2018 Nissan Serena S-Hybrid – ROI now officially open

Registration of interest for the fifth-generation Nissan Serena S-Hybrid is now open, with the launch of a dedicated page on Nissan Malaysia’s website. The new MPV has already been given its first public preview just last week, and we are now provided with a few more details.

Under the bonnet, the C27 will continue to use a S-Hybrid powertrain as seen on the C26 Serena, with a MR20DD 2.0 litre direct-injected twin-CVTC four-cylinder petrol engine providing 150 PS at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm at 4,400 rpm.

The mill is mated to an Xtronic CVT with Adaptive Shift Control (ASC), and is joined by an ECO motor that controls the car’s Idling Stop function and serves as an alternator during deceleration. The 1.8 kW/200 A motor also allows for a “torque assist” function, providing a 50 Nm boost for up to one second when moving away from a standstill.

A fuel consumption of 14.2 km/l (NEDC) and Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) status are also touted on the site, with the latter confirming the Serena will be a locally-assembled (CKD) model as before.

The rest of the specifications is similar to our previous report, with a seven-seat configuration (2-2-3) being the only one that will be available. Other items include seven USB ports, dual-powered sliding doors, a 360-degree Around View Monitor and Intelligent Moving Object Detection (I-MOD).

Safety-wise, there are six airbags, Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC), traction control, Hill Start Assist (HSA), ABS with EBD, brake assist and dual Isofix child seat anchor points. Lastly, four colours are offered – Brilliant White, Tungsten Silver, Diamond Black and Cashmere Gold.

If you’re interested in the new Nissan Serena S-Hybrid, you can register your interest here.

GALLERY: Fifth-generation Nissan Serena previewed in Malaysia

GALLERY: Fifth-generation Nissan Serena press photos

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Mokmok on Apr 02, 2018 at 1:18 pm

It seems like the front pillars could be obstructing view to the left and right side, but judging for the photos lah..

• still no lane departure and blind spot warning, forward emergency braking….intelligent mobility is just a name, come on TCM!

• Tupakamaru on Apr 02, 2018 at 7:20 pm

Some more, 15″ rims for mid size mpv?….come on TCM!!!

• M50B25 on Apr 02, 2018 at 1:28 pm

The blur and red press photo cars looked good. Nice rims too. Reached Malaysia, underspecified. With EEV grant, I doubt that we can get 30% of cost reduction. Nissan Japan still tidur.

• carazy on Apr 02, 2018 at 1:33 pm

ROI – Return on Investment or what??

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Apr 02, 2018 at 2:10 pm

It’s Registration of Interest.

• 12yrsold on Apr 02, 2018 at 4:14 pm

In Financial/accounting/investment, ROI mean Return of Investment. In Motoring terms, its Registration of Interest.
      I only learn it from PT.org. last year. U have every right to ask if U have doubt. Cheers…

• nissanlover on Apr 02, 2018 at 1:48 pm

come on TCM…why cut away the 8seats…the flexible arrangement seats is Serena selling point.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • sohai on Apr 02, 2018 at 3:24 pm

I agree.
      I owned a 7 seater MPV before and had to switch it to a 8 seater.
      7 seater is “only” 2 more seats than a sedan. and the middle roll has actually more space to sit 3 people than the last roll comfortably. And when you include luggage space, which typically would fold the last roll of seats up, an 8 seater config could still accommodate 5 adults with ease.

I don’t understand why they can’t sell 2 different config.

• sohai on Apr 02, 2018 at 1:55 pm

under EEV tax break, open but how much …?

• Gary Koh on Apr 02, 2018 at 2:05 pm

(Like) Nissan Serena S-Hybrid
    (Dislike) Toyota Innova

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • ah kow on Apr 02, 2018 at 2:07 pm

2+2+3= 7 seater configuration.

how to seat 3 adult for last row?

Should consider 8 seater for MPV.

• Investment guru...today FOC advice i giv u! on Apr 02, 2018 at 2:48 pm

Spread the risk out la…get 2 personas…8 seater di wat…blc $$$ put in FD..

• Car is no investment...Wrong site on Apr 02, 2018 at 3:30 pm

2 persona cannot be considered as investments too.
        Besides, finding a carpark on a weekend at the mall is hard enough. with 2 cars now need to find 2 carparks??
        You might as well say put all money in the bank and stay at home.

*investment guru that tells people put in FD? You must be first. how you earn your commission?

• Coolitman on Apr 02, 2018 at 7:51 pm

Dei…no.need to serious la…chill man…relax…take prozac if need be

• Tc donkey on Apr 02, 2018 at 10:09 pm

Donkey head
    7 seater only??? please keep it in your junkyard

• tcmdope on Apr 03, 2018 at 5:02 pm

why remove the selling point from Serena..what are TCM thinking..15inch rims??great decision

• 2+2+3…not good… prefer 2+3+3 instead..

• prefer 2+3+3 seat configuration