Volkswagen Golf R three-door – only 10 units, RM269k

In March, Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) introduced a range of facelifted Golf Mk7 models – aside from the GTI, 1.4 TSI Sportline and R-Line, there was the Golf R in its five-door form.

Now, a limited number of three-door examples is set to join the party. We’ve seen a dealer communique stating that 10 units of the Golf R three-door will be making its way here, arriving sometime in mid-August.

In terms of specifications, the equipment list will mirror that of the five-door, save three items – not found on the three-door R are the Kessy keyless access lock/start feature, exterior mirror memory function and power adjustable driver seat, the last a natural move given the rear ingress/egress needed for the bodystyle.

Otherwise, the standard equipment list includes Advanced Adaptive LED headlamps with dynamic light assist and Adaptive Chassis Control (DCC) as well as Vienna R leather interior upholstery and an R sports steering wheel with paddle shifters.

Also on, an Air Care dual-zone climatronic system, a configurable 12.3-inch Active Info Display virtual instrument cluster and a 9.2-inch touchscreen Discover Pro infotainment system, which features an eight-speaker audio system and a 10 GB jukebox.

Like the five-door, the three-door is equipped with a 2.0 litre TSI engine offering 290 PS at 5,500 to 6,500 rpm and 380 Nm from 2,000 to 5,400 rpm. It’s paired with a seven-speed, wet dual-clutch DSG transmission, with power transferred to all four wheels via the automaker’s 4Motion all-wheel drive system.

Safety-wise, the car is equipped with seven airbags, ESC and a Proactive Occupant Protection System. The 10 cars will be available in a single exterior shade, Lapiz Blue metallic, and feature the same 19-inch Pretoria Black alloys and 235/35 profile tyres worn by the local five-door R.

The three-door Volkswagen Golf R is priced at RM268,888 (nett, at 0% GST), which is exactly RM10k less than the five-door R variant (RM278,888) following the brand’s GST zero-rated price revisions. Like the five-door, the car will come with a five-year factory warranty with five years of free roadside assistance and three years/45,000 km free service.

GALLERY: 2018 Volkswagen Golf R, five-door

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• RM269k rather buy Audi TT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 17
    • Jack Ryan on Jun 06, 2018 at 7:06 am

There are very few of these 3 door R models in production worldwide. The next generation (Mark 8) might not even have a 3 door version. This version is actually highly sought after in Europe and especially in Japan where the Golf is extremely popular. So the fact that VW Malaysia is bringing in 10 units is great news as even VW Spore and the rest of East Asia seems to not be able to bring it in. So expect the 10 units to be snapped up immediately.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • paparadzi on Jun 06, 2018 at 10:25 am

Golf R is equivalent to Audi TTS.

• Check Specs Before Comment on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:20 pm

I wish Paultan consider to add laugh emoji button, so I could press one for this.

• 5 doors for anytime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Amran on Jun 05, 2018 at 9:39 pm

But satria neo better! No dsg.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
  • According to PH sapoter, this car shud be priced at Rm50k MAX or ini sarahan Gov… oh wai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 47
    • Mohd Azwan on Jun 06, 2018 at 9:05 am

enough of your politics john. Dah bosan brader. Dah kalah teruk teruk masih nak kutuk PH…oh wai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 11
      • Chavez on Jun 06, 2018 at 9:25 am

Sudahlah. Tu korang dah menang tapi perangai masih sama. Masih nak men-troll kat sini. Berambuslah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 25
        • Duterte on Jun 06, 2018 at 12:34 pm

Sudahlah. Kalau tak suka, Kua…

• Bomoh on Jun 06, 2018 at 11:27 pm

Bukalah mata lu dan tengok siapa org pertama yg troll? Tu korang lu. Jadi kamu yg patut berambus.

• Ghani on Jun 07, 2018 at 1:16 am

Yang troll di sini hanyalah spesis korang. You ingat kita yang tak bersuara selama ini bodoh ke? Cerminkan diri siapa yang patut berambus.

• Bomoh on Jun 07, 2018 at 10:10 am

Ghani, lu patut cerminkan diri kamu dan tengok siapa troll sebenarnya. Dalam cermin, kamu akan tengok hanya spesis korang.

• Ghani on Jun 06, 2018 at 1:44 pm

But what is it that you win? Oh is it the 10000 Dislike that you gave someone by jigging the LikeDislike system? If you’re so proud of that, you should be ashamed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
        • Patail on Jun 06, 2018 at 11:15 pm

And what is it that you win with the 10000 Likes that you gave yourself by deceiving others? If you’re so proud of that, you should also be ashamed.

• Ghani on Jun 07, 2018 at 1:14 am

I never gave myself 10,000 likes. Are you blind? What I see here only less than 10. Can’t you count? You should be ashamed for being mathematically challenged.

• Patail on Jun 07, 2018 at 5:00 am

@Ghani. And where is the 10000 Dislikes that you said the person gave? Did you see him press the button multiple times? Are you blind and stupid? You should be ashamed for being mentally challenged and being a retard.

