2019 Toyota Camry in Malaysia soon – early details!

“A beast is coming your way soon. Discover the monstrous beauty of the all-new Camry,” reads a short teaser on the Toyota Malaysia Facebook page, clearly indicating that the all-new eighth-generation Camry is on its way here, and here soon. November 1 date is mentioned – that’s four days away!

That’s as far as the teaser shows, but fret not, as incidentally, a leaked internal memo has been circulating on social media, giving us an early glimpse into what to expect in the new D-segment sedan. Well, other than the rather shocking new looks of the latest Camry and its TNGA platform, of course. An uncle’s car, this is definitely not.

Two variants are listed in the leaked document: 2.0G and 2.5V. No hybrid model is expected here. More surprisingly, however, the engine options appear to be carry-over units, the 2.0 litre motor likely being the 6AR-FSE, and the 2.5 litre the existing 2AR-FE. In their current iterations, the engines offer 167 PS/199 Nm and 180 PS/235 Nm respectively.

This also means we will miss out on the latest 2.5 litre Dynamic Force Engine (208 PS/252 Nm) that is expected to be featured in the Thai-market Camry, as well as the eight-speed automatic transmission that would go with it. It’s looking likely that we will mirror what Australia gets – existing 2.5 litre engine with a slightly updated six-speed auto.

Japanese-market eighth-generation Toyota Camry

Beyond that, key features of the two variants are also listed. The base Camry 2.0G will feature black leather upholstery, cruise control and bi-LED headlamps with LED daytime running lights. What’s more interesting is the range-topping Camry 2.5V, which will get a much more comprehensive kit list.

The additions to the 2.5 litre model will include an upgrade to smooth leather upholstery (also black), head-up display, LED turn signals and reverse lamp (as opposed to bulbs in the Camry 2.0), plus the Toyota Safety Sense suite with pre-crash system (AEB), lane departure alert, lane keeping assist, adaptive cruise control and auto high-beam headlamps.

You can register your interest for the 2019 Toyota Camry here. We’ll have to wait a few more days for the rest of the equipment list as well as the all-important prices. For now, what do you think of this early info? Shout out in the comments below.

GALLERY: Japanese-market eighth-generation Toyota Camry

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Crap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 47
    • Clap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
      • OMG 8 eight speed sure can smoke Civic turbo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 34
        • Kepalaotak on Oct 28, 2018 at 9:36 pm

How does more gears means more power ? Cause my mountain bike has 20 gears

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 1
          • Toyota Basher Cry like Newborn Baby on Oct 29, 2018 at 9:15 am

This car sure to sell well and laku. Pity John, today crying so much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
          • Fully agreed! The flag bearer is back !!

• karam singh on Oct 28, 2018 at 11:04 pm

Its how its drive, not only looks.
          Looks sporty but handle like a boat, meh still an uncle car.
          Like the overpriced Toyota CHR, aggresive looking car & even won an award for its design but slow engine & handling ;(
          1.2l turbo 116hp only ? priced 185k ?

But thumbs up for better safety on this camry.

some advice for all driver, please stop lane hogging on right lane & be more alert on car behind you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
          • Ambrose on Oct 29, 2018 at 8:48 am

Looks sporty but handle like a boat? >>>
            Test drove in your dreams, unker. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • Please Don't Cry for me John on Oct 29, 2018 at 9:47 am

In Malaysia, we deserve better safety specs becaus ewe pay so much for our cars

• Karam Singh on Oct 29, 2018 at 10:44 am

Is going at 110 km/h o the fast lane considered lane hogging? Because under the law, you cannot go over 110, so technically 110 is the maximum speed that you can go anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 33
          • John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 29, 2018 at 11:39 am

Now Toyota sales in Malaysia is highe rthan Proton. Proton demise soon to happen. Geely will sell only their cars soon in Malaysia

• Yes it is on Oct 29, 2018 at 12:41 pm

“Is going at 110 km/h o the fast lane considered lane hogging?”

Yes, it is.

The right lane isn’t the fast lane nor is it the following the speed limit lane.

The right lane is the overtaking lane. Once you are done overtaking, get back to the left. The same goes for those on the middle lane.

The fact that you are on the any of the middle/right lanes while you are not overtaking, regardless of how fast you’re going, is bad ethics. In the UK you get fined for that, even in the middle lane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
        • Fordee on Oct 28, 2018 at 11:15 pm

Ranger 10AT.

