2019 Mazda CX-5 2.5L Turbo previewed in Malaysia

The 2019 Mazda CX-5 has been previewed in Malaysia, and as revealed earlier, will include a turbocharged variant called the 2.5L Turbo AWD you see here. There’s no word on official pricing yet, but we’re told the SUV model will remain locally assembled (CKD) and there will be a total of five variants in the line-up.

Focusing on the 2.5L Turbo AWD variant, power comes from a SkyActiv-G 2.5 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine that serves up 230 PS (228 hp) at 5,000 rpm and 420 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm. The engine is paired with a SkyActiv-Drive six-speed automatic transmission and i-Activ all-wheel drive system.

In terms of equipment, you get 19-inch wheels (with 225/55 series tyres), LED headlamps and taillights (the former with LED DRLs), keyless entry and start, an electronic parking brake (with auto hold function), leather upholstery and powered front seats with driver-side memory function.

There’s also new switchgear for the climate control – still a dual-zone system with rear air vents – and a seven-inch digital instrument cluster display with analogue dials beside it (remeniscent of the new Mazda 3), as well as a windscreen-projected head-up display. For infotainment, the Mazda Connect system now has support for Apple CarPlay and Android Auto.

On the safety side of things, the 2.5L Turbo AWD is equipped with six airbags (front, side and curtain), Dynamic Stability Control (DSC), Traction Control System (TCS), Hill Launch Assist (HLA), ABS, EBD, Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM) and Lane Departure Warning System (LDWS).

According to the sales personnel on duty at Sunway Pyramid where the car is currently being previewed, the other CX-5 petrol variants that will be available include the 2.0 2WD GL, 2.0 2WD GLS and non-turbo 2.5L 2WD GLS. Meanwhile, the diesel offerings have been trimmed down to just the 2.2D 2WD GLS, with the all-wheel drive version dropped.

Specifications of all the other variants are not out yet but expect them to be roughly similar to what was previously offered, with maybe a few updates here and there. We’ll have more information about the 2019 CX-5 when it is launched, so stay tuned. In the meantime, what do you think of the turbocharged CX-5? Will you choose it over the Honda CR-V?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ghani on Sep 04, 2019 at 12:07 pm

CRV roadtax Rm80, CX5 roadtax Rm850…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 29
    • Mario returns on Sep 04, 2019 at 2:05 pm

I hope Proton can learn from Mazda how to design a futuristic SUV. This can be a lesson for Proton to design their own game changing SUV instead of just changing Geely Boyue logo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 32
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Sep 04, 2019 at 6:02 pm

Tinggal jer Toyota dan Nissan yg xde kereta turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Lets See on Sep 04, 2019 at 6:04 pm

I hope Mazda learns from Proton how to make cars for the masses. They now shiok sendiri making cars with slowing volume & sales, instead they keep dreaming can compete with BMW & Mercedes but they aren’t even at Volvo level. These customers don’t care to consider buying Mazda cars which is why their sales is dropping like flies. This can be a lesson for Mazda to learn from Proton how to rebound and become successful again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
      • What BS you talking about lah. You think Azlano can design anything? Have you seen the Pondana rear bumpers? Horrendous crap lah. Even worse is the current Persona. Facelift also cannot fix the fugly thing. He should jump off the Penang bridge for that atrocity.

Just let Geely design everything including the funny tiger logo Subaru Forester-inspired grille lah, more than charitable already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • I rather choose CRV or X70 than Santa Fe, Tucson, CX5 and CHR. These four models have lost some specs, features and no advanced safety features than CRV and X70. But at least, these car services brand like Proton, Honda and Mazda than Toyota and Mazda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 26
      • BM Man on Sep 04, 2019 at 4:27 pm

Betul! Toyota dan Hyundai sudah game over kerana pemilik Toyota & pemilik Hyundai sudah aduan tentang servis untuk Toyota Malaysia & Hyundai Malaysia tapi tidak membaiki

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 22
        • Surat untuk brother Mario on Sep 04, 2019 at 6:56 pm

Cukup dah Mario…. Keep this comment section a healthy place for car disscusions. We don’t need your dupes spreading game over fake news about Hyundai. Proton is also using Hyundai’s 4AT gearbox for Saga FL anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
      • Smoke Gets In Your Eyes on Sep 08, 2019 at 1:47 pm

Mazda service is also not good

• Muaha on Sep 04, 2019 at 3:37 pm

Can renew in Sabah Swak Labuan Langkawi mahhhh. Lols.

• CRV Roadtax is RM120 per year and not RM80

• That 2.5l turbo engine is sweet. I was trying to outrun a CX-9 on the highway a few weeks ago but he consistently caught up easily. I only managed to get away with my ancient 2.4l Honda engine because he had to take his exit.

