Volvo XC40 launched in Thailand – from 2.09 mil baht

The Volvo XC40 was recently launched in Thailand, where it is offered in two variants – T4 Momentum and T5 AWD R-Design. Prices start at 2,090,000 baht (RM266,768) for the entry-level variant, while the range-topper goes for 2,390,000 baht (RM305,060).

Under the bonnet, both variants feature a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder Drive-E engine that makes 190 hp/300 Nm in the T4, and 252 hp/350 Nm in the T5. An eight-speed Geartronic automatic transmission comes as standard, with all-wheel drive being another additional system for the T5.

In terms of performance, the T4 will take 8.4 seconds to complete the 0-100 km/h sprint and comes with a top speed of 210 km/h. The T5 takes 6.4 seconds to do the same, and has a higher top speed of 230 km/h. The T5 also gets the Sport chassis, whereas the T4 comes with the Dynamic chassis instead.

In terms of exterior features, the T4 comes with the Momentum trim package and 18-inch five-spoke alloy wheels in silver (235/55 profile tyres). The colour palette includes Ice White, Bright Silver Metallic, Amazon Blue, Onyx Black Metallic and Fusion Red Metallic, with the last three available with a white roof upon request.

The T5 R-Design meanwhile, gets its own unique grille, bumpers (rear piece features integrated exhaust outlets) and R-Design lettering near the top of the C-pillar. For the Thailand market, 19-inch diamond cut five-double spoke alloy wheels in two-tone matte black/silver finish (235/50 profile tyres) are standard for the T5, and buyers will have four metallic colours – Crystal White Premium, Osmium Grey, Bursting Blue Premium and Fusion Red – to choose from, all with black-painted roofs.

Moving inside, T4 cars get Charcoal black leather upholstery with Urban Grid décor inlays, while the T5s receive R-Design Charcoal Nubuck fine Nappa perforated leather and Cutting Edge inlays instead. All variants come as standard with a 9-inch Sensus Connect infotainment system, wireless mobile phone charger, dual-zone climate control (with Clean Zone filter), 12.3-inch Digital Driver Display and powered front seats (with memory function for the driver seat).

Similarly, City Safety, Collision Avoidance and Mitigation Support with Auto Brake, Blind Spot Information System (BLIS), Cross Traffic Alert with Auto Brake, Lane Keeping Aid, Distance Alert, Dynamic Stability and Traction Control (DSTC), Roll Stability Control (RSC), seven airbags and Active High Beam Control are present on both variants.

The T5 naturally gets the most goodies, including a 13-speaker, 600-watt Harman Kardon sound system, navigation function, Pilot Assist with Adaptive Cruise Control, paddle shifters, Park Assist Pilot, and while both variants have LED headlamps, only the T5 gets the Active Bending Lights (ABL) function.

The XC40 is expected to make its launch debut in Malaysia soon, as official dealers have begun accepting registration of interest from the public. Furthermore, Volvo Cars Malaysia has already begun teasing the model’s arrival on its Instagram page recently. Are you looking forward to the arrival of Volvo’s smallest XC model and 2018 European Car of the Year?

View this post on Instagram

Designed for urban life. Coming soon. #XC40MY

A post shared by Volvo Car Malaysia (@volvocarmalaysia) on

GALLERY: Volvo XC40 T5 in Singapore

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• tkhengong on Sep 26, 2018 at 5:48 pm

Woh! The pice is a certainly a bummer! My personal opinion, better get the Mazda CX-5 2.2D AWD and save a substantial sum of money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 18
    • Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 26, 2018 at 7:38 pm

Waiting for our regular troll to come here and say P1 and Volvo and Geely and Mercedes SAME company. So, better to buy Geely X70

Pity Proton fanboys have to tumpang glamour Geely. Geely do all the hard work, even converting to RHD whilst Proton staff have ZERO input and tumpang glamour

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
      • Pity u ur boss has spoken. https://paultan.org/2018/09/24/proton-was-a-success-not-a-failure-pm-tun-mahathir/

• Samudera on Sep 27, 2018 at 12:28 pm

i only trust my this boss.

https://paultan.org/2017/03/02/proton-a-failed-white-elephant-project-nazri-aziz/

• James on Sep 27, 2018 at 10:07 am

Why so butthurt?

• azlano on Sep 27, 2018 at 10:40 am

The “infinite weave” grille is one unique local flavor on the Proton X70. Kudos to P1 design

• dont play play..thats grille designed by proton chief designer!!

• No kidding. Even Mesidis copies Infinite Weave grille for their new GLE.

• SK, Lim on Sep 27, 2018 at 12:19 pm

You mean tumpang glamour like this? (paultan.org/2018/09/12/toyota-in-talks-with-geely-on-hybrid-tech-cooperation/)

• rightwinger on Sep 27, 2018 at 2:24 pm

DR Li Chunrong and Geely dont share your sentiments and that matters more than your vitriol and false claims.

• My personal imho opinion, better get the KIA Sorento 2.2D AWD 7Seater.

• Osaka boy on Sep 26, 2018 at 9:02 pm

Agreed. It is more comparable with CX3

• Norliah on Sep 26, 2018 at 9:20 pm

(Like) Toyota CH-R 148k.
      (Dislike) Volvo XC40 248k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • halloha560-john SDN BHD on Sep 27, 2018 at 11:56 am

(Like) Volvo XC40 and Toyota CHR
        (Dislike) Current outdated Honda HRV and new facelift outdated Honda HRV

• John Minum Teh 8X on Sep 27, 2018 at 8:26 am

Volvo and Mazda are two different markets. Volvo is still luxury. Mazda is common car.