• Bangbang on Oct 29, 2018 at 8:22 am

U must be the poor ford salesman Fordist who cant sell ford, then come here to toyota and promote ur ranger 10spd. U wanna become toyota salesman go ahead lor lols.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
          • Please Don't Cry for me John on Oct 29, 2018 at 9:49 am

I drive a 20 year old 4 speed car. I can tell you, comfort and quality of drive has nothing to do with number of gears.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • Albert wanks 8X on Oct 29, 2018 at 11:52 am

youre right about comfort & quality, but driveline refinement, fuel economy, and flexibility are functions of the drivetrain.
            A Polo 1.6 (105bhp/113lbs) with 6 speed AT is a far more flexible drive than an Altis with 1.8L engine and 4 speed AT combo. its more refined and sips fuel better because it’ll be able to cruise at speed wit lower Rpms.

• Jogho Kajang on Oct 29, 2018 at 1:28 am

Most likely not available here

• Toyota Basher Cry like Newborn Baby on Oct 29, 2018 at 9:17 am

This Camry will wipe out Accord completely. Pity DRB, bonus will be less this year. Pity John also, less bonus for his Proton plant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
          • Please Don't Cry for me John on Oct 29, 2018 at 9:31 am

This car looks so sexy. I will put deposit now!

• Autobahn on Oct 29, 2018 at 7:53 am

8speed if the engine has enough torque to pull the car…turbo or big cc engine ok…but for this small poweres 200nm engine…the car will not live to see the 8th gear it entire life

• Please Don't Cry for me John on Oct 29, 2018 at 9:50 am

We Malaysians want higher safety specs in our cars like more airbags and other important safety specs.

I think most people don’t care about gears. Look at BMW, so many gears but always breakdown

• Muhammad arshad bin mustapaha on Oct 30, 2018 at 9:55 am

Safety and fuel saving are current priority for most malaysian.. as we know.. toyota engine is efficient enough on fuel consumption.. FOR D SEGMEN.. yes.. mostly the buyers are rich enough (1st hand) and hey.. many gears (for faster drive) but look at malaysian mentalities.. hogging at right lane and ignore people behind.. do u think u can reach 8th gear? Haha

• Ahmad on Oct 29, 2018 at 12:31 pm

Same engine. HAHAHAHHAAHAHAH. But maybe they reserve for facelift? UMW profit again in. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA

• YB Albert Kunta on Oct 29, 2018 at 3:19 pm

THe only problem with Toyota cars is high pricing here,with skeleton specs.UMW…the market leader in super duper premium pricing.
        UMW,new PNB boss Tan Sri Zeti will understand if Toyota cars r sold cheaper.Dont be Pakatan halangan…be pakatan harapan,ok?

• Karam singh on Oct 28, 2018 at 10:35 pm

Umw missing the chance if they skipped 8AT.

• Toyota Basher Cry like Newborn Baby on Oct 29, 2018 at 9:16 am

I hope we get the new 8AT but to me, more or less gears does not matter.

• DPCraft on Oct 29, 2018 at 10:48 am

Rumor has it, the new 8-speed isn’t as quick shifting as outgoing 6-speed…a lot of disappointed acceleration test on new Camry despite having lot more power both updated v6 and new 2.5l

• I totally agree with you. Besides the new look, the drive train comes from the last generation. I was actually set to get the new camry once it comes onshore with the 8 speed auto and new 2.5 litre engine, as i was hesitant about the CVT and 1.5 turbo engine of the new Accord that is going to be launched in the near future. If the leaks are true, I’d rather wait for the new Accord then. UMW, you really treat Malaysians like third class customers despite us paying the most for your cars: USA gets V6 engine, Thailand gets new 2.5 NA engine, Malaysia gets old 2.5 NA engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
      • Disappointed on Oct 31, 2018 at 6:24 pm

No wonder UMW Toyota selling a lot less cars than Honda in Malaysia. Honda sells their latest technology whereas Toyota sells older technology. I will go for the new Accord too if UMW pairs the new Camry with older drive train and engine.