• Rosman on Sep 05, 2019 at 4:49 pm

Aduih! Pakai 2.4L versus 2.5L and wondering why he caught up with you so easily. You were probably blocking his way.

• Your comprehension is worrying. Tak payah nak tunjuk pandai, I wasn’t wondering about anything, genius.

• Lets See on Sep 05, 2019 at 10:11 pm

Agreed. We cannot comprehend why you thought your inferior car could outrun the superior vehicle. You know what we call those: road hogs.

• Tahniah, another commentator tunjuk pandai tak bertempat. Hahaha.

• DK 50Horsepower Less on Sep 30, 2019 at 8:11 pm

Your car is 50 horsepower less dude. That cx9 is just toying with u. Imagine Honda city 1.5L try to outrun your honda accord, of course you can easily catch up. That 50hp is differences between ur accord and city, now imagine 50hp differences between ur accord and cx9. So huge difference bro. Next time, just give him way la. Why so ego one. Even if u win, it does not prove ur accord is faster than him as paper spec already state cx9 is faster.

• CRV ROADTAX IN SABAH RM60 0NLY

• ingky on Sep 09, 2019 at 11:07 am

CRV vs CX5? Got to be kidding

• eeeriz on Sep 04, 2019 at 12:07 pm

Will you choose it over the Honda CR-V?
    Hell yeah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
  • Hayenadeblue on Sep 04, 2019 at 12:08 pm

The front logo is the hollow-type logo, not the shiny one. So, no MRCC. You have lost 3 buyers from my family, Bermaz. We targeted the 2.5 Turbo AWD before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 11
    • What safety? on Sep 04, 2019 at 2:01 pm

Same. I was waiting for Mazda CX-5 2.5 Turbo to upgrade from my Honda HRV. 1st thing I look is the picture of front Mazda logo because that’s where the radar is housed.

Since this car has no MRCC, I’m going to look for another options. I wonder why Bermaz can spec the new Mazda 3 with adaptive cruise control, yet the more expensive CX-5 doesn’t have this feature. CX-5 competitors (X70, Forester, X-Trail, CR-V) all have this feature too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
      • Teoh Lan on Sep 04, 2019 at 6:35 pm

Both two of you better buy x70, so no need to take up like 95% loan. With X70, you can take 9 years 85% loan. Work harder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
        • Hayenadeblue on Sep 04, 2019 at 8:30 pm

Amount of loan (money) is not a problem for me ( for some people too!).

Still not satisfy with X70’s quality. X70’s ACC is not full-speed. The closest is CR-V but it is CVT, poor quality, steering-rack problems. Join their FB page, please!

• Brian on Sep 05, 2019 at 4:50 pm

Very few ACCs are full speed. Most cutoff <100kmph, considering this X70 ok what.

• Hayenadeblue on Sep 06, 2019 at 2:34 pm

@Brian,
            Full-speed I meant was until stop (0km/h). All car with ACC covers our highway speed-limit, 110 km/h but mostly the minimum speed is around 30-40km/h. Below than that, it will pass back to driver. Do not confuse with AEB.

• brandon c. on Sep 05, 2019 at 6:50 am

You can try waiting for CX-8…. should have MRCC, but not guaranteed. Though it’s been announced for like half a year already

• monana on Sep 04, 2019 at 12:12 pm

Besides no MRCC, no Nappa leather, no frameless rear-view mirror that the other market (US, UK, Europe etc.) got. Well done Mazda Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
  • Mei Li on Sep 04, 2019 at 12:17 pm

Congrats Bermaz! With no MRCC, you have proven that we Malaysian are poor; poorer than the people of Thailand that Mazda Thailand gives them the tech. We dont deserve it. Thats why there is NO adaptive cruise control in CR-V 1.5 TCP, X70 Premium, X-Trail, Ioniq, Forester. Clearly Bermaz used Peugeot 3008 as their benchmark for the tech.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
    • 2019 Forester’s eyesight comes with adaptive cruise control

• Mei Li on Sep 06, 2019 at 2:37 pm

Considered that too! However, it is a CVT. Fortunately it has paddle shifter. But, its ACC is camera-based; sensitive to lighting etc. I’d rather pick other manufacturers that uses combination of radar and camera.

• WongTack on Sep 04, 2019 at 2:41 pm

Ha ha. Sarcasm detected. We will see whether Bermaz will give as an option. Or, we can get the MRCC from shops outside using original Mazda MRCC and see is there any warranty void issue after that. C**** betul. Thailand’s CX-5 which is assembled in Malaysia got MRCC but for our market, it is simply ignored.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 04, 2019 at 11:43 pm

to be honest how many people actually know how to use a cruise control, let alone adaptive cruise control.

