GST zero-rated: MINI prices reduced by up to RM19k

BMW Group Malaysia has released a new price list for MINI that will come into effect from June 1, when the goods and services tax (GST) will be rolled back to 0% from the current 6%. The effective removal of GST was announced by the new Pakatan Harapan government two days ago, fulfilling a major campaign promise.

These new prices – which are on-the-road excluding insurance – will remain in effect until the sales and services tax (SST) comes back in to replace GST. The latest update is that it will happen “in two, three months” time according to Tun Daim Zainuddin of the government’s Council of Eminent Persons. That’s a fairly large tax-free window of opportunity, should you want to take full advantage.

Without GST, savings range from RM11,241 for the MINI 5 Door Urbanite Edition to RM19,707 for the MINI John Cooper Works Countryman. There are slight variations in the percentage of reduction, which is typically slightly less than 6% flat. This is because 6% GST is only applied on the selling price of a car (and in the case of CBU models, a Puspakom inspection fee), before GST-free registration essentials (road tax, registration fee, ownership endorsement fee) are added on.

Buying a MINI from the official source will also get one four years of unlimited mileage warranty with free scheduled service, and MINI Black Card membership.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• New Government New Hope for 30% on May 18, 2018 at 8:24 pm

Wow, such big savings. What happened to our troll who tried to scare us by giving fake news that car prices will shoot up 300% with the new Pakatan Harapan Government?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • Bog std on May 18, 2018 at 9:41 pm

He shudnt spread fake news in holy fasting mth.

• Ada aku kesah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
        • Christopher on May 19, 2018 at 2:20 pm

Of course you tak kesah cause you don’t care about others. Like thumbsup your own comment 2300 times and slow this site down. Already lost so badly, you still want to come here and cause trouble

• BN is more holy than thou. Malaysians have no right to criticise it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
        • Perampok nusantara

• In this Gov, its the poor that subsidises the rich.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 32
      • maslan on May 18, 2018 at 10:18 pm

Hahahah can elaborate ??

• GST reduced for P2 is only Rm1~2k while GST reduced for Mini is Rm19k. Can u see why its the poor subsidisng the rich now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
          • SALang on May 19, 2018 at 10:19 pm

Becoz the poor subsidising the Rich Birkins

• But ur previous Gov didn’t even reduce a sen although they promise to reduce the car prices. What excuse do u have to defend ur previous Gov?

• https://paultan.org/2018/04/04/miti-deputy-minister-says-average-car-prices-have-gone-down-by-16-38-percent/

• cybertroll on May 18, 2018 at 10:45 pm

That was previous Gov. At least the poor are now not subsidising BN troopers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
        • No. The poor r now subsidising PH trolls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
          • Appointee on May 19, 2018 at 10:40 pm

Khairy should have spoken up earlier to najib if they had problems with his leadership. Many BN trolls jobless soon.

• john the troll on May 20, 2018 at 1:15 am

PH no need trolls like BN does. Want to know why? Just ask the millions of PH voters. They are fed up with BN trolls telling them rubbish. Deswai they voted BN out

• Christopher on May 19, 2018 at 2:22 pm

I agree with you. I don’t mind paying hgh car taxes now…at least the money goes to LHDN to build the country instead of buying Birkin handbags

• oh wai on May 18, 2018 at 10:51 pm

U mean like the million dollar Birkin handbag that the poor are subsiding for some past leader’s wife? Oh wai…

• Yup. Like subsiding a cicit’s yacht.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
          • The difference is the yatch is still his while Birkin bags are in police lockup. U know which side is corrupted lah

• Christopher on May 19, 2018 at 2:56 pm

Don’t isten to the troll who tells us Malaysia has cheapest petrol in the world

• And why shud we belip this troll that says MY has the most exp petrol in the world?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
      • Qimiey on May 19, 2018 at 5:29 am

Tahu takpe… pemuda bacul tegar

• Christopher on May 19, 2018 at 2:54 pm

In your old Government it is the poor that subsidises the corrupt rich who are buying Benleys and Birkins

• Farid on May 18, 2018 at 10:10 pm

Stop fitnah orang. Tak baik tau. We all know you are lah Kunta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Bloomberg article [Malaysia Eyes Sale of Proton]
      “… tariffs of as much as 300 percent on imported cars.”

Wanna dispute with Bloomberg?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • proof me on May 20, 2018 at 1:19 am

Then show us now which car is it

• fanofthisite on May 20, 2018 at 10:07 pm

John, your behavior is of troll and an idiot. what god is the bloody blooberg of yous . A shiield for you to hide behind and take pot shots on a car forum? Enough of your politicking here

• rightwinger on May 20, 2018 at 4:20 pm

dont hold your breath kiddo. this is transitory. reality sets in when SST comes into full effect.

• Reboot on May 21, 2018 at 4:28 am

Tax the rich no problemo

• True…but in the long run thing will settle down better as SST is a single layer tax and paid for by manufacturer, as oppose to multi-layers GST which occur on every transaction and finally accumulated and paid for by customer.

• Rashid bin Ohwai on May 18, 2018 at 8:27 pm

Mini and BMW sales will shoot up from now. Thank you to a caring and honest Pakatan Government.

Now rakyat can save so much of money. No tolls. No GST. I think most people, can save thousands a month.

BMW and Mini service bills are about RM3000 each time. Just GST savings alone, few hundred is saved.

So happy all our GST money is no more used to buy Birkin handbags

• Sohai on May 18, 2018 at 8:35 pm

Where merz car price w/o gst …?

• YB Albert on May 18, 2018 at 8:57 pm

Stupid John.

• Sidek on May 18, 2018 at 9:37 pm

Oh sharks…my Countryman RV jz drop 6%.
    But its ok..small price to pay for a greater Msia.

• Habislah RV mini lama jatuh kaw2. Then rich peoples get richer. Waiting for the P1 & P2 after 0% GST…

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 18, 2018 at 11:50 pm

lol rather than drop gst…a lot more can drop also please PKR

• Digidigi on May 19, 2018 at 4:54 pm

Countryman sport looks a bargain now

• John, if you are true BN and UMNO supporter, why don’t you show your face. I dare you because i dare and i am a PH supporter. I support a clean government whereas you love a corrupt government. Dont just be a keyboard warrior and hide in your mummy’s room

• Hahaha! Gip me ur Name, IC no, and house address. I meet u there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Manusia on May 21, 2018 at 3:22 pm

Najib curi wang GST dan 1MBD