• It's not broken on Oct 28, 2018 at 1:27 pm

Nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
  • Sam “Hailat” Loo on Oct 28, 2018 at 1:34 pm

No hybrid…? Old techs again…? Obviously someone’s head in UMW needs to roll…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 44
    • Matchy on Oct 28, 2018 at 11:17 pm

6speed+NA matched the best in class, Mazda6.

• Wahahaha on Oct 29, 2018 at 9:08 am

Mazda itself has no 8speed option but they gave their best engine available.

Toyota on the other hand are giving you old engine stock instead of newer and available Dynamic Force Engine.

• Please Don't Cry for me John on Oct 29, 2018 at 9:53 am

UMW should give us latest engines and latest gearbox. After all, they charge so much for their cars.

I don’t know why Government GLC follow same attitude like the old Government…..always shortchanging the rakyat

• Please Don't Cry for me John on Oct 29, 2018 at 9:32 am

They scared to bring Hybrid in because with lower taxes, they must sell it for RM120k.

• Sohai (not ori) on Oct 28, 2018 at 1:42 pm

No Dynamic Force Engine, no buy and boycott, Malaysians continued to be ripped off..only incle can accept old engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 67
    • Neutral Guy on Oct 29, 2018 at 5:49 am

Friz spot on “An uncle’s car, this is definitely not”.

• Sgt Scoop on Oct 28, 2018 at 1:54 pm

They are holding back the new engine and gearbox because they believe that Malaysian uncles will buy this car no matter what. I hope the uncles give them a kick in the teeth. It’s a disgraceful way to treat your customers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 37
    • Philip on Oct 29, 2018 at 12:41 am

Everyone should boycott and stop buying Toyota until they bring in the latest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • Jasni on Oct 28, 2018 at 2:01 pm

(Like) Toyota Camry.
    (Dislike) Honda Accord

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 108
  • Nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
  • Nice car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
  • Same L0rr on Oct 28, 2018 at 2:03 pm

One word. Impressive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 28
  • shashi on Oct 28, 2018 at 2:03 pm

Nearly to Year End old model engine. Should give discount

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • ProTun X70 Dye Huck Feng on Oct 28, 2018 at 2:22 pm

This junk definitely smoked by incoming superb X70 turbo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 31
  • “This also means we will miss out on the latest 2.5 litre Dynamic Force Engine (208 PS/252 Nm) that is expected to be featured in the Thai-market Camry,”

Bashers, you have your point.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 1
  • BusDriver on Oct 28, 2018 at 2:57 pm

Tell Toyota to keep the old engines….why oh why does Toyota keep selling old tech to us Malaysian. Surely you guys at paultan.org can try to give some feedback to Toyota regarding what us Malaysians want and need.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 22
    • It’s call “Dumping Ground” and our Gov is keeping an eye closed.

• It’s UMW Toyota we are talking about here. Of course they will disappoint us in the Malaysian market with poor specs matched with lousy pricing. That’s all they have been doing all this while, no surprises there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 30
  • Mason on Oct 28, 2018 at 3:22 pm

At last it arriving in Malaysia after so long. the most promising, stylish Camry. Hope UMW Toyota will offer a reasonable package for this!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Meh. All the attention is now on X70. Wrong timing for Camry!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
  • The grill is too small, they should make it a little bigger

• Most likely they will wait until facelift before putting the Dynamic Force engine into the Camry’s heart.
    And NO… knowing UMW (not Toyota), the price wont be cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 28, 2018 at 3:29 pm

Malaysia’s best selling D segment car is now getting better. Wow, this is going to be a top seller. But I hope UMW don’t cheat us with pricing.

Camry CBU Hybrid in Australia only cost AUD27k (RM90k)

Our CKD Made in Malaysia Camry should be cheaper because it is using CKD parts. But it is sold for RM175k.

To make matters worse, they say the Hybrid is tax free. If tax free, it should be RM90k not RM175k.

Pls UMW, don’t cheat us like before. These are all bad habits brought about by the previous Government as UMW is fully a GLC and when UMW perah the rakyat, it means, the Government cheating the rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 16
    • Most people know the car is old in new skin. But still some people buy it willing to be cheated. What cheat?

• Toyota Bashers Crying like Baby on Oct 28, 2018 at 3:33 pm

All the Toyota bashers now will be hiding. Well, only one Toyota basher with 20 different dupes here la to be accurate.

