Perodua hits 500,000 EEV milestone – 344,000 Axias, 130,800 Bezzas and 75,800 Myvis produced

Perodua has achieved a significant milestone with over 500,000 Energy-Efficient Vehicles (EEV) produced and sold in Malaysia. The landmark figure firmly cements the automaker as the country’s top EEV company.

Perodua president and CEO, Datuk Dr Aminar Rashid Salleh said: “Our EEV journey began in 2014 with the Axia, the nation’s first EEV and our first Transformation model. We followed up just two years later with the Bezza, our first EEV sedan and then the new Myvi in 2017. I am proud but humbled to announce that since their respective launches, 342,600 Axias, 130,000 Bezzas and over 75,000 new Myvis have found homes in Malaysia to date.”

Since the EEV classification was introduced in the 2014 National Automotive Policy (NAP 2014), over 344,000 Axias, 130,800 Bezzas and 75,800 new Myvis have rolled off the production lines at Sungai Choh.

To qualify for EEV status, a vehicle must meet or surpass a set fuel economy figure (measured according to the UNECE R101 standard) for its kerb weight. The Axia, Bezza and new Myvi all have rated fuel efficiencies of over 20 kilometres per litre.

And it’s not just the products – the Perodua Global Manufacturing Sdn Bhd facility, which manufactures the Axia and Bezza, is also Malaysia’s first EEV-certified plant, incorporating energy-efficient technologies to reduce production emissions and set new standards in quality, cost management and delivery.

“The frugality of our vehicles contributes to very low running costs, as well as being in line with the government’s aspirations towards a cleaner and greener Malaysia, and the global trend towards more fuel-efficient cars. Most crucially, the vehicles themselves are within reach of most Malaysians,” Datuk Dr Aminar said.

“These combine with the Perodua hallmarks of high quality, reliability, practicality, ease to drive and the biggest service network in the country to provide a great-value mobility package that is perfectly suited to Malaysians from all walks of life.”

“To all Malaysians, thank you very much for making Perodua your brand of choice. Your unwavering support throughout the 25 years we have been operating encourages and motivates us to do better for you. After all, we are a People First company first and foremost,” he added.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• yawnz on Nov 13, 2018 at 10:04 am

As the number suggests, pipu buy P2 coz it is cheap not because it is good. No wonder Axia is the best seller

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 15
    • AminR on Nov 13, 2018 at 10:12 am

Energy efficient P2 in line with the government’s aspirations towards a cleaner and greener Malaysia.

• John Baoteng on Nov 13, 2018 at 11:45 am

So sad Proton X70 not qualified for RON95 subsidy 30 cents.

• Avenger on Nov 13, 2018 at 4:29 pm

X70 target market is the upper M40 which not qualify for subsidy anyways.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 13, 2018 at 10:28 am

Don’t worry brader, 30 million people got confidence in the car and its safety. I rather listen to 30 million people than 1 keyboard warrior.

In 6 months alone, Perodua sold 80,000 Myvis compared to Proton selling only 2000 Iriz.

80,000 Myvis vs 2000 Iriz

Big big difference.

You can putar belit all you want, sales figures show what Malaysians want and trust as a safe car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
      • Tun F on Nov 13, 2018 at 11:44 am

75,000 and 80,000 are a different numbers dude…. Don’t be a butt kisser

• But but but Myvi no HPF, imagine if collides with Iriz

• Abesla on Nov 13, 2018 at 4:30 pm

Iriz passengers walksout scratch free while Myvi passengers early KO lo. Abesla Myvi!

• AkooIm on Nov 13, 2018 at 5:54 pm

Dont worry la bro… the chances a myvi got crashed with iriz are slim since not so many iriz on the road nowadays… lol…

• abesla on Nov 13, 2018 at 10:57 pm

You forgot newer P1 like preve also got HPF, X70 even more solid!

Abesla!

• Call be by your name on Nov 13, 2018 at 10:27 pm

To start with, without the tax, perodua are nothing compares to other brands

• Nautica hanya dpt jumlah jualan 4096 unit shj.

• Proton oh Proton on Nov 13, 2018 at 10:33 am

Don’t worry Proton sales also gonna be good now they got a foreign CEO who knows how to work hard.

