain that outputs 407 hp and 640 Nm.

We can’t tell what is fitted to this particular unit due to all that wrapping applied, but we reckon this could be a T6-powered XC60. That powertrain consists of a Drive-E 2.0 litre turbocharged and supercharged four-cylinder that churns out 320 hp and 400 Nm, mated to an eight-speed automatic transmission.

GALLERY: 2018 Volvo XC60

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Looks like in Glenmarie area, veli close to VCMM plant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
    • It’s reported in the article that it was spotted in GLENMARIE! Duh!

• Well, from the 2nd pic I can tell u that its at the traffic light junction heading toward Batu3 toll. Turn left is Glenmarie industrial park & dem nice Ming Kee. Further upfront turn left go to Giant & Stadium Melawati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
        • Operation Manager on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:16 am

Selling lower than current price 260k under EEV incentives… Beat 3Star AUDI BMW.

• stasta on Nov 14, 2017 at 11:32 am

t5 and t6 wont enjoy the full tax incentives. only the t8 being a hybrid will enjoy eev incentives.

now the s90 also priced around 360k, so how the hell can you expect this xc60 t8 to be below 300k ? it will definitely be above 300k for sure.

• you don’t know what you’re talking about.

the v40 has EEV incentives without any hybrid tech.

comparing an SUV to a sedan? the BMW X3 is 296k. the S60 will certainly be below 300k.

• forestgum on Nov 13, 2017 at 3:59 pm

why copy honda crv design.. not original at all…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 29
      • Hantam Keromo on Nov 13, 2017 at 6:14 pm

Well hello, CRV copy them first lah… The old CRV copy XC90 rear light design..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
        • Johnson Amigo on Nov 13, 2017 at 11:06 pm

u r wrong, the design originated from honda then volvo took it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
          • wydle on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:32 am

you are wrong ,

The tail light was designed for volvo v90 . CRV copy it then before this new xc60 was launch.

Japanese had a reputation for copying from the past until present on anything then refined them.

look at HRV rear door opening knob , it came from citroen originally,
            get what i mean

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • victor on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:45 am

The tail light designed was originated from volvo concept coupe in the year 2014

It is the new CRV that is copying volvo .

Honda got no originality and is the one copying

• Volvo Lotus > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
    • tokmoh. on Nov 13, 2017 at 11:10 am

Ah, i see you’re a man of culture as well.

• Linda yong on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:11 am

More problem and worse RV than germans

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • VW is German
        Audi is German

These are having worst RV value than Volvo.

What are you talking about? non factual

• policeman on Nov 13, 2017 at 10:41 am

big boss Geely gips P1 rebadge dis SUV.Jual saje laa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • 12yrsold on Nov 13, 2017 at 11:06 am

20 years ago, if U ask the question – Who drive a Volvo ?? The answer is very obvious. Its people who are conservative, older & boring people.

Fast forward to 2017. Volvo is no more a boring or conservative car company. They are at the forefront of technologies with EV vehicles. They look Solid, Good looking & Powerful.

In short, Volvo is no more an old man’s car. It has transformed the Swedish car maker into a global vehicles manufacturer that has scared the hell out of the Germans, Americans & the Japanese thanks to the Chinese $$$.

Be afraid guys, be Very Afraid for VOLVO has Arrived. Cheers… to Volvo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 30
    • Zerotohundred on Nov 13, 2017 at 1:15 pm

Geely got money, volvo got techie.
      Geely got money, proton got techie.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Helman on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:13 am

Hardly see volvo on the road. What to afraid ? What do u mean

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
        • 12yrsold on Nov 14, 2017 at 8:40 am

Volvo sold 534,332 cars in 2016 worldwide. The reason U hardly see it in MY bcos its NOT our Bread & Butter car. That’s the reason U don’t see it often.
          Its unique & different. I guess its reserved for people who are unique & different who happen to be successful too. Cheers…

• Bohsai on Nov 14, 2017 at 5:12 pm

Please compare Volvo with lower category car like VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • tokmoh's father in law on Nov 13, 2017 at 3:26 pm

It has nothing to do with the Chinese, as product design, planning and development are all Swedish. Only the money is from China. Same story as Jaguar-Land River and India.