Poor john, don’t know where to hide his face. Even his Perdana also lingkup with kosong sales and all Government orders only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
  • No Surprise Here on Oct 28, 2018 at 3:34 pm

Typical UMWT style. Stingy in technology but generous in TRD stickers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 51
  • Haiz... on Oct 28, 2018 at 3:40 pm

As usual…. given Malaysian outdated egine and gear box

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 20
  • Bye Bye John Dedak on Oct 28, 2018 at 3:52 pm

I think our resident anti Toyota troll today already got heart attack….lolz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • obviously on Oct 28, 2018 at 8:35 pm

Heart attack coz this is not car , it is a junk from jepunis museum

• Haidi on Oct 28, 2018 at 3:58 pm

If all of these leaked info are true, it is rather very very disappointing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Dylan Ch'ng on Oct 28, 2018 at 4:01 pm

Hopefully UMW has changed and doesn’t screw up the XV70.

• Same L0rr on Oct 28, 2018 at 4:04 pm

The real game changer. Ready to challenge accord & perdana easily. Good rv also!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
  • Sonyman on Oct 28, 2018 at 4:42 pm

Wow. Camry. Very high specs. Respect. Remember. 250k for the 2.5v and 160k for the 2.0g

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • as expected from UMW…we won’t get new engines

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Syamim on Oct 28, 2018 at 4:51 pm

To the resident basher : HAHAHAHAHAHAH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
  • Wendy on Oct 28, 2018 at 5:27 pm

Probably downgrade to 2 airbags and drum brakes haha.. Typical overpriced umw.. Waiting list will be almost a year.. All buy because rv haha so funny!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
  • Missing the dynamic force engine is just blowing the force off this new launch. Its utterly disappointing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • seancorr (Member) on Oct 29, 2018 at 2:30 pm

Yep GG they still using old engine when Thailand is way ahead of us. Even Apple decided to open the Apple store in Thailand instead of Malaysia.

• MOHAMAD AZRUL BIN AHMAD on Oct 28, 2018 at 6:04 pm

old engine & 4at inkambing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • cikgu tesl on Oct 28, 2018 at 6:07 pm

let’s see how greedy UMW will price this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 20
  • Roti celup eats john on Oct 28, 2018 at 6:48 pm

Unleash the new Accord, not this waste.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 25
  • Again, UMW is doing a great job to screw up yet another great product. I really can’t recall they have had any successful Toyota car launch for the past 5 years (or more). They always launch the cars with prohibitively high price while always offering minimal and outdated specs, compare to Toyota international launch (or to the least, comparison with Thai’s launch). No wonder Toyota continues to lose market share to Honda, Mazda, Nissan, amongst the foreign brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 7
  • heyheyman123 on Oct 28, 2018 at 7:06 pm

Better not to buy Honda Accord as Honda Accord have zero quality as well as Honda Service Quality Malaysia including Honda Assembly Quality in Malaysia is terrible too. As well as new Honda Accord design looks park design. Now, Honda Salesmen are also hiding another today

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 16
    • As a 2017 Honda Accord 2.4 VTIL owner, I 100% agree with you. Everyone should stay away from the sorry excuse of a car brand that has no build quality.

• Honda Owner on Oct 30, 2018 at 12:28 am

Honda is quality and better for money! You should hide ur face behind camry tail! Continue to support lousy Toyota that made by UMW. Cheating ppl with less spec/tech with higher price

• Ah beng Level 2 on Oct 28, 2018 at 7:50 pm

Same bloody story with Altis, by the time theu give 7 airbags and DRL to 1.8 Facelift version, it already too late coz destroyed by new Civic..even uncle will be pissed off

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 46
  • TheJac on Oct 28, 2018 at 8:54 pm

When are they coming up with a 1JZ or 2JZ equivalent?! :)

• tkhengong on Oct 28, 2018 at 9:09 pm

I guess new tech engines would require training the technicians and re-tooling, so it takes time to introduce here. Not taking sides with UMW-Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • byron on Oct 28, 2018 at 10:06 pm

yeah for toyo, but why not the DNF engine and btw, what is Honda’s problem selling old cars (a year old) and not being ready for the toyo launch, talk about shooting themselves in the foot, where is the 2.0T that has been available all year for US peeps?

man this is just backward…

• Kumar on Oct 28, 2018 at 11:50 pm

Absolutely disgraceful decision if they use the old engine.. Malaysians deserve better..no respect….Toyota always lessen the specs compared to other same segment car..now they lessen the engine…hopeless…wander why Honda is top in Malaysia

• Ex TCH User on Oct 29, 2018 at 1:00 am

The TCH was a result of dropping sales. So, if you want new stuff, just make sure you dont pay for those monkeys salary from those monkey products they are selling. Then monkeys know what to do..

