2018 Volkswagen Golf R-Line in Malaysia – RM166,990

Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) recently launched the new Volkswagen Golf Mk7 facelift in March, which is available in a number of variants including two 1.4 TSI options (Sportline and R-Line), GTI and R. You’ve already seen three out of the four being offered, so here’s a full gallery of the 1.4 TSI R-Line.

Like the Sportline, a 1.4 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine powers the R-Line, providing 150 PS at 5,000 to 6,000 rpm and 250 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 3,500 rpm. Drive is sent to the front wheels via a seven-speed dual-clutch DSG transmission along with an XDS extended differential lock.

In terms of performance, the Golf 1.4 TSI will complete the zero to 100 km/h sprint in just 8.2 seconds, and will hit a top speed of 216 km/h. It also offers a fuel economy of 5.4 litres per 100 km following the NEDC.

As for equipment, there’s a R-Line styling package that brings the standard Golf closer to the range-topping R in terms of looks. Items include dedicated front and rear bumpers, radiator grille with chrome strip, R-Line badges, a rear spoiler, a sports rear diffuser and twin trapezoidal chrome exhaust trim.

Also part of the get-up is a set of 17-inch Singapore alloy wheels with 225/45 series tyres plus adaptive LED headlamps – an upgrade from the base Sportline’s halogen units.

Moving inside, you’ll find a 12.3-inch Active Info Display virtual instrument cluster, 8.0-inch Composition Media infotainment system with App-Connect (Apple CarPlay, Android Auto and MirrorLink) and Vienna leather upholstery with integrated R-Line logos on the front seat backrests.

Safety kit includes seven airbags, ESC and the Proactive Occupant Protection System, which made its debut in the latest Polo. The system uses sensors to detect situations in which an accident is likely to occur and prepares the vehicle and its occupants for an impending collision, for example by automatically tensioning the safety belts as well as closing the side windows.

The Golf 1.4 TSI R-Line is priced at RM169,990 on-the-road without insurance, but the unit seen here retails at RM166,990. Why? If you’ll notice, it comes with the same Zoom fabric upholstery as the Sportline, but we’ve been told that this is only for an early batch of cars. From then on, only the leather-equipped version of the 1.4 TSI R-Line will be offered.

All Golfs are covered by a VPCM package that includes a five-year factory warranty with five years of free roadside assistance as well as three years/45,000 km free service. Check out full specifications of the Volkswagen Golf 1.4 TSI R-Line and the rest of the Golf range at CarBase.my.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 26, 2018 at 4:29 pm

at this point still give manual seats ….teruklah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Tengku Halim on Apr 26, 2018 at 6:26 pm

Very few people will dare cough out RM170k for a VW. I think that kind of power 150PS and 8.2 seconds is a joke for RM170k

VPCC must be thinking Malaysians are stupid

Better to buy a 2nd hand 2005 Porsche Carrera S for RM180k.

At least that does 4.5 seconds.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
      • Agreed. Also check out Peugeot 208gti 1.6 208hp 300nm 6.5 sec 0-100, 230kmh @ RM145k…..nuff said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
        • VW is funny car, whenever it is being repaired by workshop, the owner has to use 2nd car, might be a viva, myvi. So dun underestimate viva or myvi owner, they might be new VW owner! And oh, you buy a Golf R but most time you still cannot smoke other normal cars, why? Coz your car is at workshop!

Haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
        • nuff nuff on Apr 27, 2018 at 9:30 am

Should get the Celica GTS 2001 cost just 40K. NA low maintenance engine amd don’t need loan too.

Manual version does 0-100 in 6.3s

• vincent on Apr 26, 2018 at 11:12 pm

Yes, 180k Carrera S is 180k, but are you sure you can afford to maintain a Carrera S?

• Pablo on Apr 26, 2018 at 7:05 pm

SGD56k = RM169,990.

• rchoo on Apr 26, 2018 at 4:44 pm

I supposed we Malaysians are easy meat.

• when the new p1 suprima based on preve premium come out,,this baby Vee no longer di hati! ooo waii!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • 12yrsold john on Apr 26, 2018 at 4:52 pm

He he he. The Cheapest entry to German Engineered car has finally arrived & it does NOT cost an Arm or Leg !!

It also come with a 5-year factory warranty/5 year free roadside assistance & 3 years/45,000 km free service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
    • stastasta on May 03, 2018 at 10:05 am

passat comfortline demo units now selling at rm150k on the road include insurance. passat comes with more space, power boot, 3 zone air con, powerful 1.8 engine. tell me again why should i spend 15k more for this golf ?

• stastasta on May 03, 2018 at 10:09 am

better buy passat . demo units can be had for 150k OTR. passat has power boot, power front passenger seat, 3 zone auto air con , more space, more powerful engine.

• thepolygonal on Apr 26, 2018 at 5:10 pm

Wow.. that name R-Line very misleading… thought it was an actual Golf R with extra stuffs.

• 12yrsold john on Apr 27, 2018 at 8:46 am

Yup, the R-line is misleading indeed but to think U can get a Real Golf “R”(NEW) at RM170,000 must be asking too much. Even 2nd hand also quite difficult to find one.

• Yong Ming on Apr 26, 2018 at 5:10 pm

No Vienna leather upholstery with integrated R-Line logos. Just base spec fabric seats.