• Enuff la, Albertkunta. Not only got scolded by esteemed PT members but now oso by other readers. No shame wei.

• Mohd Azwan on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:33 am

Same to be said to you, john. Already got scolded by esteemed PT members like f-up and Baby shark in another article, now want to troll in this article. You lagi no shame wei.

• Hahaha! Sez u lah Kunta. Those who r members can be seen from their nick. Ur dupes arent members lah. Ur stupidity is exposed to all to see alredi wei.

• Mohd Azwan on Jun 07, 2018 at 12:03 pm

You see any nick with members title say anything to me? If not, all are your dupes kah? Your intelligence level is below peabrain wei.

• Hehe. Tenkiu 4 the sapot bro Ghani. Cheers

• autodriver (Member) on Jun 05, 2018 at 10:57 pm

Even the lower version 1.4TSI and 2.0GTI find it hard to sell with lower price tag, wondering how long it takes to sell this 10 units of Golf R. Until today VW still reluctant to change, remove all dry clutch dsg even though the problem may have solved now. People are simply not confident on your dry dual clutch, just put a wet type or downgrade to AT will do.

Besides, please price the vehicle in correct price tag, like Passat the price tag is completely wrong. Who the hell will pay 159k for basic model with no power seat, fabric seat and the mighty dry clutch. If your VW Tiguan 1.4 can apply wet clutch why not apply it on Passat which suppose more high end than Tiguan. The imagine had been tarnished and it needs plan to rescue and recover the confident from public but seems like no action being taken. Have you check how many previous owners of VW will buy VW again. If yes why and if not why.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
  • Eternalgl0ry on Jun 05, 2018 at 11:16 pm

Prepare 30k for DSG gearbox. True story

3 owners in the golf club already proven how expensive and unreliable the gearbox. Insurance unable to approve claim LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
  • Murtabak on Jun 05, 2018 at 11:43 pm

Please bring the Golf R estate wagon. An alternative to the RS3 Avant

• LOK CHYI YEU on Jun 06, 2018 at 8:21 am

All this entry level sports cars in Malaysia sell those med level sports cars… Really take those very deep pocket to enjoy it.

Fr marketing stand point entry level should really be entry level for the young ppl to get a foot in the sports car, then from there onwards slowly make them want to owned the more advance model.

• Flyerzz on Jun 06, 2018 at 8:39 am

Fast fast golf fly… in the end bang wall also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • thepolygonal on Jun 06, 2018 at 8:45 am

For a 3 door, I think the Scirocco R looks better.

• Mikey on Jun 06, 2018 at 8:49 am

In short, for RM10k more, U get “extra” 2 doors, Kessy keyless access lock/start feature, exterior mirror memory function & power adjustable driver seat. Thank Q for clarifying PT.org.

• uncle kok on Jun 06, 2018 at 11:31 am

Keyeless entry even Axia also got,what so special about this Golf? Can do 160km/h in traffic jam ah?

• Mikey on Jun 06, 2018 at 1:51 pm

uncle kok, the Axia is a capable car hence U should be happy with it. The moment U start comparing, U start complaining. Hehehe. Cheers/Yam Seng…

• pengayuhbasikal on Jun 06, 2018 at 10:17 am

3 door…wet dual clutch…2.0 tsi fewww…
    this hot hatch will sell

• I rather you bring in the Performance Pack GOLF -R that come with Akrapovic Sport Exhaust .

• turborider on Jun 06, 2018 at 10:45 am

Volkswagen need to gain back the confident from people first. Giving 3 years free services and lower maintenance cost is a good start, but this is not enough.

I owned one before (7 speed dry cluth DSG), bring few times to service centre, but they still unable to solve it. Engine got randomly knocking sound during reverse and error codes always appear.

Other than engine, their car built quality is really solid and good!

I suggest below to VW:
    1) Extend another 3 years manufacture warranty for all volkswagen cars. Total 8 years manufacture warranty, not insurance agent warranty.
    2) For car that required repair/part replacement which more than 3 days (not due to accident), volkswagen need to loan a spare car/pay daily $$ amount to owners until their car is fixed.

Remark:
    My friend Jetta 2016 one rubber bolt missing, he need to wait more than 2 months to get the part.

• Same L0rr on Jun 06, 2018 at 2:24 pm

That why i’ve said buy junk preve better than this junk vw! Sushi car still more reliable & good rv!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • MeeHailam on Jun 06, 2018 at 7:29 pm

Sam. Toyota is a bigger junk. So please stop comparing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
  • good news 10 units, bad news limited parts have to wait 1 months, japs car always reputable and reliable than european, too many electronics component

• bandwagonesque on Jun 06, 2018 at 4:37 pm

Why not they try to bring limited units of Golf GTI or Golf R both in estate version instead of hatchbacks
    Understood hatchbacks does sold well in Malaysia market
    been seeing abundance of hatchbacks running around with insignificant purposes instead of tuning and hauling people around