• Ex TCH User on Oct 29, 2018 at 1:14 am

You think Toyota has it? They are still trying to milk Malaysians by selling crap specs products. Now all of their retail outlets are outsourced meaning they can shift the blame to dealers not doing their job in selling their products. And with the quota system in place, every dealers just have to buy in crap products n stock up their stockyard trying to wait for buyer. Then UMW will ramp up their specs when nobody buys and in doing so, huge dents tp those early adoption owners RV. The same things continue all over again in recent UMW style of selling products.

• Jazz Khoo on Oct 29, 2018 at 2:06 am

oh no, why still old engine!! actually i want to book.. but it’s old engine… i think need to change other’s car

• Already expected a UMW TOYOTA will give unfavorable specifications (older engine, less amenities) yet unfair (pricing) to us, largely blindfolded loyalist to certain brand.

Another repeating story of this GLCs like the previous attitude in pricing and specifications of CH-R (more expensive BUT fewer specs than Thai’s). They got no reason BUT their typical attitude. Remember when they omitted VSC for current Camry model when they first introduced in 2012.

Boycott and ignored this Camry, they’ll changed the specs.

Stop buying will help us to get better specs and pricing.

• Please Don't Cry for me John on Oct 29, 2018 at 9:33 am

What do you expect? GLCs are made up of lazy people who like to lepak

• TheDean on Oct 29, 2018 at 8:24 am

Old engine. Even Mazda improves theirs on every iteration.

• Wahahaha on Oct 29, 2018 at 9:16 am

Many will still buy this semi-junk. Just look at CH-R it is everywhere!

• CH-R didn’t exist everywhere, the popularity rate less than HR-V.

• Wahahaha on Oct 29, 2018 at 11:24 am

Considering its price point at 145-150k. I still see them everyday on the road.

• Coz many including u can not afford? Just saying.

• can check the monthly sale volume between Honda and Toyota, Honda avg 9000 plus vs Toyota avg 4000 plus.
          Sure HR-V more than pricey CH-R.

• ya, i cannot afford bcos already won 140k car.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 29, 2018 at 9:34 am

no uncle looks but uncle engine

• Early this year i was shopping for the D segment car, i went to sales center Toyota &Honda and have a look for Camry&Accord. Finally i bought Accord due to Honda Sensing. I have to admit the Accord have so-so assembly quality compare to others but i have no choice because at that time there are no car have safety feature like Honda sensing(ACC, line keeping assist etc). So far honestly i am happy with my car-i travel a lot long distance and i fell relax and comfortable due safety assisted and Adaptive cruise control feature. I am not regret and i like to share this to all-my advise get the car that suit you and make your journey comfortable and relaxing. Now Toyota also have Toyota safety sense. But it is to late for me but i am not regret either because my car already have this feature a long time ago. IMHO. Tq.

• Wahahaha on Oct 29, 2018 at 11:13 am

Mazda6 has safety sense.

• Meanwhile, ETCM product planners are still asleep/in a coma and have no idea the local Teana has yet to be facelifted (the US version had seen it in 2015!!!). I bet they think Gangnam Style is still a trendy music video.

• Basher says TC sleeping & losing sales means they r hardworking and doing gud job.

• It’d be stupid to say u regret buying it. I guess the cheaper pricing on Honda attracted u more than anything else. U get the sensing, but u lost the fuel economy of hybrid and stuck with Accord’s old engine. And did u know Camry also have safety features that Accord doesn’t? Even BMW and Merc go for hybrid these days, if hybrid doesn’t convince u.

• Honda’s 1.5 turbo engine makes 195 bhp/245nm of torque and propels the heavy cr-v to 100km/h in 8.8 seconds

roadtax Rm 100 compared to camry’s 2.5 which is rm874

the new accord might be the preferred choice once it lands on our shores

• stastasta on Oct 30, 2018 at 11:21 am

turbine is a wear and tear item, within 5-8 years you will need to change it. turbocharger plus hoses plus labour will cost you maybe RM5k . there goes your roadtax savings.

