VIDEO: Don’t hog the emergency lane – here’s why

Despite many reminders and crackdowns on emergency lane usage by the authorities, it appears Malaysian motorists are a stubborn lot. A video posted by Facebook user Safwan Anaqi shows exactly why usage of the emergency lane is for, well, emergencies.

The video shows an ambulance heading down the emergency lane on the two-lane road leading from Putrajaya heading towards Dengkil, Selangor. Both lanes are clogged with traffic queueing up for the four-way intersection some distance ahead, requiring the ambulance to use the emergency lane, as is necessary.

However, some impatient drivers wanting to get ahead of the line of cars are in the way, and unable to cut back into the proper lane in order to let the ambulance pass. This is a clear illustration why road rules need to be followed and the emergency lane is to be kept clear at all times.

VIDEO: Don’t hog the emergency lane – here’s why

Just because the emergency lane is empty, does not mean it will not be required at any time. That is why things are reserved for emergency use, they are there until needed.

This is a gentle reminder that all of us need to adhere to road rules and be considerate drivers. Don’t block the way of emergency vehicles, the life you save could be of a loved one.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Ah Kow on Jul 19, 2018 at 9:29 am

Jail plus caning those E-lane abusers!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 0
    • What’s wrong with using E-lane?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 76
      • torres on Jul 19, 2018 at 6:17 pm

R u idiot? How about if ur relatives in the ambulance?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • TonyK on Jul 20, 2018 at 7:13 am

Dear John, imagine that u r the patient being rushed to the hospital.
        A life is at stake versus ur “my time is more important”. Choose wisely, my friend.

• MarahUnta. on Jul 26, 2018 at 5:54 pm

You must be an E-lane habitual user! Do define the word..EMERGENCY? Maybe to you rushing to work every morning is Emergency! So that justifies it.

• Ollie on Jul 20, 2018 at 2:00 pm

I would point out that bad road design is also a factor here. 99% of traffic jams here are not due to car volume but poor intersection design and poor flow management. This is due to the only road design course in Malaysia taught by UiTM. See Fed Highway to Midvalley as a classic example.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Henry on Jul 19, 2018 at 9:32 am

Disgusting behaviour. How to become a developed nation with this kind of mentality?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 0
    • mpower on Jul 19, 2018 at 11:20 am

Tun is proven right again and offers his valuable help. Becoz many local people seem to be still “uneducated”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Mikey on Jul 19, 2018 at 1:47 pm

We can. Just put those offenders in a Cave. Provide only water dripping down just like the recent Cave incident. Only let them out when they repent & they have to sign off with a “Saya Setuju”…. He he he, cheers…

• How do u know they are not in emergency?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 37
    • Ollie on Jul 20, 2018 at 1:57 pm

To all the idiots here who love to point out “bad women drivers” I’ll bet you all these emergency lane hoggers are men. Just like you.

• Ongtk on Jul 19, 2018 at 9:39 am

The video should be sent to JPJ and police for action to be taken against those motorists.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 0
  • Jojmbul on Jul 19, 2018 at 9:41 am

Equip each ambulance with dashcam, mandatory suspension of these ignorant people driving licence for 1 – 3 months.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 0
  • v-tecfan on Jul 19, 2018 at 9:49 am

please summon those idiot and gantung those idiot license. i may be hash but if ambulance = no sorry for those idiot on road. disrespectful idiot

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 0
  • Malaysia is going backwards now… It’s becoming like india. welcome to malaysia baharu!

i think ambulance drivers should send dashcam videos like this to jpj so that they can identify the drivers from the vehicle registration number, and take legal action against them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
    • lilytan on Jul 19, 2018 at 10:40 am

The rot starts at the top.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • The top alredi rotted lor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
        • imstupidjohn on Jul 19, 2018 at 5:15 pm

Hey John, look into the mirror. Everything start with person in mirror. Please respect yourself and every motorists on the road. If you can’t follow the rule, you shouldn’t be driver at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
          • ??? I alwiz follows rules on the road. Whatcha babbling about incoherently?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • LembuTanduri on Jul 19, 2018 at 10:07 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 104
    • OtakLembu on Jul 19, 2018 at 11:13 am

Dengkil mah..landing on treetops eh?

• Are you using your brain? on Jul 19, 2018 at 12:19 pm

Helicopter cannot land at any place. How to land a helicopter in a tight housing area? Or on a road with trees or electric towers at the side? And of course, helicopter are more costly and maintenance-intensive.

• Acher May on Jul 19, 2018 at 1:33 pm

Do you think every hospital in Malaysia has the budget to own a rescue / emergency helicopter? Be realistic.

