Volkswagen Polo Black & White launched in Malaysia – only available through Lazada on Nov 11; RM68,488

Following the launch of the Volkswagen ‘JOIN’ editions of the Polo, Vento, Tiguan and Passat, Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) has collaborated with Lazada again for the new Polo Black & White.

Limited to only 11 units, the special edition model will be available exclusively on Lazada in conjunction with the company’s annual 11.11 Shopping Festival on November 11, 2018. The Polo Black & White is priced at RM68,488 on-the-road without insurance, and the price also includes added accessories worth RM7,500.

Furthermore, official bank partner Hong Leong Bank will be offering a special interest rate of 1.11% per annum for a five-year loan as part of the deal. To make a booking, you’ll need to fork out an initial fee of RM799, which can be made via Lazada Wallet, credit card or online banking, after which a Volkswagen representative will contact you for further arrangements.

What you’ll be getting with the Polo Black & White is a vehicle based on the existing Polo 1.6 Comfortline Vienna (priced at RM74,990), so a 1.6 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol (105 PS/153 Nm) drives the front wheels via a six-speed automatic transmission with Tiptronic.

As the name clearly suggests, the special edition Polo follows a specific theme, with Candy White being the primary and only body colour available. This is accompanied by black touches, including on the rear spoiler, side mouldings, 15-inch ‘Riverside’ alloy wheels and side mirror caps. You’ll also get VW tinting for the money, while the black leather seats and R340G head unit with App-Connect are already standard on the car it is based on.

“A consumer’s purchasing journey have evolved so much in the past recent years, and we are pleased to have played a part in changing perceptions to the point where purchasing a car is now the new norm. This is evident with the success with our collaborations with Lazada for the 12.12. Beetle and the recent JOIN range. Convenience aside, this also tells us that consumers are online – reading, researching and looking for the best deals. And that is where Volkswagen will be,” said Erik Winter, managing director of VPCM.

“As Malaysia’s leading e-commerce platform, Lazada has evolved beyond being just an online shopping platform and has transformed into a lifestyle destination. Our continued partnership with Volkswagen is proof of changing consumer behaviour, and we look forward to offering our customers the biggest and best Lazada shopping experience through this exclusive collaboration,” added Christophe Lejeune, CEO of Lazada Malaysia.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Turboman on Nov 08, 2018 at 6:05 pm

That 1.6NA and 6speeder auto tranny best reliable VW pairing

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 09, 2018 at 10:21 am

Better for Proton also to sell their cars on Lazada too since sales are so bad. In 2010, sales 200,000. now, sales only 50,000.

Better open account in Lazada, Shopee, 11 Street and sell your cars pls Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • X70 got 10,000 bookings not enough sales. How many bookings does your new ancient Camry has?

• orangMiskinNakConti on Nov 09, 2018 at 11:15 am

but too bad it is 1.6, not eligible for fuel subsidy

• Mario and Bros on Nov 09, 2018 at 12:38 pm

VW got no RV. Better I buy Jepunis like Toyota, Honda or Nissan which got RV

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 08, 2018 at 6:32 pm

Final edition before the new Polo arrives.

• azeem on Nov 09, 2018 at 9:58 am

but better buy Proton X70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • Steven Kwong on Nov 09, 2018 at 10:31 am

X70 is made by China. China car can be trusted unlike our junk Protons.

• notakata on Nov 09, 2018 at 2:51 pm

Takata airbags cannot be trusted too

• Safety First on Nov 09, 2018 at 3:45 pm

China cars certainly can be trusted as compared to unsafe untrustworthy Japanese cars. Japanese cars no safety, no buy!

• Ah beng Level 2 on Nov 08, 2018 at 6:41 pm

Clear old stoks …remeber the Hyundai Elantra Barcode edition 999 cars offered

• uncensored on Nov 08, 2018 at 6:43 pm

wtf is wrong with vw malaysia? where is the new polo??

• Dylan Ch'ng on Nov 08, 2018 at 6:47 pm

I give up. What the actual [bleep] is wrong with the Malaysian automotive industry. Singapore so much better. They got Skoda, competitive Hyundai, competitive Volkswagen etc etc. Malaysia got no Skoda, lackluster Hyundai, lackluster Volkswagen etc etc

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 09, 2018 at 9:42 am

cause in Malaysia, 60 yrs we have been Protecting Proton. So, no other new brands could come in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
      • What brand are you talking about? Hyundai is here, VW is here, Skoda was here but not many takers. Can you stop daydreaming while you type?