• Guess the second hand camry is a better choice.

• Still an uncke”s car

• Summa Cum Laudez on Oct 29, 2018 at 12:35 pm

About time we get a new launch of something not SUV

Tired of all these SUVs being launched and marketed

• Kogulakannan Rama linggam on Oct 29, 2018 at 2:24 pm

Why do Malaysia customer get the outdated or ongoing engine and transmission whereas our neighbour country gets the latest. Not only this time but it happens always with Toyota.

• Kemari on Oct 29, 2018 at 2:31 pm

Already drove the Australian Camry. Not a responsive car. Always hunting gear when immediate acceleration needed. Ended using adaptive cruise control most of the time.

But as i known the car only using RON 91 fuel by the car rental company in Aussie (Full tank included). Not sure if using RON 98 there will be any major changes.

• Yawnnn….zzz…same engine & transmission & stick body kit like ah beng car ….

• Mario and Bros on Oct 29, 2018 at 2:39 pm

For those who downvotes for good comments about Toyota and upvotes for bad comments about Toyota. Must be from Honda Salesmen. Always don’t care about Toyota, Proton and other carmakers

• No new engine, no buy.

• Don’t get too excited. Not only got old engines but standy for “missing dashboard head unit” & replaced with the aftermarket 2 din UMW head unit.

• paparadzi (Member) on Oct 29, 2018 at 3:45 pm

2.5 engine is still 2.5 engine. Old, new, hybrid, NA, turbo or whatever, still have to pay the same high road tax.

• Wahahaha on Oct 29, 2018 at 6:17 pm

Yes still 2.5 engine with same roadtax but old comes with poor fc and less power/torque, new comes with better fc and more power/torque.

Which one would you prefer?

• stastasta on Oct 30, 2018 at 11:22 am

turbocharger is a wear and tear item, within 5-8 years you will need to change it. turbine plus hoses plus labour will cost you maybe RM5k . there goes your roadtax savings.

• contilover on Oct 31, 2018 at 5:41 pm

Go and try conti turbo cars, it accelerates wayyyy better than any japs

• Dzulkarnaen Mohamad on Oct 29, 2018 at 9:01 pm

Not excited if the same old engine used. Why not 2 litre turbo engine same as harrier.

• stastasta on Oct 30, 2018 at 11:23 am

harrier costs rm260k, stupid comparison. if camry with 2.0 turbo costs above RM200k , will you buy ?

• @ Hafriz Shah
    It’s a leaked memo from the social media.
    The social media contains fake news as well.
    Nothing is official till the launch day.

• Clown on Oct 30, 2018 at 8:37 am

Today you buy…next they bring in the latest engine…kena lagi…

• Steven Low on Oct 30, 2018 at 9:44 pm

New Camry will be assemble in Thailand not Malaysia.

• Mister on Oct 30, 2018 at 10:29 pm

I have seen the sales presentation. It is confirmed that the engine is the old 6 -speed version (2AR-FE), not the latest 8-speed Dynamic Force which was just released in Thailand. I myself am quite disappointed. I have originally planned to purchase the 2.5L version, but now my plan is on hold. Does Toyota Malaysia/UMW take locals for fools?

• Simon on Oct 31, 2018 at 4:46 pm

Same old engine as usual, only catering to the uncle market!! Tired of the UNCLE management in Toyota Malaysia taking us for a ride with old engine!! We may be interested in the 2.5 model ONLY if price is below RM 180K, but if higher, it’s NO GO as we have far better options: Mazda, BMW, Infinity & perhaps Honda.

• Ashroff Karim on Nov 13, 2018 at 6:59 pm

UMW Chairman.pls wake up
    I hve bn a camry owner eversince 2008.but this 2017 X model really sucks compared to the previous one .year 2008.
    The airconditioning is biasa biasa.no ioniser.sound system player screen touch is not friendly user.side mirrors does not retract auto compared to new pesona.shock absorbers and seats are like for Hino stage buses.
    So please consider some better quality stuffs for owners rather than shouting tilam baru ..ping ping .tilam baru.current owner 2.0 g X