• My england is bad on Sep 26, 2018 at 5:50 pm

TH expensiev, MY cheaperer becuz RM strong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
    • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Sep 26, 2018 at 7:35 pm

RM is not strong. SGD is strong. 60 yrs of corruption has made RM very weak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 27, 2018 at 4:52 am

Historically Volvo price is cheaper in bolehland compared to Thai.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Sep 27, 2018 at 8:30 am

It is too expensive. I think those who can afford this will just add a bit more and get a good BMW X5. Real proper SUV.

A good pre reg X5 now below RM299k from BMW Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • Funny how you come here promote BMW when in BMW threads you complain of their many gadgets easy to rosak and having to pay tens of thousands of ringgit to repair them.

On one hand you condemn BMW, on the other you promote BMW. What are you trying to do, other than putting your foot in your mouth?

• Kimchi wong on Sep 27, 2018 at 2:21 pm

Or consider the same pre reg XC90 at 230k or even cx9 at 248k. Why go for small half function suv

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 26, 2018 at 6:00 pm

Odd it takes a while for the T4 to ram up speed. For the power figures on hand it should do 0-100 under 8 secs. Poor engine and gearbox combo I guess.

• Bruder Serena putih on Sep 26, 2018 at 8:13 pm

0-100 under 3 secs. Abudden nxt highway stop layan rokok 30 mins … heheheh

• rubbishconti on Sep 26, 2018 at 10:46 pm

Same goes to conti cars, even sportier A series, the ugly irritating sound goes out first from the twin-exhausts, it will take several seconds only then the car moves fast. So pathetic gearbox and engine even a kancil can move first.

• rightwinger on Sep 27, 2018 at 1:16 am

weight maybe?

• Azrul on Sep 27, 2018 at 8:40 am

Proton must learn to work hard and become successful like Volvo. Volvo also last time bankrupt. no more sleeping in opis Proton workers!

• Malaysia boule on Sep 26, 2018 at 6:26 pm

So where is this car come from?

Sweden? China? or Shah Alam?

• John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Sep 26, 2018 at 7:43 pm

Same like PRoton cars. Got no identity anymore. Prootn used to be Malaysian. Now, fully China run. So like this Volvo, Proton also now don’t know where it is made.

Why even have a national car in the first place in 1985??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Fordist on Sep 27, 2018 at 10:17 am

National car in 1985? Dude, Volvo has been around since 1935 and only became non-Sweden national car in 1999 when it’s sold to Ford. Get your facts right, you fake.

• Third national car on the way bro…

• TopsyBoxyTurvy on Sep 26, 2018 at 9:09 pm

just a glorified proton X70 everybody reckon’

• Bernard on Sep 26, 2018 at 6:46 pm

That’s great but like Malaysians they don’t know how to pronounce the brand name….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • It is easier to pronounce than long winded torn wording TO YO TEK rubbish

• Malaysian mentality is THIRD WORLD coming from THIRD WORLD EDUCATION. Only can pronounce NASI LEMAK properly.

Even AUDI , they cannot pronounce properly too.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Sep 27, 2018 at 8:28 am

Volvo has been around since the 60s in Malaysia. I think most Malaysians, if not all, can pronounce it properly

• Moment on Sep 27, 2018 at 5:36 am

Yea nice design, wait till it spoil. Many issues with their new xc90, xc60 n s90.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • Dwarf !!!!

• Rakyatsuara on Sep 27, 2018 at 10:56 am

I saw this car at cheras 2 weeks ago with KL plate, the size is smaller then CRV but a bit bigger then Haval H3, is T5.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Sep 27, 2018 at 11:23 am

As i scroll down the comments, people would compare it with other brands.

do remember, the target market are for those who look for “brand name”. thus, they dont even bother if the other brands have a better specs than this volvo.

same goes with slippers la, havaianas slippers cost almost rm100 as oppose to the cheap ones.

• Mhmmd on Sep 27, 2018 at 4:02 pm

Was in Bangkok a month ago and I could hardly see any new Volvo models on the streets. In fact, there’s a higher chance of spotting new Volvo models in KL.

• Their sales team is worse than MY. Time for Geely to replace them.

• Embee on Sep 28, 2018 at 3:40 am

for that pricing thai spec doesnt include the 360 cam….thats a pity.

Volvo Malaysia pls dont ruin the spec sheet for the Malaysian market…

• Chesney Hawkes on Sep 28, 2018 at 4:11 pm

Was at the event, you guys are more into Volvo’s than we are for sure. I booked R-Design and it should be here Jan 15. Based on XC60 prices in TH you should see better pricing for XC40 in MY. I also heard you’ll be getting yours from Nov since you are building them. Will take a trip to KL when your dealers start getting stock. The ones at the event were CBU.

• Chesney Hawkes on Sep 28, 2018 at 4:23 pm

Any of you going to Genting event for XC40 on Oct 5? At the bkk event we had the CBU model. It had a pano roof but CKD won’t be getting it. We also won’t be getting electric folding seats that were on display. We don’t know if they will be including a spare wheel (probably not to save costs!), have to pay 130k to extend warranty to 5yrs from 3 and get 5yrs maintenance and call out. Accessories are pretty expensive e.g. 225k for 20 inch rims!

• 5 years ago
    2,000,000 THB = RM199,000

Today
    2,000,000 THB = RM256,000

Thai money more strong!

• Chesney Hawkes on Oct 01, 2018 at 11:57 pm

If built in Thailand that’s be bad for you, but since it’s being assembled in Malaysia you probably won’t suffer……..as much!