SPIED: Volkswagen Passat facelift to get Arteon look?

The B8 Volkswagen Passat made its world debut in 2014, meaning it will soon turn four come next month. That makes it ripe for a facelift, as spotted here by our European spy photographers.

Volkswagen’s CEO Herbert Diess apparently confirmed that the redesigned Passat “is on the starting blocks for Europe,” and the refreshed D-segment sedan may get a look that’s similar to the newer Arteon. That means a larger front grille, as well as slimmer headlights and tail lights with more stylish graphics.

Other than looks, small nip and tuck changes are expected in the cabin, possibly in the way of a more sculpted steering wheel (just like the Arteon) and updated infotainment displays across the range.

Will the facelifted Passat wear a similar look as the Arteon?

Engine-wise, expect the same crop of petrol engines to soldier on. This includes the range-topping 2.0 litre TSI, although a slight bump in output is expected – the current tune on the outgoing model makes 220 PS and 350 Nm. Here, power goes to the front wheels through a six-speed wet dual-clutch automatic. The 2.0 TSI also gets XDS electronic differential for better traction.

Below that sits the 1.8 litre TSI petrol, producing 180 PS and 250 Nm of torque. It gets a seven-speed DSG dry dual-clutch auto channeling drive to the front wheels. Standard safety equipment includes six airbags (front, front side and curtain), a Driver Alert System (rest assist), ESC, ABS with brake assist, anti-skid regulation, hill-hold control and Isofix mounts.

Watch our video reviews below to find out how the 1.8 TSI and 2.0 TSI fares. Also, share with us your thoughts in the comments below. Are you a fan of how the Arteon looks?

GALLERY: B8 Volkswagen Passat 2.0 TSI Highline

GALLERY: Volkswagen Arteon 2.0 TSI R-Line in Singapore

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• arowana on Jun 14, 2018 at 7:15 pm

if only P1 had made the right decision to partner the mighty VW. This could be rakyat well-loved all new Perdana 2.0T 220PS. Sigh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 26
    • What? And then u turn around and sez that Perdana2 has lousy reliability with DSG gearbox and blaming P1 for dieselgate? We see what u did there…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 16
      • Fantasia on Jun 15, 2018 at 1:46 am

I think what Arowana is saying is that VW besides producing the best selling Passat would be able to give Proton the “brains” to succeed.Thats what Proton is lacking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
        • Abu Bakar on Jun 15, 2018 at 1:44 pm

You got that right, Proton is a great car but just lacking the brains to succeed. Same case as all GLCs and Putrajaya as well.

• Well, another company other than a Chinese company would have been a better choice.

• John May 9 Nangis on Jun 15, 2018 at 2:05 pm

No point explaining. John can’t speak proper English. You need to speak BM to him

• Brains to succeed? Yeah right. The decision was done not to offend Bapak, otherwise he wud have jump over sooner than what happen now.

And in terms of success? China > Germany
          https://paultan.org/2018/02/26/li-shufu-zhejiang-geely-holding-founder-is-now-daimlers-biggest-shareholder-with-9-69-stake/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
          • Zazali on Jun 16, 2018 at 10:05 pm

John, BN is dead. Please join your comrades at the funeral

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
          • Hahaha. I dun work for BN unlike u paid PH cybertroll. Deswai u r fruss that im still here kicking ur arse everytime u spout nonsense, isnt it? Lets see what happens once ur leaders stops paying ur kupang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
        • before geely, Proton is lacking the “brains” and “rajin-ness” to succeed.

• samtowtruck on Jun 16, 2018 at 9:55 am

Cant brain how a popular car to be towed on towing truck gives brain?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
          • JJTeo on Jun 17, 2018 at 10:12 am

Samtowtruck. You must be a jaguh kampung. Go overseas and study bro. Dont just stay in Jinjang and comment buta2

• samtowtruck on Jun 18, 2018 at 7:58 pm

I love to have VW owners as my regular customers

Just dun buy P1 ok nanti i susah cari makan

• Jettaz on Jun 15, 2018 at 7:29 pm

What about jetta 2019? Is it coming to malaysia?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 16, 2018 at 10:05 am

just badge arteon as passat…settle liao

• Same L0rr on Jun 16, 2018 at 2:49 pm

Passat? Buy Proton Perdana 2016 better.. 5 speed auto, no DSG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • LorSam on Jun 17, 2018 at 8:20 am

Suddenly Sam Lorr abandoned his dying Toyota to try to salvage Proton. Always a sinking ship man.

• despite proton ‘laziness’, their products are still more reliable than vw. so what are vw then..??

• Seann on Aug 18, 2018 at 2:51 pm

REALISTICALLY SPEAKING…. If VW Malaysia provides 10 years manufacturer warranty and 10 years free maintenance package, then it will definitely make up my mind to buy it. Even though the Passat B7 is an amazing drive, BUT due to the fiasco of the VW engines reliability and SHITTY couldn’t-give-a-shit service, I would be the biggest fool to even believe a single word from VPCM. VPCM should put their money on the table, via the 10 years warranty & service, and I will put my hard earned money on the Passat, again!! Right now, the earliest time I will even begin to re-consider the Passat again will be the end of life B9 or B10 facelift. As things are now, I rather pay for a stale drive like Camry or Accord and have absolute peace of mind, rather than amazing drive for 6 months of the year.