Study impact of Penang Bridge toll abolishment – CM

Penang chief minister Chow Kon Yeow has urged the federal government to study the financial impact of abolishing toll on the Penang Bridge. According to The Sun, Chow said “the federal government must study the implications of paying compensation to the concessionaire and maintenance costs based on the concession contract which still has 20 years to go.”

That was a response to a question posed by Lee Khai Loon (PKR-Machang Bubuk) during the first sitting of the Penang State Assembly since the 14th general elections (GE14). Chow said the state government was taking measures to alleviate congestion on the bridge, among which was to provide the Bridge Express Shuttle Transit (BEST) that was first introduced in 2011.

Prior to winning GE14, the Pakatan Harapan coalition promised to waive all toll charges for motorists who use the Penang Bridge. It also announced in its manifesto that it will abolish toll collection if it won GE14, but has recently announced that the move will cost over RM400 billion.

Meanwhile, Jambatan Kedua Sdn Bhd, which is the concessionaire for the Sultan Abdul Halim Muadzam Shah or the Second Penang Bridge, has been urged to consider providing toll discounts to attract more users. It has been deemed as a financially unstable company despite the increase in traffic volume in 2017. Motorists tend to use the first bridge more, simply because the second bridge is some 30 minutes’ drive from main towns.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Ben Yap on Aug 07, 2018 at 12:14 pm

if no 3rd national car, the money there can be saved to do many things.

by then, no worries to even give free higher Tertiary education.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • TheDean on Aug 07, 2018 at 12:46 pm

Spot on brah Ben. Socially crucial to reduce the ‘Uneducateds’ & elevate MY knowledge base ekonomi.

Rakyat must Dump&No Tongkat mindset

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • Previous gov wanna remove tongkat rakyat and told them to work harder, but instead they removed the gov. New Gov pulak promised sweets and everything nice, so now its time to fulfill their promises.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
        • 12yrsold on Aug 08, 2018 at 9:25 am

Previous Gomen have all the time to remove NAP but they CHOOSE to sleep on it. So don’t try to bluff that “Previous gov wanna remove tongkat rakyat”

• They have alredi liberalising the NAP by removing the 30% local content, reducing the excise duties, AFTA, and pushing for more safety features on new cars. Otherwise u will still get 2 airbags and no ESP or TC in new Mivi. Looks like we going back to this era again.

• carazy on Aug 07, 2018 at 2:09 pm

The study must be made before GE and writing down the menifesto “bukan-janji”. Not after winning the election, now it time for action bro!!.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
  • Ex Dacingman on Aug 07, 2018 at 12:17 pm

more sense to abolish toll on the Jambatan Kedua or the 2nd Penang Bridge. My 2cents.

• shaunD on Aug 07, 2018 at 12:21 pm

Study impact of Penang Bridge abolishment, govt told

i thought want to abolish the bridge. say la penang bridge toll.

• Promised wanna abolish, so why still study? U mean previously no study b4 promise kah? Next time dun simply promise lor.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 24
    • lut you on Aug 07, 2018 at 5:52 pm

This not your father’s bridge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • Ithoughtyouthought on Aug 07, 2018 at 6:52 pm

Suddenly, the Harapan within me, to the new Malaysia gone partly… not too much, but significant, after I read this. Means what said can be unsaid? Feel very Unsafe now…

• Observers on Aug 07, 2018 at 12:35 pm

Ni biasa la. Janji dulu nak abolish jika menang. Dah menang, baru nak kaji… Ni ayat biasa org politik. Apa2 pun, buat apa nak kecoh. Korang yg pilih kan… All the best…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 2
  • Tak Tahu on Aug 07, 2018 at 12:41 pm

Well if they get 1 bridge to be toll free the other one with toll will be yet another white elephant

• Edwin L on Aug 07, 2018 at 1:46 pm

Supposedly is both bridges, right? 2nd bridge also Penang Bridge what.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Kasut Hitam on Aug 07, 2018 at 1:41 pm

Org politik, sebelum PRU14 mcm2 janji, tapi selepas PRU semua benda kena kaji semula…Jgn tabur janji manis kalau tak boleh tunaikan. Rakyat inginkan perubahan, sebab tu pilih kamu jadi kerajaan. Kalau tak apa bezanya dgn kerajaan terdahulu? Benda tak payah kaji mcm tukar kasut hitam cepat pulak diluluskan…Jgn salah faham, saya happy lepas tukar kerajaan, tapi kebelakangan ni mangkin nampak alasan yg diberi tak munasabah, cakap banyak hutang, tapi projek kereta national 3.0 tetiba nak teruskan pulak…org politik…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
  • Gabriel on Aug 07, 2018 at 2:08 pm

Don’t ever promise more than you can deliver, but always deliver more than you promise.
    I’m slowly starting to hate this new gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
  • Mohammad Hafiz Abdul Rahim on Aug 07, 2018 at 2:39 pm

We penangites dont use second bridge simply because:
    a) its more expensive to be used on daily basis
    b) its too far. u drive south, cross the bridge n go north again.
    the only time i use second bridge is when i want to go to ipoh/kl/jb. or when the first bridge is being closed due to penang bridge marathon

• Naz01 on Aug 07, 2018 at 2:57 pm

To be fair..if any abolishment please use Penang expenses.

Malaysian not to be burdened. E.g Sabah / Selangor people don’t need penang bridges

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Ji Kao on Aug 07, 2018 at 3:00 pm

Should need no study, just carry it out and please don’t simply blame the previous government on everything you can’t deliver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • stastasta on Aug 08, 2018 at 2:08 pm

read what Naz01 above commented:
      To be fair..if any abolishment please use Penang expenses.

Malaysian not to be burdened. E.g Sabah / Selangor people don’t need penang bridges

you people are damn stupid. if the gov abolish then will get scolded by Naz01. if they DONT abolish, then they get scolded by Ji Kao.

• Robinhood on Aug 07, 2018 at 5:41 pm

Politicians promised you the sun and moon when they want your votes. Now you can eat yourself as mission is accomplished. Giving excuse and blaming are the best way to escape persecution.