• musangKing-originalz on Jul 19, 2018 at 11:21 pm

rescue helicopter is not something new, and it can solve the problem if properly plan ahead, of course not suddenly throw into the equation. What if the emergency lane there is a car broke down and blocked the road? without lane hogger still tak boleh lalu…

• Pakulupapito on Jul 19, 2018 at 10:17 am

The fact that people need a video to explain why emergency lane should not be use if there are no emergency shows that there are serious lack of common sense in society.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Benjamin Ong on Jul 19, 2018 at 10:18 am

sry u all west msia kalah oledi. at kk here their emergency lane at Jln Tun Fuad Stephen which is a costal highway become parking lane already. Hog lane is so yesterday. Learn from KK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • Autobots on Jul 19, 2018 at 10:20 am

Kerajaan dah ubah, perangai sendiri x ubah2. Malu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • Saman kao-kao on Jul 19, 2018 at 10:28 am

Now everyone have dashcam, why not just allow public to send the video of offence to PDRM/JPJ to issue summons and give them few ringgit as commission?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • 12yrsold john on Jul 19, 2018 at 1:51 pm

Agree 100%. Maybe TV3 can show in its 9.00 pm channel under – Emergency lane Offenders. Sure many will want to view.

• Save me and other road users please on Jul 19, 2018 at 10:38 am

Not only the emergency lane, need drivers to be co-operative on choosing the correct lane ahead in early as well, many traffic jams are caused by selfish drivers who think they’re “driving motorcycle” can just cut in until very close to the junctions… BTW, please put down your phone please!! Means keep your both eyes on driving, not playing movies with your phone clip on somewhere, you do not need to watch the episode when you drive!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • sick&tired on Jul 19, 2018 at 10:43 am

malaysian drivers are the worst la! Cutting line, never give signal, hogging emergency and right lane! Something needs to be done. I think the driving test needs to be revamped.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • me too on Jul 19, 2018 at 3:10 pm

we have rules but they are often not enforced. i think the real problem here is that we have EXTREMELY poor enforcement which may have resulted in the emergency lane abuse case in the article above.

from experience in the US, if you drive way too slowly on the highway, the police will actually ask you to speed up a bit so that you don’t disrupt the flow of the traffic. in malaysia, some people drive at 60kph at a 110kph area in the middle lane no problem, police car overtake and no action. end up with traffic flow being very bad.

also, you can get a saman if you speed in residential/school/hospital/etc areas but in malaysia, in residential areas (where there could be kids playing around), it is the same as highway and can just pedal to the metal no problem. police see also no action. witnessed it myself.

oh and what happened to the window tint rules? seen many roadblocks with many heavily tinted vehicles passing thru no problem.

exhausts on cars and bikes modified so can be heard from neighboring countries, police nearby also no problem.

few cars parked in the slow/left lane of a 2 lane road with moderate traffic flow to buy nasi lemak, police drive by and no problemo. effectively blocking the slow/left lane.

installing colored layers of plastic on your headlamps so they appear green or red or blue or whatever the hell, police coming from the opposite way, they see and no problem.

putting on so many stickers on the back windscreen and blocking the driver’s view behind, roadblock no problem.

using fancy and sometimes hard to read number plates, roadblock no problem also.

parking at near a junction where it is obviously dangerous and may disrupt traffic. police drive by no problemo.

etc..etc..etc.. la la la bolehland.. tak apa lah attitude

• Ollie on Jul 20, 2018 at 2:01 pm

Exactly. Just to add – for those of you who keep harping about “bad women drivers”, those idiots mentioned above are all MEN.

• Send the number plates to JPJ and PDRM. Publish these number plates online or social media or heck, newspaper. Who cares, shame the offenders

• Those stupid drivers will say: I also emergency, need rushing back to bangsai (berak)…..adui faster faster….adui sakit……

• eazipizie on Jul 19, 2018 at 11:33 am

Susah betul nak ajar beruk-beruk ni…
    kena buat sekolah mamandu untuk beruk kot…

• I don’t know how many times I have said it on the PT site but I’ll say it again and again until something gets done.

GET MANY MORE ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS ON THE ROADS AND DEAL WITH ALL ASPECTS OF BAD DRIVING !!

The driving habits in this country are a disgrace and we should hold our heads in shame. It is not an exaggeration to say that I see traffic offences in every minute of every day.

Last Sunday I was the passenger as my wife drove us to a restaurant. I played a simple game and counted the amount of traffic offences I would see in a 5 minute period. Can you believe it….12 offences…..I gave up in the end as we reached an area where there was a small group of shops and at least 8 vehicles were parked illegally!

