Toyota Camry Sports on sale in Japan – from RM136k

It’s been over a year since the Toyota Camry was launched in Japan, and to keep the D-segment sedan fresh in everyone’s minds, Toyota has introduced the Camry Sports variant. The sportier look, previously available only in the United States and Australia, is finally making its way to the car’s home market.

The result is an exterior design that is far more aggressive than the standard Camry, coming with a large gloss black X-shaped graphic across the front end, together with bigger air intakes, deeper side skirts, fake air vents under the tail lights, a bootlid lip spoiler and a rear diffuser with twin exposed exhaust exits. The interior gets metallic decorative trim panels and paddle shifters.

Those paddles are connected to the same hybrid powertrain as before, consisting of a 178 hp/221 Nm A25A-FXS 2.5 litre Dynamic Force direct-injected petrol engine and a 120 PS/202 Nm electric motor to produce a total system output of 211 PS. Fuel consumption is rated at 33.4 km per litre on the Japanese JC08 cycle.

The Camry Sports is offered in two variants, the WS (which stands for “Worldwide” and “Sports,” says Toyota) and the WS Leather Package. The latter gets genuine leather seats (obviously), plus 18-inch alloy wheels in a new two-tone finish, a head-up display, a power-adjustable front passenger seat to match the driver’s and a T-Connect navigation system.

Prices range between 3,672,000 yen (RM135,900) for the WS and 4,341,600 yen (RM160,600) for the WS Leather Package. A total of 10 exterior colours are offered, including three two-tone colour schemes that pair Platinum White Pearl Mica, Emotional Red and Dark Blue Mica Metallic with an Attitude Black Mica roof.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Kuinosan on Aug 16, 2018 at 6:23 pm

The Emperor is back!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 10
    • China Designer on Aug 16, 2018 at 7:03 pm

Why buy toyota when we can buy GELI PROTON … belilah Proton buatan “Malaysia”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 24
      • Jimmy on Aug 16, 2018 at 10:54 pm

The Emperor is back! causing Camry to cost 188,888 for 2.0E, and 228,888 for 2.5V predicted in 2021. The third baby will make a lot of people to vote back the Bee-Ant which is without najis now.
        Without Ah Hua gor, it will be just five years only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 29
        • Weewee Cushion on Aug 17, 2018 at 12:07 pm

Jimmy’s prediction will be same like all the doomsday false prophets prediction…retail price of camry will definately go downhills since japanese yen started to depreciate against ringgit kupang until 2021…..

• EL SABAH EL YAH on Aug 17, 2018 at 3:43 pm

Strong us dollar Weak nippon yen?

• halloha560 on Aug 17, 2018 at 9:18 am

Why buy Honda when we can buy PROTON and Toyota, Mazda Dan Kia….belilah Proton buatan Malaysia Dan belilah Toyota, Mazda, Kia. Ini tiga automakers including Proton are good quality cars than Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
        • Shouldn’t buy Honda on Aug 17, 2018 at 10:06 am

True halloha560. Dear Malaysian, there are reason why people shouldn’t buy Honda models in Malaysia. It is because Honda Malaysia is an association of manufacturers or suppliers with the purpose of maintaining prices at a high level and restricting competition. Moreover, Honda Service is very terrible as proven by JD Power Malaysia Customer Service Index (http://www.jdpower.com/business/press-releases/jd-power-2017-malaysia-customer-service-index-csi-study) – [take note that Proton and Perodua JD Power Malaysia Customer Service Index will improve in the next few years]. Furthermore, there are also having problem about faulty part for some Honda models. I am Civic owner, I just bought it last year. After one year, there is also having problem about my Civic. EPS (Electonic Power Steering) got problem. Also when I drive at the low speed, I heard that there is a crackling noise from Drive Shaft and also Relay on/off for more than 10 times in 1 second which gives problem. Therefore, as I went in to the Honda showroom, Honda people didn’t greet me. This shows that Honda Customer Care is very terrible as well. This is actually why Malaysian is cheated by Honda Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 2
          • UMW got another winner in the Camry

• RegretToTheBottomCivicOwner2018 on Aug 17, 2018 at 2:30 pm

You are lucky to have ONLY two problems/noises, my Civic 1.5 TCP is less than 5 months old and I have been hearing noises from steering wheel, steering column, driver and passenger doors, underneath 7 inch central console, air con vents, room light, dashboard, rear seat, A pillar, and some areas which I couldn’t identify. I have been to Different service centers for a total of 8 times, as you might have experienced, the problems/noises are either not attended to properly, or they will just ask you to live with it. There was one time that they replaced my VSA (Vehicle Stability Assist) unit which they suspected was the faulty part that generated noises, and at the end it didn’t help at all. And there was a time that I waited for 3 and half hours at service center for technician from Honda Malaysia (after many complaints that local dealer couldn’t solve my problem), and the so-called Honda Malaysia came late (after 3 and half hour of waiting), checked my vehicle and left within 30 minutes without even approaching me! It has been a mental and physical abusing for trusting and buying a rm132k car from Honda. Such a bad quality car, such a bad service, such a joke Honda you are. Shame on you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
          • Butthurt Toyota SAs got nothing better to do…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
    • TAK NAK CVT on Aug 16, 2018 at 8:41 pm

