Honda Malaysia opens its 12th dealership in Johor

Honda Malaysia today launched its 97th (and latest) 3S centre in Pasir Gudang, Johor, which is operated by Yong Ming Motor. The four-storey facility is the twelfth in the state, and was built with an investment of RM18.5 million.

With a build-up area of 77,000-square foot, the building houses 14 bays that can accommodate up to 30 cars per day. These include nine service bays, three for general repairs and two tyre service bays.

Customers will also get to enjoy a comfortable waiting lounge with complimentary Wi-Fi, kids corner, merchandise corner, and a cafe. The centre is staffed by 43 personnel – 17 sales advisors, 24 service advisors, technicians, and two administration and support members.

“With customer satisfaction being our main priority, it is very important for Honda Malaysia and our dealership partners to work together closely in order to serve our mutual customers better. This can only be achieved with strong support from our partners such as Yong Ming Motor,” said Honda Malaysia managing director and CEO, Toichi Ishiyama.

“We believe this dealership expansion in Johor will provide more convenience to our customers, particularly in Pasir Gudang. Customers will be able to enjoy high quality service and after-sales offerings at an authorized Honda dealership nearer to them with upgraded facilities to enhance their joy of buying,” he added.

Yong Ming Motor has a long history with Honda that stretches back 48 years, beginning with its first dealership in Skudai – the new Pasir Gudang 3S centre is the company’s second dealership.

“We are grateful for the opportunity given to us by Honda Malaysia to grow our customer base in this area. Previously customers in this area had to travel far to view the latest models or to service their cars but with our new dealership we aim to offer them the best Honda experience closer to where they are. This showroom that we are opening today represents our continuing commitment to Honda Malaysia,” said director of Yong Ming Motor, Kenneth Cheng.

According to Honda Malaysia, the southern region has been experiencing steady growth in both the number of customers and service intakes. Referring to the latter, 235,000 service intakes were recorded from January to November 2018, an increase of 13% compared to the same period last year.

Meanwhile, the southern region contributed the second highest number of sales with more than 17,000 units sold from January to October this year, a 2% gain from the same period in 2017. The City was the best-selling model in the region, making up 24% of total southern region sales, which is then followed by the Civic (11%) and CR-V (9%).

Yong Ming Motor’s Pasir Gudang 3S centre is located at PTD 209607, Jalan Bandar, Business Centre II, 81700, Pasir Gudang, Johor.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 07, 2018 at 5:30 pm

Yong Ming Motor has been around now for over 30 years. They work hard. They don’t lepak in office and rely on Government bantuan all the time. It is sheer hard work that makes Yong Ming a big success today

I hope GLCs learn from Yong Ming Motor how to work hard and stay focused in attaining success.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 36
    • Sick & Tired on Dec 07, 2018 at 7:30 pm

30 years? The article clearly mentions they have been in business for 48 years. Again you didn’t read b4 straight whacking the GLCs, showing your utter stupidity as usual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 15
      • John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 08, 2018 at 10:48 am

Try to improve your English. I said “over 30 years”. Keyword here is “over”

This what happens when your own English is not good and you try to correct others.

Cannot stop laughing.

• Laugh at your own stupidity then. Over 30 years is usually within the 3 decade time frame. In English context anything that reached 40 years and above would be termed “over 40 years”, hence your statement of “over 30 years” is vague and invalid in reference to Yong Ming Motor which would accurately be represented by the statement “over 40 years old”.

Go back to school if you need someone to teach you simple English terms.

• John Bin Dedak on Dec 09, 2018 at 6:11 pm

Malaysia English standards are too low. We need to improve our standards of English, otherwise, we cannot compete with Singapore at all. Oppps, we already so far behind Singapore!

• redpilled on Dec 08, 2018 at 2:11 pm

NAZA is around 43 years, i guess they lepak kow2 to get where they are today. they must’ve been super lazy seing that their conglomerate covers automotive (cars and bikes, retail, servicing and assembly), property, hospitality, F&B, transport and logistics, plantation….. damn, theyre super lazy.

• John Bin Dedak on Dec 07, 2018 at 5:47 pm

I like Honda cars, their VTEC engines are light years ahead of other engines.

• John Bin Badak on Dec 07, 2018 at 6:40 pm

Salah you!

I like Proton cars, their CamPro engines are light years ahead of other engines.

Now it is “Correct”!

• John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 08, 2018 at 10:50 am

Now you know why Proton never improved all these years. They really thought their Campro engines were the best in the world

• honda kaput on Dec 08, 2018 at 11:00 am

Meanwhile got many complaints on honda FB
        Better buy Vios

• Toyota design crisis on Dec 08, 2018 at 9:35 pm

Better buy other sedan, Vios is goddamn fugly and designed by someone who watched too much batman. Even with reasonable price and great specs nobody will buy it as nobody wants their car to be ugly as hell.

• Ex-VGM staff on Dec 07, 2018 at 5:53 pm

Dealers will start to struggle soon, as the size of the slice becomes smaller. Honda market will remains strong at 100k units but number of dealers are ever increasing from 80 several years ago to almost 100 now. Its a different story though for dealers like Global Amity who also has a satellite branch in Nilai and also HZN which also has 2 more dealerships in Klang and Banting.

But good news for owners alike as service booking will be reduced to a shorter period as well as the servicing time.

• Rashid Maamor on Dec 07, 2018 at 6:08 pm

You are right. But what is sure to fail is the China made X70.

• His Friend on Dec 08, 2018 at 9:24 am

This is a Honda dearlership news post. It is not a China or X70 news post. You want to talk about China or X70, go to the right news post. Talk about relevant things, not irrelevant craps.

• taknaktoyota on Dec 08, 2018 at 11:02 am

Why dragged in p1 here? This is not about p1. Sure showroom empty

• panjang on Dec 08, 2018 at 7:31 am

Agreed, that is what happened to our banking industry. Last time some bank raced each other in term of opening new branch and increasing manpower especially in sales dept, now they had to close some branch and offer VSS…of course such news wont be heard publically as it will potray that bank are not stable.
      Anyway there is a huge different between the banks and this Honda situation…All the affected employes for banking industries are direct employed by the bank, in Honda (or whatever car make) case, the affected employee are employed by the dealer.

• Type R is out of our price range, unless u CKD that theng ,

when will you start rewarding malaysian customer loyalty,

like, CKD the s660 for instance …lol…

or a manual 1.5 turbo civic SI

• Yeah yeah Honda do this Honda do that. If Honda listen to your advise they will go bankrupt instantly. They’re doing very good right now, you see 12th dealership in Johor?