• Bob Vettel on Nov 09, 2018 at 6:02 pm

You want to know what’s wrong with the Malaysian automotive industry? Malaysian car buyers. Keep worshipping the altar of the Jepunis evethough their cars are crap!

Since Malaysian car buyers keep buying the Jepunis, how can other carmakers survive? Take for example Renault – I own one and the car is great. But nobody bought it, simply because it’s a Renault.

• RejimKejamGanas on Nov 10, 2018 at 8:45 am

As long as the Japs top the local reliability ranking, that is what Malaysians will buy. Not everyone can afford frequent visits to a SC or buy overpriced parts that are less durable. Malaysians also tend to hang on to their vehicles far longer than most other countries, so reliability is top on their list.

Btw, French cars are crap, including the likes of Peugeot and Renault. If they are already too lazy to do proper RHD to LHD conversion, why should anyone buy their unreliable pieces of crap?

• Stock clearance

• Same L0rr on Nov 08, 2018 at 8:23 pm

Oh my! Far better than iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 09, 2018 at 9:36 am

In Europe, no car will be allowed to be sold with 2 airbags and no VSC. Infact, VSC was compulsory in all cars in the whole of Europe now 12 years already.

In Malaysia, becaus eof 60 yrs of corruption, we did not have a Government who will by law, instruct car companies to give us higher safety spec cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
      • Wow! This person managed to ignore the fact that Iriz came with ESC & 6 airbags way long time ago.
        Did you just woken up or something? Dude, stop sleeping ya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 22
        • John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 09, 2018 at 10:23 am

We are talking about VW here. We have let Malaysia be a dumping ground for their cars because the same Polo in Europe got to have VSC and higher spec.

Pls learn to read and understand context.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
          • albert dupe on Nov 09, 2018 at 2:56 pm

As usual dupes talking to each other. Confirm showroom empty

• [we did not have a Government who will by law, instruct car companies to give us higher safety spec cars]
            Who wrote this? Are you stupidly ignoring that Iriz with top range exist for a long time now? Does the Polo here have such safety features?

• Graduan Mara on Nov 09, 2018 at 10:27 am

Is Iriz sold in Europe?

• Agree with Peta! Why such a big company like Volkswagen need to be instructed so they will give better safety features, if even a small local make like Proton can equipped their Iriz with decent safety? Leave the market to make their choice and they have responded well by buying more Iriz compared to kosong spec Polo.

• Safety First on Nov 09, 2018 at 9:45 am

With no ESC & only 2 airbags? No safety, no buy!

• In India the Polo doesn’t even have airbags

• Amran on Nov 09, 2018 at 8:09 am

I want 1. Better top up a few price of Iriz & get this Polo. Tidak pening2 kepala. Minyak jimat servis murah

• dsgsux on Nov 09, 2018 at 2:53 pm

Lol wait until you go to SC with ‘great’ after sales service

• Nazri on Nov 09, 2018 at 8:13 am

The new gen polo already launched worldwide for 2 years already and msia still selling the old generation

• RM70K car with no VSC and only 2 airbags. Wait till January, clearance goes for RM60K only.

• By launching this, it clearly shows we are a third world country…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • autodriver (Member) on Nov 09, 2018 at 11:36 am

WTH is this VPCM thinking by using Lazada to sell car and yet it was consider obsolete product. If I were the boss of this VW whoever come out with this idea I will first kick their ass and fire them.

Obsolete product just sold it off in huge discount and discontinue it. VW have to seriously think of new way to attracting buyer rather than doing this kind of strategy make people laughing at you.

• morganfreeus on Nov 11, 2018 at 1:19 am

you still don’t know? because the world looks as us as a laughing stock, especially with all the news going around. they’ll even think that we’re foolish enough to buy an extremely obsolete product because, at the end of the day, there will be takers.

• autodriver (Member) on Nov 09, 2018 at 11:40 am

Btw VPCM should prepare well the strategy, very soon VW will become affordable as the new Camry and Teana are going to sell in ceiling price in Malaysia market. Means future models of these Japanese cars may go higher than VW. VPCM should grab this golden opportunity to re-gain your image and grow sales. people angry with you mainly because of the after sales service and product reliability. Technology and powertrain wise you guys was way ahead of Japanese cars, you guys should have done better in msia market.

• benzs on Nov 09, 2018 at 12:31 pm

WOW! Cheap price ever by VW. But next year January 2019 is going to depreciate again. So wait first. Now its year end, everyone who wish to buy ride, just wait next month or Jan 2019. It will be crazy clearance sales.

• Ben Yap on Nov 09, 2018 at 2:34 pm

buy car in lazada spoils the brand image. it’s like buying discounted clothes only.