• monana on Sep 05, 2019 at 3:43 pm

Ha ha. Another “world class” respond. Dont blame user, blame Najib sudahla.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
  • Realist on Sep 04, 2019 at 12:17 pm

Looks really good but remember that Malaysian Road tax structure is still based on outdated engine displacement. RM90 per year for 1.5l 190hp (220Nm) Honda CRV vs RM800+ per year for 2.5l 228hp (420Nm) for CX-5. Price difference could also be at least RM40,000 between the premium CRV and this Cx-5. I know many of you would say if you can afford CX-5, you can afford the road tax but it’s just a point I’m highlighting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Hayenadeblue on Sep 04, 2019 at 2:33 pm

“if you can afford CX-5, you can afford the road tax”, no big deal for me. However, I can feel your pain too!

• potato on Sep 04, 2019 at 12:23 pm

better wait for 2nd batch since this turbo is relatively new, like Honda, may suffer from overheating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • monana on Sep 04, 2019 at 2:36 pm

For you, for us Malaysian it is new. But for other markets, it has been about a year. Never heard overheating issue in the Honda, maybe not much. Only oil dilution issue but thats affect the cold country with short distance travels. What we heard the most is the steering-rack and gear knob issues in the CR-Vs.

• Patslab on Sep 09, 2019 at 4:59 pm

Oil delusion issue is not on the petrol turbo engine..it only happen on the diesel turbo engine..which is related to the DPF…please get your fact’s right

• George on Sep 09, 2019 at 11:11 am

It’s not new…already on the CX-9!!

• Gerard,
    “Will you choose it over the Honda CR-V?” U need to be specific on which variant of CR-V that u meant. If it is 1.5 TCP, yes this is better since it has Honda Sensing. Bermaz dont even consider to give MRCC in the top-most variant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • haha…

for the 2.0… extra 20k to get all those which supposed to get and which already available in other countries on initial launch… what a joke…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Turtles on Sep 04, 2019 at 12:31 pm

Rather buy this than Hyundai. Hyundai service is very bad which takes few months to resolve but still haven’t repair when delivery came out

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 155 Thumb down 39
    • penyu on Sep 04, 2019 at 2:14 pm

Impossible Mario, Hyundai is a world-class brand selling cars worldwide. Hyundai also supplied their 4AT gearbox to Proton. So it is impossible for Hyundai to have terrible service

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
      • there are some truth in that because i am hyundai tucson owner.some hyundai dealer service are very very poor.you can try go to kembara suci a hyundai dealer at sungai merab bangi and try their service. you will be shock.they have a customer service counter but no staff to entertain you.their turn over so high and their staff technical knowledge very low.some customer reported they have to wait very long just to register their vehicle

• Michel on Sep 04, 2019 at 12:47 pm

It’s going to be close to 200k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Ongtk on Sep 04, 2019 at 1:47 pm

I was told that the price is approx. RM186K versus the 2.2D 2WD at RM176K. In my opinion, this is a good buy. My only gripe is the 2.5L petrol turbo engine especially with the trend towards small-displacement turbo petrol engine by car manufacturers such as on the CRV, Lexus NX, VW to name a few.

• I feel your pain. Why can’t Mazda bring a 2.0l turbo petrol instead? Let the 2.5l turbo breathe in bigger CX-9

• Wow! So many people don’t know. Mazda doesn’t have 2.0 turbo (currently). They only have 2.5 turbo. You can Google around. There is no 2.0 turbo in their cars line-up.

• Steven on Sep 04, 2019 at 3:10 pm

Betui. 200k we can buy the X50 3bijik wei…

• Steven on Sep 04, 2019 at 3:22 pm

Betui. 200k we can buy the X50 3bijik wei…

• Now we are getting that proper LED DRL. Not the current ‘forgotten-to-switch-off-the-low-beam’ type! And we are charged extra for this, which should have been included from the start!

• Opinionzzz on Sep 04, 2019 at 1:02 pm

If price cheaper than crv then can sell well.

• See ppl compare this to CRV, say got honda sensing, roadtax cheaper blah blah blah. But I still see more CX5 than latest CRV on road.

• Ikr. Those complaining aren’t owners or buyers. Talk shit only. Imagine being able to afford the highest spec model and the deciding factor is the fking road tax

• Monana on Sep 04, 2019 at 8:47 pm

Maybe at ur place only. Have u seen the statistic? Honda is the 2nd in terms of market share or something like that. Mazda is lower, a few lower than Proton.

• C.P. MOHAN on Sep 04, 2019 at 1:54 pm

“the devil is in the price (detail)”. My preference is the CRV 1.5-TCP because believe technology is on Honda’s side with a smaller 1.5 engine to a 2.5 and Honda sensing

• But CR-V have steering rack problem which cost more than RM5k to replace. If got under the warranty, fine but outside of warranty??

• taillmaps!!!!!!!!!