Btw, Volvo had the design development done way before the Chinese came in. Only thing is Chinese money paved the way for more vehicles to be developed on Swedish architecture and technology.

• the Saint on Nov 13, 2017 at 11:24 am

Hooefully below 300k. Fingers crossed.

• I’m kind like the VOLVO design these days and the safety features . I feel the design give you a personality that people will remember you. The common of BMW and MERC is so yesterday. Dont get me wrong, I like this 2 brand and i own it before but somehow this NEW VOLVO there is something about it. I really don’t know, maybe is the age catching up or the taste bud has changed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
    • Lucky tong on Nov 13, 2017 at 1:18 pm

XC60 T8 ckd @ $280k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • apamau on Nov 13, 2017 at 2:22 pm

Why i hv the same thought like you.. driving a bimmer or merc become a bit oldish.. driving a volvo become Wah.. volvo.. same feeling..well done. volvo

• tokmoh. on Nov 13, 2017 at 2:31 pm

You are becoming a man of culture as well.

Volvo broke its sales record 3 years in a row, coming to 4th for sure with XC60 this year, and 5th year in a row next year with XC40. You are seeing what others have seen. Well done.

Try and go to showroom, sit in one and you’ll notice immediately the seats are ultra comfortable. After long day at work, this is most desired feature for your daily commute. With built in booster seats, extra convenience for your kids.

With Aisin gearbox, peace of mind reliability of Toyota/Lexus. Drive-E turbo T5, twincharged T6 or hybrid T8 are powerful yet efficient.

When it comes to safety, you are looking at the benchmark. Always have been, always will be. Protect your loved ones with the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
      • Susukotak on Nov 13, 2017 at 4:12 pm

volvo has been very successful under the stewardship of geely CHINA. Sky’s the limit !!

• Volvo kotek on Nov 14, 2017 at 7:43 pm

Bmw and benz one month sales equivalent to volvo 15 years sales. The data tell which is a better and real luxury car.

• whaler on Nov 17, 2017 at 5:50 pm

Please compare BMW and Mercedes to ToYota and Honda.

These cars are LOWER CATEGORY !!

One is always Taxi status and
          The another one always stay in workshop status.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 13, 2017 at 11:57 am

good…price it good teach greedy mercedes a lesson

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • Eternalgl0ry on Nov 13, 2017 at 1:54 pm

If volvo willing to price under 280k for t5

It will sell like hot cakes

My neighbor bought a xc90 and it’s awesome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • I heard the price 350k. Hope not true.. on Nov 13, 2017 at 2:38 pm

Volvosan

• oh xc90 on Nov 13, 2017 at 3:49 pm

dulu tengok xc90 baru keluar on the road excited la jugak.. sekarang tengok pun dah boring.. bila laa nak facelift.. tengok x5 & q7 lagi excited..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 27
    • Khalid on Nov 14, 2017 at 2:02 am

Sekarang apabila melihat semula reka bentuk X5 dan Q7 selepas ini , aku sudah rasa nak MUNTAH !!

• old horse on Nov 13, 2017 at 5:03 pm

get into current price rage…260K to 280K…
    or
    get EEV and sell from 220K to 240K, and BMW and Merc will be freak out..(yes!)

now that’s call market disturbing and get back to the glory days of 950 and 840 era..

• tokmoh. on Nov 13, 2017 at 7:29 pm

*940 and *850

That pricing is ambitious, but who knows. With Geely investing into Proton, they may be able to nego better incentive.

• Rm280k? So Labuan price will be rm160k for me.. yieehaaa come and work in Labuan guys lol..