UMW Toyota Motor transfers operations of 3S outlets in Prai and Penang to Japan-based Netz Toyota Tama

UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has announced that its two 3S outlets in Penang and Prai have been transferred to a foreign partner, Netz Toyota Tama, effective from today (November 1). The move comes following an earlier decision by UMWT to transfer the majority of its retail operations to its dealers and other relevant parties.

Netz Toyota Tama’s history with the Japanese marque stretches almost 60 years, with 29 outlets throughout Tokyo operating in the Toyota Netz sales channel that focuses on younger buyers. Meanwhile, the company has another 33 outlets for the Corolla sales channel in the western part of Tokyo.

With the transfer, S&D Tama Malaysia, the locally incorporated arm of Netz Toyota Tama, will replace UMWT in the operations of the existing Prai and Penang dealerships. Both outlets have a combined annual sales volume of around 2,000 units, and services up to 50,000 cars per year. The outlets will be backed by a staff of 140 personnel.

“A year ago, we announced that our retail operations would be transferred to dealers to increase the focus on operations and customer care, while UMW Toyota Motor would concentrate on high value-added activities such as product development, marketing and dealer network support. As of today, the majority of our existing branches have been transferred,” said Ravindran Kurusamy, president of UMW Toyota Motor.

“We are honoured and welcome S&D Tama Malaysia to the Toyota network in Malaysia. They bring with them nearly 60 years of experience in serving Toyota customers and are well known as a top dealer for customer satisfaction in Japan. It is our expectation to S&D Tama to be able to delight our Malaysian customers,” commented Akio Takeyama, deputy chairman of UMW Toyota Motor.

“Since our establishment in 1960, our company in Japan has always strived to serve our customers and provide convenience for people. We believe that the Toyota business in the Malaysian market has a bright future and we would like to contribute to the growth of the business,” added Katsuhiko Tamura, president of S&D Tama Malaysia.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Sohai (not ori) on Nov 01, 2018 at 7:47 pm

How about transferring out the UMW team and management esp those who decided to bring old engine wihtout DynamicForce and crazy Rm190k price??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 61
    • UMW Greedy on Nov 01, 2018 at 10:19 pm

Yes agreed. Throw all those greedy management to lubang najis. They think most Malaysian stupid? Selling old engine, rubbish spec with very high price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 23
      • GLC43 on Nov 02, 2018 at 9:24 am

Camry facelift with DynamicForce engine . Good things come to those who wait.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 16
        • Haidi on Nov 02, 2018 at 10:37 am

Wait? Wait again?! We Malaysian is like a fool to Toyota I think.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
        • seancorr (Member) on Nov 02, 2018 at 11:47 am

Lol your comment is senseless. Why? Coz when other people get their goodies you think it’s worth to wait for it when there is no confirmation on whether you will get it AND you like to play second fiddle to the rest. People like you are why we as a nation cannot progress. Always like to tunggu until you go 6ft under.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
          • shuck on Nov 02, 2018 at 10:35 pm

Reading your comment making pipu think you cannot afford more than a used vios

• memang sohai on Nov 01, 2018 at 10:53 pm

hey sohai…PNB own 50% while EPF own 20% of UMW… the only biggest private shareholder only own 3% of UMW. Basically UMW just a GLC which doesn’t care about you rather than milking more and more profit to pay dividend to shareholder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
      • theanswer on Nov 02, 2018 at 8:29 am

yep i agree. i dont get it why people think that Toyota Jap care about our spec. the fact that they let umw decide and still making money (still top 3 brand in my)..why should they care?

• Where is Anti Toyota John? on Nov 02, 2018 at 8:55 am

I agree. Sack all the abang abang in UMW and bring in cheaper Camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Well the onus is on us to ‘teach’ the fat cats in UMW, by not buying their overpriced cars. Malaysian car buying public are discerning and we’ll informed… So we know their undercutting and profiteering acts…

• Haidi on Nov 02, 2018 at 10:42 am

Really wish that the Japs can have more control and responsible for the Toyota’s local market. The current distributor is just keep on tarnishing the brand’s name, heartbreaking.

• tkhengong on Nov 02, 2018 at 11:12 am

I see a positive move in this. I am certain Netz Toyota Tama will be able to dictate terms to UMW and able to bring in the latest Toyota tech to Malaysia.

• This is just for aftersales servis, they cannot dictate what spec to bring in. And if Toyota Jepun can still make money out of old outdated dinosar tech from their museum, do u think they care?

Boycott Toyota, dun buy Toyotas and let their salesmen come here rant is the best way to teach that Jepunis lord not to take MY for granted.

• old dog on Nov 02, 2018 at 5:04 pm

beginning of the end of UMWT…Toyo back in power

• Janji ada resale value