Proton is going to do well from now on because foreign CEO is not like local CEO, he has brains and he knows how to direct his ship to greater profits

• Adam Malik on Nov 13, 2018 at 10:39 am

ha ha ha, today Perodua basher john is hiding. Malu mahu tunjuk muka.

Everybody trust Perodua because it uses a Toyota Vios engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
      • Kirior on Nov 13, 2018 at 3:24 pm

Perodua use toyota engine?? It’s different at all. Of coz toyota engine are more quality than toyota-perodua version engine. My vios engine are different than the new myvi engine. Aiyoo.. please read lah. Don’t be a fool citizen

• Why I buy Myvi? on Nov 13, 2018 at 10:44 am

2018 Perodua Myvi RM55k
      2018 Proton Iriz RM55k

2 years later I want to sell…
      2020 Perodua Myvi RM45k
      2020 Proton Iriz RM25k

Every Proton owner gets a shock when they want to sell their cars 2 or 3 years later and the bank asks them to top up their loans by few thousand ringgit.

They ask themselves this question, “What have I been paying the past 48 months????,”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
      • myviva on Nov 13, 2018 at 12:33 pm

Liar, can get used 2 years old myvi with 20k on mudah.

• Sam 'Ohwai' Loo on Nov 13, 2018 at 9:58 pm

RM20k for 2 yrs myvi – perhaps it’s 1.3G variant with seriously lacking features, not even ABS brakes equipped

• English Teacher on Nov 13, 2018 at 4:31 pm

Work harder or drive a Myvi, think smarter and buy an Iriz.

• 2016 Myvi 1.5 RM35k
        2016 Iriz 1.6 RM30k

• 2016 PERODUA MYVI ADVANCE HATCHBACK 1495CC Market Value RM 36,300, Original Price RM 57,968
        2016 PROTON IRIZ EXECUTIVE HATCHBACK 1597CC Market Value RM 31,300, Original Price RM 56,530
        After you sell the car still need top up few thousand ringgit.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 13, 2018 at 2:13 pm

So what is wrong in making a car that people actually want to buy?

While it could be said that the Axia is a tin can, it undoubtedly IS basic entry level motoring and an alternative to a motorbike.

I am quite impressed with the Myvi 1.5 Advance, especially with all the safety gear. Despite it being more expensive than the 1.3 Myvi, it is outselling its cheaper sibling. So its not the “cheap” part that sells, it is making and pricing something reasonable that people want to buy or can afford.

Don’t forget, Proton also makes the Saga that sells at LESS than the Myvi, and despite our local markets affinity to sedans, how many Saga’s did Proton shift?

• Macam Modenas pun jual banyak, jadi peminat kata kualiti byk bagus dan jimat minyak

• Malaysian Proud on Nov 13, 2018 at 10:05 am

Volvo and Audi shall employ Perodua CEO to at least help their sales to hit 100 vehicle per month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Congrats on selling 500k deathtraps. This is not a car but a population reduction device.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
    • Agree with you bro m!

• Carlover on Nov 13, 2018 at 11:54 am

Death traptrap?, no matter what brand, if u hit by a lorry or high speed impact, chances to survive if pretty slim, just pray to God will save us. Drive carefully and follow speed limit. Thats it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Engineer on Nov 13, 2018 at 4:43 pm

Proton’s HPF passenger cell saves lifes in those kinda situation. Try doing that in a Myvi, sure confirm all inside totally gone. Have you heard of any serious deaths from an Iriz accident as compared to the numerous fatalities inside a Myvis?

• Anonymous on Nov 15, 2018 at 10:24 am

Every week, at least 2-3 peroduas turned turtle near my home in subang jaya.. Other brands are very difficult to find one.. Yeah.. Deathtraps..

• Sparcov on Nov 13, 2018 at 12:49 pm

Agree. 5star NCAP deathtraps lol

• Mohd. Adnan on Nov 13, 2018 at 4:33 pm

But someone here mentioned ASEANNCAP cannot be trusted unlike orang puteh NCAPs like EURONCAP & ANCAP.

• Same Lar on Nov 13, 2018 at 10:33 am

So many of the EEV sold, have no VSC. Passenger safety is less important than fuel consumption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • Hafiz on Nov 13, 2018 at 12:36 pm

fyi bezza av & myvi all variant already got vsc and also more advance ASA sensor. For a below 60k car with this technology, only p2 can realize it.