Is this acceptable? Are we happy to remain a country full of muppet drivers?

I’m not!

Hit them hard with severe penalties, then you will gradually see a shift in driving habits. The change in driving habits won’t happen overnight….but it WILL happen.

• Siaw Wei on Jul 19, 2018 at 12:45 pm

I feel pity for our own nation, are we going to live shamelessly like this? We can do better!

• sacred meteorite house pilgrim on Jul 19, 2018 at 12:52 pm

Publicly shaming those offenders through mass media, hefty fine to the offenders and mandatory to do community service.

• Ksatria on Jul 19, 2018 at 1:00 pm

Tired of these imbeciles. Still living in bolehland era..Revoke their license!!

• superdriver on Jul 19, 2018 at 1:49 pm

Just suspend license…6 months. Make the driver learn.Absurd behavior. Imagine if its your family members in the ambulance or waiting for the ambulance but stuck because of you. Unless its a life and death matter no one has rights to drive emergency lane.

• Malaysians..Stupid will always be stupid, i guess..

• Sia HL on Jul 19, 2018 at 2:43 pm

As the camera recorded the entire incident, why can’t actions be taken against those drivers, we need to start somewhere & someday.

• michelin on Jul 19, 2018 at 2:47 pm

I stayed in Kota Warisan. That road leads to a “junction from hell” (what some locals called it) and needs a fly over FAST to overcome the congestion. It has been 2 General Elections already, the promised fly over still not ready. The traffic is very heavy with lorries (so many new township projects there), airport taxi limousine (short cut to KLIA) and locals who stayed there (Dengkil, Kota Warisan, Salak Tinggi, etc). As for the emergency lane hoggers, well this is Malaysia. They are everywhere, impatient drivers.

• 3rd world.mentality

• azhar on Jul 19, 2018 at 3:22 pm

malaysia sudah baru mentality still lama!!

• Bernard on Jul 19, 2018 at 3:42 pm

I would like to propose amendment to the Road Traffic Act and the punishment should be ‘Gantung sampai mati’

• wahahaha on Jul 19, 2018 at 4:08 pm

No enforcement that is the problem.

Pakatan Harapan can easily saman their way to fill up tabung harapan by placing 1 police/camera at Federal highway.

• Our enforcement is really bad. Polis keep saman those who have not so dark tinted, fancy plate numbers even though can bee seen clearly from a distance. Easy money. Dont want to do the real job which is fight against real wrong doing such as going through red traffic light and potong Q. No enforcement towards them. Ride a bike without helmet also not a problem in malaysia, can go pass polis easily.

• RicoT on Jul 19, 2018 at 6:01 pm

If the patient died, can these idiots be criminally charged for causing death?

• Van WJN 5860 ?
    MyVi WEK 5055 ?
    Kia Forte WWN 8633 ?
    Honda City WB2651 X ?

• Ben Yap on Jul 20, 2018 at 10:00 am

I hope those that use the emergency lane and block it, their parents is in the ambulance.

• Alex Vostox on Jul 20, 2018 at 10:10 am

Actually it was legal for Ambulance driver to ram and push the car aside the way Bomba/Civil Defence were legal to broke or even breaking in offender vehicle if that said (offender) vehicle in the way that stopped any rescue or life saving effort (e.g Some arsehole parking their car next to fire hydrant).
    The only stopped them is long list of Surat tunjuk sebab the driver gonna write to Hospital Director (due to broken Ambulance bumper), Arsehole driver with their arsehole lawyer and idiotic public perception once the cases gone viral. After all Malaysian are more believing in viral news that whole truth isn’t?

• most Malaysian driver are stupid..selfish..arrogant

• follow Singapore…all ambulance..fire fighter…police…their cars..vans..trucks…has installed cameras..so if these stupid drivers block their moves..they already have these stupid cars registration no..so easy for them to issue the summon.

• Mr. Kampung sweating on Jul 20, 2018 at 5:40 pm

So lucky big city was provided e-lane..
    My kampung 1 and half hour use long boat and another 3 hours by car to reach hospital besar and then kena summone traffic kereta kotor plate number tak nampak…then dimarahi counter staff for wrong room registration and hot drama between seniour nurse scold trainee and threat us without saying a single word…

• Reaper187 on Jul 28, 2018 at 11:44 pm

First line of defense against the stupid e-lane users are other drivers. BUT unfortunately MOST other drivers simply don’t do anything, cowards. I block any idiot using the e-lane when there is a traffic jam and those e-lane abuser idiots honk at me as if I’m the bloody criminal! STUPID DOUCHES!!

• Ahpet on Jul 30, 2018 at 10:45 pm

Dont let brainless people hit the road