Highway concessionaire PLUS has announced that the Batu Tiga and Sungai Rasau toll plaza building structures will be completely demolished by the end of March. According to PLUS MD Datuk Azman Ismail, contractors will begin structural removal and demolition works after Chinese New Year.
“We are currently at the final stage of awarding the tender to the contractors to undertake the demolition works of both Batu Tiga and Sungai Rasau toll plazas. Based on our schedule, all demolition works are expected to be completed by the end of March,” he said via a statement.
He added that removal of toll equipment, signages and other assets will be done earlier before any structural demolition works are carried out. Azman explained that the demolition work will be carried out over live traffic and will be accomplished in stages to ensure that the safety of road users is not compromised at any point.
The concessionaire advised highway users to slow down and drive carefully when travelling through the toll plazas as the lanes were only three metres wide. Earlier this week, highway users urged authorities to expedite the demolition of the toll plazas following an accident at the Batu Tiga toll plaza that claimed two lives.
Toll collection at the Batu Tiga and Sungai Rasau plazas were abolished on January 1 as announced in Budget 2018. Operations for the tolls in Bukit Kayu Hitam in Kedah and the Eastern Dispersal Link (EDL) in Johor have also ceased.
Oct 2017 announced to abolish tolls, end March 2018 only demolish toll plazas. 6 freaking months!
in Japan, road sinkholes and landslides after major earthquakes fully repaired. In 6 day.
toll collection ends on 31 Dec lah. that’s 3 months for them to demolish.
likewise, when you announced to your landlord that you want to move out, you straight move out without giving notice? you also will take 2 to 3 months to move out. what kinda thinking you have there?
1-1-2018 kasi pichar lor. Gg 2 anak tanahku…
This is so bodoh. So many accidents daily because of people slowing down. Infact 2 people already died!!!!!
Why wait 2 more months? It should be done overnight. No need tender nonsense, just get JKR to do it overnight.
Are we that lembap??? People overseas and in Singapore can demolish tall 80 storey towers overnight.
Can’t believe it takes few months for something so simple. The urgency is vital. Too many accidents.
Since when SG got 80 storey tower lah. tipu sangat tu!
And speaking of SG, im still waiting u to deliver me that SGD130k CHR! I gave u SGD65k that u said was the price!
God blessed their souls :(
“JKR to do it overnight”
U smoking something kah? JKR is not Team Avengers. Nobody in this world can safety remove toll constructs and make gud the road pavement all within 12hours.
And since when did SG has an 80 storey tower that they cud demolish? Even the fastest done in China took month to prep the building b4 dynamiting it.
Nobody in the world takes 3 months to remove a toll booth unless half the time they are sleeping.
Trust me, then they will be the usual delays….expect June.
Can trust? When u said CHR was SGD65k but PT burst that fake news bubble when they repoted it launched at SGD130k? Really?
aiyoo abang oh abang. CHR hybrid is SGD130k. Normal CHR in Singapore is SGD100k
Please learn how to read.
try to improve your English john. I said people overseas AND in Singapore.
Try to read. Did you see AND?
AND has SG ever took down a 80 storey tower like u said? Alredi told u dun just quote things atas angin.
try to improve your English. Learn to read in context.
Lolz! Own english failed and you want to lecture others. Please read what you wrote and learn comprehension 1st.
Albert Yong, I think you better balik kampung and sell Yong Tau Foo. You are not fit the comment in PaulTan.Org
People like you only know how to bash without using some common-sense.
You can’t even get you facts right before talking. Do you even know what is the role of JKR?
Correct Ben. Thats the problem with some pipu here. Words come out b5 the neurons fired.
Typo *b5* -> b4
PLUS thought last minute govt want to change their mind, that why only now open tender…..greedy as always
Just put a canvas to cover the toll signs, thats one way to reduce any accident within a short time frame.
Boss. Its not the toll sign which cause the eksiden. Its drivers overconfident when not slowing down (despite the rumble stripes) & zooming past the booths which lead to their eksidens.
after the abolishment of tolls in Federal Highway, the jam is even worst.
should’ve widen the roads first and abolish it thereafter.
Thats expected when its now free. And cant widen much anymore. The chokepoints r at places where theres buildings or roads beside it.
Leave one tiang as a reminder. This IS the first toll in malaysia if not mistaken?
Rent out the extra space for McD drivethru. I want to eat McD breakfast everyday.
And yes.. Ben the jam even worst nowadays :(. They should have equally reduce RM1 from NKVE, Federal and Kesas at the same time to even out the traffic.
The traffic is caused by bottlenecks le. When the road widens at toll plaza then converges to 3 lanes will always cause traffic jam. I think they need to trim down the lanes at toll plaza so that traffic will flow smoothly? But that could only be done after the complete removal of toll booths
this is true. they should trim down those line to 3 lane only. or if possible, make it 4 lane. Anyway, how’s the construction of the flyover after the toll? will it be abandoned or what?
Look at the comments and it’s sickening. Malaysians are too stupid beyond saving