BMW 8 Series Gran Coupe rendered – yay or nay?

The all-new BMW 8 Series is perhaps one of the best-looking models to roll out of Munich in recent years, sporting a sleek exterior design that’s rightfully complemented by a classy, polished cabin. While we know a cabriolet is on the cards, prototypes of the 8 Series Gran Coupe have been elusive thus far.

The closest thing to the actual 8GC we’ve seen is the official concept previewed earlier in March, but this set of rendering, courtesy of Theophilus Chin, shows us what the flagship four-door sports coupe potentially look like. Before you start squinting, the only thing different here is the additional rear doors and the less steeply raked rear glasshouse.

Of course, designing this four-door variant poses some challenges, especially if it were to retain the coupe’s dramatic low-slung appeal. Like the 6 Series Gran Coupe, the front doors will have to be shortened, as seen in the pictures here. Other than cramming the small rear doors in this digital rendering, everything else is as per the coupe, including the substantially emotive haunch that puts emphasis on masculinity.

To recap, the new 8 Series is based on BMW’s modular Cluster Architecture (CLAR) platform which features a mix of steel, aluminium, magnesium and carbon-fibre construction. It’s currently available with the M850i xDrive (all-wheel drive) that’s powered by an upgraded version of the M550i‘s 4.4 litre biturbo petrol V8, pushing out 530 hp and a whopping 750 Nm. Paired with an eight-speed Steptronic Sport automatic, the century sprint is done in just 3.7 seconds.

The other offering is the 840d xDrive diesel, which gets a 3.0 litre twin-turbocharged straight-six making 320 hp and 680 Nm. It shares the same eight-speed auto and sprints from zero to 100 km/h in 4.9 seconds. The range-topping M8 will be available at a later date.

Inside is an all-new cabin that befits this flagship sports coupe, featuring a full leather dashboard and sports seats as standard (multifunction seats with increased adjustment and support optional). Other new features include the latest BMW Operating System 7.0 for the iDrive system, the redesigned BMW Live Cockpit Professional instrument display, a larger head-up display, a smartphone-enabled Digital Key and the over-the-air Remote Software Upgrade function.

If the 8 Series Gran Coupe does make it to production, expect it to come with the same suite of driver assistance and connectivity features as the two-door. For now, what do you think of the four-door variant? Do you like it more than its coupe brethren? Leave your comments below!

GALLERY: BMW 8 Series Coupe

GALLERY: BMW Concept M8 Gran Coupe

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Mimosa on Jun 18, 2018 at 1:16 pm

Perggh ohsemm af… Take my moneh Theo !

• Latiff on Jun 18, 2018 at 1:19 pm

I think safe to say, with the high number of facebook posts PT had, the 8 series is one hot looking car.

I hope Proton can get a designer like BMW designers. Cars like Tiara, Juara and Savvy became failures because of the designs.

Time to get some foreigners to work in Proton to inject some brains into Proton

• Mikey on Jun 18, 2018 at 1:39 pm

I think Tiara, Juara & Savvy failed bcos of Services & Spares not to mention P1 don’t sell enuff. It’s the numbers game(economic of scale)

• No worries. P1 got Peter Horbury, creator of Thors Hammer as chief designer.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 18, 2018 at 3:34 pm

I wouldn’t tar the Tiara (Citroen AX) with the same brush though.

The AX was a game changer when it was first introduced in Europe. Unfortunately, by the time it got to Malaysia 10 years after it was initially released, it was sold long after design trends have moved on with a ridiculous price tag and lacked after sales support.

We got a late model Tiara in its final model run and heavily discounted (at 27k, it was only 3K more than the kosong spec kancil). Drove well, immensely comfortable for a small car, very fuel efficient, and irrespective of what people say, dare I say reliable, the only thing that needed to be replaced in 15 years were the tyres, brakepads, rubber exhaust hangers, shift gear handle (lol) and waterpump.

• Vicks on Jun 18, 2018 at 1:53 pm

Yay

• Chris Lai on Jun 18, 2018 at 2:27 pm

Yay

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 18, 2018 at 3:44 pm

To be honest, I really do not get the 4 door coupe class of cars, sure they do look better than the 4 door stablemates, but the sacrifices made to rear seat room from the sloping roof makes rear seat accommodation an afterthought.

The coupe looks a lot better.

I doubt BMW would make a 4 door 8 series, when there is a same sized 6 series grand coupe in the market..for now, (they did get rid of the 6er coupe to make room for the 8er) unless they intent on getting rid of the 6er name plate altogether.

I suspect there isn’t enough headroom (both in terms of size and prices) for the 6er coupe/grand coupe to share space with a 8er coupe/grand coupe

I think the 8er should have been slotted even further up the foodchain. This makes room for the 6er and 6 grand Coupe.

• stastasta on Jun 20, 2018 at 9:50 am

there is overlap between models, like the mercedes GT 4door and CLS.

• benzs on Jun 18, 2018 at 4:08 pm

After so many years, this is authentic from Best Men Win car. Looks muscular all the way back. Adapting sportiness and curvy resulting good looking car. BMW cannot maintain too conservative car anymore. Other manufacture will beat BMW. The end result is surprising to all.

• BowArrow(Mr.SFA) on Jun 18, 2018 at 6:54 pm

No i’m not gonna complain about the lack of Shark-fin antenna , since the old 6 series don’t have one.