• Brian on Nov 13, 2018 at 4:34 pm

ASA only works up to 30kmph. At that speeds, I can brake faster than ASA can activate. Useless feature as compared to having 6 airbags.

• Fyi, only higher spec got those things as u mentioned, the others models dun hv!

• Hafiz on Nov 14, 2018 at 10:35 am

Myvi 1.5 also got 6 airbags. Yes ASA for full spec only, still at only 56k OTR. U can argue whatever u want, but u cant change the sales figure.
      *next year perodua ASA 2.0 can detect at a speed 80km/h

• Mr. Octopus on Nov 13, 2018 at 10:33 am

“To all Malaysians, thank you very much for making Perodua your brand of choice. Your unwavering support throughout the 25 years we have been operating encourages and motivates us to do better for you. After all, we are a People First company first and foremost,”

Perodua is the brand of choice because there is no other choice lol….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • Muhd Latiff Ibrahim on Nov 13, 2018 at 10:37 am

Perodua sales 200,000

Proton sales 50,000 (with 90% ordered by non public. Government Departments and Ministries orer as a sedekah to help Proton)

So, you can see which is a better car. Go to Perodua forums, you see only praises and good comments. Go to Proton forums, you see so many complains.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • Go P1 forums, can still see them alive and commenting. Go to P2 forums, can see so many permanently gone forever.

• Sam 'Ohwai' Loo on Nov 13, 2018 at 10:06 pm

Of perhaps their ‘beloved’ cars already burned down halfway OTR or car engine condemned until bad and nasty smell came out due to unnoticeable overheating, because of NO TEMPERATURE GAUGE and their blue/red idiot light are looks too crappy and absolutely useless.

• nosushi on Nov 13, 2018 at 12:34 pm

Popular dun mean good

• lilytan on Nov 13, 2018 at 10:42 am

All national auto companies should be like perodua. They operate quietly without much fanfare and gov interference. Yet they are doing really well via private initiatives. I see proton are heading that way too thanks to the wisdom of previous gov but as for protiga, with big daddy as its patron, i see another patronage scheme in the making.

• benzs on Nov 13, 2018 at 10:53 am

People buy Perodua for 3 major concern. 1) Reliable 2) Fuel Economy 3) Day2Day basis with no hassle due to small size. Why buy Perodua? Monthly repayment is cheaper and all we need is a car with 4 wheel on it. After 3-5 years sell it and buy another Perodua. U only suffer minor depreciation while exp car suffer most. Wait until you reach at the age of retirement and wish to get a better car. Then choose wisely and use it until the day of Heaven. While you are young, invest in property and use economy car. If your car is not in good shape, sell it and buy another economy car. That’s how we could save money for our future. Save young and retire young.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
    • Sensible comment. Congrats to PERODUA. My family we have 2 PERODUA’s cheap and fuel economical, easy to park for town use lah

• “until the day of Heaven”
      To bad these day comes so fast when in a P2. No wonder theres no complains. Nobody survived to complain!

• basherlogic on Nov 13, 2018 at 12:37 pm

But according to basher, pipu buy expensip cars to show villagers they have made it in city

• Fuel economy???!!! My honda jazz are more fuel efficient than those myvi..hahaha. Myvi are makan minyak kuat lah..

• Jurier on Nov 13, 2018 at 3:19 pm

Fuel efficient???? Even my honda jazz are more fuel efficient than those myvi..hahaha. Myvi are more makan minyak lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Ben Yap on Nov 13, 2018 at 11:26 am

these are mostly the B40 and M40 group that buy the 500,000 cars from P2.

I’m in the T20 segment and i get a civic tubo instead.

• AkooIm on Nov 13, 2018 at 11:31 am

The malaysian auto indusrty is like tv3 7pm malay drama…

P2 is a son that is always taken for granted, being half japanese from unblessed marriage means that he’s not getting the fortune from his Atok. But he has proved his worthwile, with good attitude he become successfull, and silently help & supports his family…

P1 is the most the most cherished daughter but problematic. Being a first born she gets the most attentions from her Atok, everything that she want she will sure get, despite numerous problems she caused before. She’s also a player, changing partners & got used by her boyfriends often, in which her Atok will always come to help and support her after that… Her latest boyfriend is a wealthy Chinese, who looks genuinely honest to her, but some of his fishy actions gots the attention from Atok, which in turn warns P1 she will not getting anymore help from him from now on… her chinese boyfriend now supports her, but his actions keeps the viewers puzzled… will she finally changed & become successfull…? Or will she continues to be used by her boyfriend like before…?