• Yong Ming on Apr 26, 2018 at 5:11 pm

Ahh… saw the end of the article. leather seats. please remove my earlier comment.

• KX Lim on Apr 26, 2018 at 5:20 pm

The 1.4 TSI engine and the 7speed DSG is clearly unreliable. I implore everyone to not touch this car.

My 4year old MK7 1.4 spends more time in the various service centres than on the road. Imagine the inconvenience of spending the last 7 out of 9 months in and out of service centres.

Is this the quality that consumers can expect from the pride of German technology and engineering? Mind you, this is a CBU from Germany model, not even a Malaysia CKD.

Thank you VPCM for putting myself and my family at extreme risk and stress every time I drive the car, not knowing when it will break down next.

On 31st January 2018, my car broke down along the North-South Highway on my way to Johor. Waited under the hot weather for more than 2 hours for Volkswagen’s towing service to arrive and yet I have to pay RM250 (despite the so-called free towing) to tow it to nearest reputable service centre in JB. I only managed to collect back my car on April 20th in JB (at my own expense from KL) after more than 2 and a half month without it. Yet, the car wasn’t fully repaired and it was towed back in Glenmarie service centre by 22nd April after less than 48hours.

VPCM does provide courtesy cars, however, imagine paying RM160k-170k and you will be spending more than half the time in a RM60k Polo / Vento.

Will VPCM please give me an acceptable solution to the problems I am facing instead of asking for more time/chance for your service centres to check on the car? I have wasted hours talking to your helpline.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 3
    • thefact on Apr 26, 2018 at 6:18 pm

9 months old Golf? WOW??
      How much you bought it for? must be cheap??
      And now barking here like a mad men? :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 40
    • thefact on Apr 26, 2018 at 6:32 pm

oh shoot my bad.. 4 years old. hope your issues can be solved :) i sympathize with you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • Yeah. Buy suprima s better..

• PT Singam on Apr 26, 2018 at 5:30 pm

VPCM has failed to spec this new R Line Golf wth 10mm lowered sports suspension and sports steering wheel both of which are needed to distinguish this R Line car from the base Golf.
    R Line cars in other markets come wth these included.
    The Mazda 3 hatch despite being > $40K cheaper has a great looking sports steering wheel.
    What a shame!

• thefact on Apr 26, 2018 at 6:30 pm

Wow bro, seriously?? standard on other markets?
      Really? cause i was researching as well, i found out, its actually an option to take interior R-Line pack as well in Germany (not standard).
      And a car similar spec as Malaysia is around 30,000 Euroes.
      So VPCM price of RM169,990..seems not to bad as its fully imported. (with exorbitant tax)
      The Mazda 3 is CKD :) diff tax structure.
      By the way, are u a doctor? lawyer? Just wondering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Digidigi on Apr 26, 2018 at 5:38 pm

if must get German, u better get a pre reg 318i for just a little more with similar output, but more reliable, better free service package, better space and most important, better brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • stastasta on May 03, 2018 at 10:10 am

personally i would save 10k and get the 3008 instead of this golf. if you gonna get an unreliable euro car, might as well get the one with fancy interior and exterior styling.

• Jujube on Apr 26, 2018 at 9:13 pm

Damn, that’s one ugly steering wheel..real put off!

• The colour called Tumeric Yellow guys #gengkunyit lol

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 27, 2018 at 12:21 am

Any chance of getting Malaysia alloy wheels…..?

• I can buy 2 unit suprima s at this price!

• Saw an ad for a new 2.0 turbo volvo v40 on mudah going for 160k , looks better, faster, a class above, with better interior than d veedubs , i mean VGM, for whom is dis car is for…?

Dat colour doesnt make it an m3 contender

Potential buyers shud look elsewhere, vgm is pulling ur leg on dis one, i mean, no electric seats at that price point??

Its only acceptable to price it that if its packed to the brim with all electric seats, sunroof, premium audio and full suite of passive n acrive safery features

But to those who are still keen to buy
    Wait till december to enjoy massive discount ,

Right now its ridiculous pricing

• applegreen on Apr 27, 2018 at 2:50 pm

That ad is to catch fish only. Once you enter volvo showroom, that rm160k car is for v40 t4. The 2.0 t5 is rm180k. RM180k without reverse camera. U want that camera have to put another rm5k

• stastasta on May 03, 2018 at 10:07 am

thumbs up for applegreen. shaw didnt do his homework properly.

• I WANT THE GOLF R PERFORMANCE THAT COMES WITH BUCKET SEATS + AKRAPOVIC SPORT EXHAUST + BIG SUNROOF !!!

• abeng on Apr 27, 2018 at 10:18 am

I was expecting the latest Volkswagen dashboard design that I have seen on 2019 Jetta on this new golf. This is extremely disappointing.

• Derek Charman on Apr 27, 2018 at 5:52 pm

Volkswagen Malaysia have been terrible to us.
    Bad Management.Lies.

• Faris on Apr 28, 2018 at 1:49 am

I’m not a car person who is knowlegable on the ins and outs of a car but personally speaking, i would not buy this car simply because of the low end interior. Almost RM170k for this? You’ve got to be kidding me.

• Same L0rr on Apr 28, 2018 at 10:21 am

DSG ok?