I will miss the 6-speeds Super ECT. Because CVT has lifespan. Not surprise a lot of gearbox replacement in the next few years

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 16, 2018 at 9:01 pm

Similar price in Malaysia…hmmm…so who says our price is high…another example…the vios is priced almost identical in Asean plus minus a bit…except for singapore of course

• this or new accord or new mazda 6..hmmm

• halloha560 on Aug 17, 2018 at 10:00 am

New Toyota Camry 2018 and New Mazda 2018 is better than 2018 Honda Accord 2018

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Hmm... Much Hmm... on Aug 17, 2018 at 12:36 pm

Except, JDM models had consistently been of better pedigree than other markets. Comparison between non-JDM and JDM isn’t remotely fair to say the least.

I suspect it’s their way to support their local Auction Houses, a better equipped and meticulously manufactured vehicle for an affordable price is a lot more enticing to foreign importers and buyers.

• So … … …
      U know what I’ll said

• Rightwinger on Aug 16, 2018 at 6:33 pm

Salaryman becomes ultraman. Now boring uncle can go fast with boring sensation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 27
  • Meanwhile Camry sold here at Rm140k. Rm4000 diff only. Lolz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • stastasta on Aug 20, 2018 at 10:16 am

fake news again. Camry sold here at Rm140k is the 2.0 basic spec model . the camry sports in japan is 2.5 hybrid.

• Honda Fan on Aug 16, 2018 at 7:11 pm

This is the best looking Camry to date, both exterior and interior. Going to sell well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • halloha560 on Aug 17, 2018 at 8:35 am

(Like) 2018 Beautiful Toyota Camry and 2018 Stylish Mazda 6
      (Dislike) 2018 Donkey Face Honda Accord

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 7
  • RM manyak kuat on Aug 16, 2018 at 8:34 pm

no tebu version

• Manfred on Aug 16, 2018 at 10:27 pm

Been waiting for almost a year for its arrival to our shore. UMW Toyota perhaps is sleeping and waiting its rival to out sell them at even wider gap. Thumbs down to Toyota Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 66
    • Nocturnal Animals on Aug 17, 2018 at 7:27 am

On the first comment, Thumbs down means dont agree with Manfred. Thumbs up means Agree to Manfred. So Since majority of you press downlikes means dont agree

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Cheap Camry on Aug 17, 2018 at 9:18 am

Our CKD Camry is Asean species. When Thai haven’t replace the new model we could just wait and wait.

• Silver on Aug 17, 2018 at 11:52 am

I think they will start production of the new Camry and bios once their new factory is up and running cause investing in a new line cost a lot of money and thu can’t do it cause they will be moving soon

• azrai on Aug 17, 2018 at 8:30 am

So this is what Ah Beng’s last ride look like after reaching 60’s.

• klguy on Aug 17, 2018 at 8:58 am

why do you guys all the time give a misleading price info by directly translating it from a foreign currency?

• T.SEG on Aug 17, 2018 at 9:40 am

UMW Toyota is Sleeping..? Already 1 year in Japan and yet, this model still not available in Malaysia..?

• azrai on Aug 17, 2018 at 11:20 am

Even the new Vios still not even near our shore, thank you UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Why bother? Its the same junk anyways. Come out with new platform & better safety then can talk lar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 24
        • halloha560 on Aug 17, 2018 at 2:44 pm

Even Honda Accord looks like donkey face. At least Proton Design, Toyota Design, Kia Design and Mazda Design is better than outdated Honda Design and Honda donkey design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
          • T.SEG on Aug 17, 2018 at 4:06 pm

your comment show that you are 1 of Toyota Salesman that..
            sorry to say but, current Camry sold by UMW Toyota Malaysia is far to outdated compare to Honda Accord, Nissan Teana. The best design now is Mazda6 for this class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
  • CashMonry on Aug 17, 2018 at 9:57 am

Once again, the Americans are lucky with their 300 HP V6. I assume the 4 cylinder is fine for Japanese roads.

• Petoron Sagu on Aug 17, 2018 at 4:17 pm

No buy say boboy…. Daddy say camry no good. Daddy will make new car for boboy. This car best in the world.

• Lamp post on Aug 17, 2018 at 4:52 pm

Toyota Camry and Mazda 6 is one of the best in the world. Camry is good and well perfect design including for Mazda 6

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Otta1 on Aug 18, 2018 at 12:11 am

No Apple car play or Android auto.
    Sigh!
    Are we back to the 90s’?

• unker camry on Aug 18, 2018 at 6:07 am

Buruk giler, designers have no better idea than this ugly front? This is the product of lepak 8x a day , drink sake 8x, sack the designer

• #wapalewheels on Aug 23, 2018 at 10:18 am

Wow. The spirit of NASCAR Cup Car

• Amjad on Aug 24, 2018 at 1:40 am

I got 2011 camry ,The high temperatures cause the surface of the dashboard sticky , they use cheap materials and the customer support program that the one they Star it to fix the problem will not cover all the vehicles