Auto Bavaria delivers first BMW i3s in M’sia, launches new BMW i Charging Facility at Hotel G Kelawai

Just a few weeks after official pricing for the BMW i3s was announced, Auto Bavaria has now delivered the first unit of the electric vehicle to Lim Chau Wei, who becomes the first customer of the i3s in Malaysia.

“Today marks another milestone for us at Auto Bavaria as the sole distributor of BMW i in Malaysia. We are extremely excited to deliver our first i3s to Lim Chau Wei. Lim and his family members are loyal supporters of the BMW brand but more than this, they have a futurist mind set in choosing to be early adopters of the mobility of the future,” said Wong Loke Win, dealer principal of Auto Bavaria Penang.

The handover ceremony was held in conjunction with the launch of the new BMW i Charging Facility at Hotel G Kelawai in Penang, which occupies a total built-up area of up to 256 square feet on level B1. The facility features two BMW i Wallbox Plus chargers that cater to both BMW i pure electric vehicle and BMW i Performance plug-in hybrid vehicles.

“Sustainable mobility thrives where there is an effective combination of three factors: customer demand, facilities and innovative partnerships. Our collaboration with Hotel G Kelawai Penang is our third BMW i charging facility in the Northern region after Hotel St. Giles and Queensbay Mall, and we are optimistic with the future of BMW i brand in Malaysia.” added Wong.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• What an extremely nice EV and he is so lucky

• Wait till he have to replace the batteries. Yikes!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • EDITO Rj on Aug 28, 2019 at 9:53 pm

I am a Patriotic Malaysian and have been waiting for game changing Iriz EV to launch. I’m not interested with this luxurious EV

• Good luck finding charging points! Haha

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 28, 2019 at 7:23 pm

An EV it may be, but it still has that famous badge and RWD. A good and brave choice sir. RV would not be so good, but what do you expect, when EVs are only at their infancy.

• Li Peng on Aug 28, 2019 at 7:43 pm

He bought a car that is (and will be) more rare than a Lambo or Ferrari.

• FudgeMeSideways on Aug 29, 2019 at 6:18 am

is this a joke?

• eeeriz on Aug 29, 2019 at 8:42 am

I saw many i3s when i was in London 4 years ago and words were they were quite reliable enough. But yeah, good luck finding charging points in Penang, although maybe not so much problem in KL.