Proton 1-Tank Adventure returns for 2019: Calling out all 2019 Saga, Iriz and Persona owners to participate!

The Proton 1-Tank Adventure is back for another season this year, and the national automaker is looking for participants to explore Malaysia with the least amount of fuel possible. Last year, the Proton Saga came out tops with an average reading of 28.0 km per litre, making it the clear winner by a fair margin.

This time around, Proton is calling out owners of the 2019 Saga, 2019 Iriz and 2019 Persona to take part in the fuel efficiency challenge. Will any of the three have what it takes to topple the reigning champ? Well, it’s literally up to you guys to decide.

Interested? Here’s how it works. There are three preliminary rounds spread across the country throughout this month, starting with an estimated 1,000-km drive in West Malaysia (across the Southern Peninsular) from September 14 to 16. The subsequent round takes place in Sabah, where contestants are required to drive about 500 km from September 21 to 22, while the third leg is a 500-km drive in Sarawak on the following weekend.

For the final round, it’s back to West Peninsular, except the journey this time will take participants up north on a 1,300-km drive. Here, the challenge will be spread across three days. If it sounds daunting, don’t worry, because the road trip allows you to enjoy the historical and cultural landmarks around Malaysia.

Besides, treat it as an epic food trip, one that will also give you the opportunity to mingle with celebrities. There will also be exciting activities in store, but of course, the biggest pull factor here is the opportunity to win a share of prizes worth over RM100,000.

So, are you up for an adventure? If yes is the answer, then click here to register. Otherwise, you may also fill in the form below. Oh, our man Hafriz Shah will also be taking part in the drive, so hurry and submit your details. All the best, folks!

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• X70 Buyer on Sep 03, 2019 at 1:30 pm

X70 boleh? Though I haven’t receive mine yet :-P

• Kacahitam on Sep 03, 2019 at 1:57 pm

X70 boleh for Event sapot car… Jom sign up!

• tikus on Sep 03, 2019 at 2:39 pm

Another money wasting event by Proton. I would suggest Proton to spend their budget to improve their game over SC and release the game changing Iriz EV. These are more beneficial than hosting an unnecessary adventure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
      • Celup King on Sep 03, 2019 at 3:19 pm

Perodua only talks about their fuel economical cars.
        Proton actually shows their car fuel economy savings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • Awang Selamat on Sep 03, 2019 at 4:02 pm

Ask any Proton owner, they will tell you their Proton sucks petrol as if it has a Bentley 6750CC engine inside.

This is why people buy Perodua Myvi. FC is the best in the market. No wonder Perodua sales is always 4X more than Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
        • Imma proton owner, and i say ur lying. i drive a myvi too so i can say ur double lying.

• Not only you suck at math, you also suck in making up stories. Ask real Perodua owners and they will tell you the claimed fuel economy is never even close to the real world fuel economy.

• Typical Malaysian talking without ‘actual’ research. I owned 2019 Iriz 1.3 Std and 2019 Myvi 1.3 Ext,daily drive from KL to Kota Damansara doing average 120km/h on highway and half an hour town traffic jam. Average fuel for my Iriz is 6.6l/100km while my Myvi doing 7.2l/100km. I guess you can say numbers cannot lie. I am not bashing Perodua or Proton. I am bashing typical Malaysian like you condemning here n there without ‘actual’ data.

• Tikus, u should suggest Perodua close shop 1st, then Proton only can release Iriz EV. No brain tikus just eat roti dun pretend u clever than cat.
        We knew tikus sales a lot but the truth is tikus cannot beat cat. Changing ur mind thinking important than Proton changing. Furthermore, the most 3S/4S service centre in Malaysia is Proton.

• anonymous on Sep 03, 2019 at 2:05 pm

Sabah and Sarawak possible? There is no highway and expressway is crappy, for eg Pan Borneo

• Can p2 car join?

• Celup King on Sep 03, 2019 at 3:20 pm

Perodua cars will need refuel midway so gets disqualified.

• Bla bla bla on Sep 03, 2019 at 8:41 pm

I can bet p1 have to refuel twice while p2 refuel once if go long distance.

• alldisc on Sep 03, 2019 at 3:08 pm

Include Monday morning peak hours for 2 hours from ampang to subang Jaya, then exit into highway. Then you will get real.life figures

• 28km/liter..crazy. drive highway 60kmh w/o aircon and over inflated tyre ke?

• I really wonder how that winner did that?

• stastasta on Sep 11, 2019 at 9:45 am

remove carpets , noise insulation, spare tyre to reduce weight. tape up the external panel gaps to improve wind resistance.

• Amran on Sep 04, 2019 at 7:55 pm

Lawan tank bezza la kalau berani