• Saladin on Sep 04, 2019 at 4:38 pm

You want bargain buy x70. You want good package buy crv. You want a good drive buy cx5. You want to rant by all means dont buy. Becos u dont buy but just want to rant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 30
    • Monana on Sep 06, 2019 at 2:52 pm

Dude… I don’t know what to respond. I can only dislike your comment.

• CX5er Wannabe on Sep 04, 2019 at 4:40 pm

Sign:(:(:(, no frameless rear view mirror, which is one of the coolest upgrades in my opinion.

• OfficeLady on Sep 04, 2019 at 5:11 pm

Estimated price RM175K

• XC70XC on Sep 04, 2019 at 8:29 pm

Been driving the mrs CX-5 Akera Turbo Petrol for few months now. Pretty smooth and powerful when using RON 98 which gives it about 260hp or so. Plenty of kits like the digital centre dash, head up display, active LED headlights, powered tail gate, sunroof, 360 degree camera, AEB, radar cruise, Bose sound system, AC/AA, lane departure warning, rear cross traffic alert system, blind spot monitoring, dual zone climate control, rear air con vents, heated steering wheel, Nappa leather, real wood Zen veneer trim, padded dashboard, front heated and ventilated seats plus rear heated seats. Built in Japan and costs about equivalent RM120k.

• Wong Tack on Sep 06, 2019 at 2:48 pm

Lucky you. We in Malaysia can only dream to have ACC in our CX-5. A few owners who brave enough would pay RM 4k to 7k to retrofit ACC from independent workshop, using original Mazda’s hardware. But (big butt), it is potentially void the warranty. What to do? Malaysian mentality nowadays still 10 years back. They are afraid of the electronic stuffs. Some would say not suitable with Malaysian drivers’ driving attitude. Some would say it is costly to install ACC. These are the reasons gave to me by Mazda sales person. The big question is, how Honda, Proton, Nissan, Hyundai and Subaru can give the tech but not Mazda?

• Robyn Bankes on Sep 04, 2019 at 8:48 pm

If Mazda are smart with their pricing of the 2.5LT N/A and the 2.5ltr Turbo, this could be a game changer for Mazda against the current crop of SUVs.

However, my gut feeling is they will blow it on pricing.

Also, not having adaptive cruise control on all variants, let alone the top model, is a huge fail, especially as Malaysian made CX5’s going into Thailand have it. To me, that is just madness!

Quite a few features available in US, Canada, Australia are also missing from this Malaysian top of the model variant.And there is no doubt we will be paying much more than them too…..lucky us!

• OnceVrooomVrooomNowFamilyMan on Sep 04, 2019 at 9:42 pm

The Mazda CX5 2.5 Turbo is not new, it is only new to us. There has been quite a few head to head comparisons done between this CX5 and other Mid-Sized SUV’s , you’d be surprised at the results. (just google and Youtube)

Conclusion most of the reviewers make is
    CX5= Drivability / Handling / Cabin Materials , however it has much smaller usable interior space compared to its rivals, including smart use of space and cubby holes for storage. It also somewhat seems more of a 4 seater SUV rather than a 5 seater, and it also has a relatively small boot space compared to other SUV in its class.

Personally as a family man , I would choose other brands for practicality and space for family.

If I were still single or in Pat-toh stage and more hot blooded and want to impress ppl with sleek look and performance , I’d definitely go for the CX5 Turbo.

Just my honest 2 cents opinion. At the end of the day , whatever you choose , it is your money and your right to buy whatever you want.

• DLCS (Ex CX-5 KE owner & current CX-5 KF owner) on Sep 04, 2019 at 10:12 pm

Owned 2013 cx-5 2.0 2WD high spec. Traded in for 2019 cx-5 2.0GLS. I would say, I love how the car handles. Driving dynamic is great. The 5 years or 100,000 km FREE labour and parts make it more attractive. But if your priority is space, CRV is a more spacious car. X70 reliability is yet to be proven

• People who love car will buy Mazda. And typically Mazda folks got some money but not willing to spend on conti car.

• Why no MRCC?? Bad move Bermaz, thumb down for you

• This CKD CX-5 turbo seems to be missing a few little features: leather is non-nappa, frameless mirror, interior lights not white LED, old rims/alloys…. But if they keep the price at RM17xk I am sold!

• toyota and mazda dont have turbo technology with small engine like honda crv…small engine for a cheap roadtax and a small cost for engine 0il( 4 litres only) haha

• Mei Li on Sep 06, 2019 at 2:41 pm

It is not that they “don’t have” turbo with small engine, they “don’t want” to develop turbo with small engine. They have their own reason. Go find out.

• Small engine turbo…plus turbo lag too! Tgese engines suits cvt better to “cover up” the lag.
      In most countries road tax is based on emission and not engine displacement. It is just the way it is in mesia