In a twist of fate, the Atok suddenly announced that both P1 & P2 got a brother, that will appear when the time come…

Jeng jeng jeng…….

• michelin on Nov 13, 2018 at 11:43 am

First hand experience with my all new 2018 Myvi. Just settled my claim for new gearbox, transaxle components failure. SC said mine was the 2nd case at their centre, not sure how many cases nationwide. FYI, this is my first Perodua. Had bad experience with my 2008 Proton Persona previously, hence wanted to try Perodua. Hmmm, not a very decision I guess.

• Tak ada org percaya awak

• That Persona ensured u survived to make the switch to P2. But in P2, u might not stay here long enuff to switch back. Sell of that unsafe car and go for proven safety P1.

• lilytan on Nov 14, 2018 at 11:16 am

If u think perodua is as reliable as japanese mark cuz its related to toyota and daihatsu then forget it. Perodua is a car for developing market like Msia. No way it will be as good as 1st world cars like in japan. The japs know we want cheap car first, feature second and quality third so they give us one.

• michelin on Nov 13, 2018 at 11:43 am

First hand experience with my all new 2018 Myvi. Just settled my claim for new gearbox, transaxle components failure. SC said mine was the 2nd case at their centre, not sure how many cases nationwide. FYI, this is my first Perodua. Had bad experience with my 2008 Proton Persona previously, hence wanted to try Perodua. Hmmm, not a very wise decision I guess.

• Techron on Nov 13, 2018 at 4:41 pm

Yes, you should buy either honda or toyota.. or conti car like VW..

• yea right on Jan 26, 2019 at 10:30 am

yea right conti car like AUDI and VW and other… very well thought and nice advice you give there if only that I erase the lie about so many nightmares of roadside breakdown of those conti car and all the defect and headache of owning one

• pengayuhbasikal on Nov 13, 2018 at 12:10 pm

mana myvi dapat 20 km/liter…tipu saja…

• Ah beng Level 2 on Nov 13, 2018 at 1:56 pm

EEV name should not be abused and used on a petrol car but only hybrids

• It would be interesting to see if MIROS or the Police release the number of fatalities in the P2 EEV vehicles vs other similar sized vehicles. Everyone knows that P2 are economical and relatively cheap to maintain, but its safety record is less than excellent. Something that they can improve on in their coming models.

• benzs on Nov 13, 2018 at 3:51 pm

Dear Nico,

As we all know, Perodua have up their game by intro very safety car especially Perodua Myvi 3rd Gen. I believe next model Perodua Alza will be follow same route. While Axia and Bezza might wait another few more years. At least they have human sense this day compare to previous year. Btw, Perodua SUV will also be intro soon and it will be equip with safety feature as well. Where can we find 55k car with 6 airbags and all the goodies of safety included. Even Camry 175k Hybrid did not fully loaded as Myvi. The game changer of safety really causing everyone to up their game in Malaysia. Don’t treat us as Malaysian as crap. We are human as well, our lives is equal as you all in other countries. Pls provide us safety features from all brand. We Malaysian are fed up with you all car manufacture.

Sincerely,
      Malaysian Hates Car without fully loaded safety

• Fanboi Perodua john on Nov 13, 2018 at 4:15 pm

This data shows that Proton is a failure

• FPjLJ on Nov 13, 2018 at 8:55 pm

This data shows that Malaysia still got a lot of vulnerable groups, children with intellectual disabilities, self-righteous, and outdated information.

• toyota no fan on Nov 13, 2018 at 11:01 pm

Toyota lagi lagi fail

• Bezza very not good in long distance travel, feel want vomit and headache all the time during inside the car.

• John t on Jan 06, 2019 at 9:28 am

People buy perodua bcoz can pretend to drive toyota car. Im work with toyota also sick with it. Mostly Not realize being cheated and die when crash.