2019 Honda Civic facelift now open for booking in M’sia ahead of Q4 launch – Honda Sensing added

Honda Malaysia has announced that the order books for the new 2019 Civic facelift are now open at all 98 Honda dealerships nationwide, ahead of the model’s launch in the fourth quarter of this year. The tenth-generation FC model was given a mid-cycle update in August last year, which included revisions to its styling and list of available equipment.

In the case of the former, the changes are more evolutionary, with the Civic’s front end now sporting a piano black “wing” on the grille (replaces chrome) and a restyled lower fascia, which has a wider, one-piece look with black trim near the fog lamps. As for the rear, the C-segment model will feature a new rear bumper garnish and tailgate spoiler to match.

Under the bonnet, the familiar L15B7 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo four-cylinder engine continues to be of service, providing 173 PS and 220 Nm of torque. This is still mated to an Earth Dreams continuously variable transmission (CVT), which directs drive to the front wheels.

As for the list of equipment, the Civic will be available with LED headlamps, 18-inch “fan design” alloy wheels, an electric parking brake, remote engine start, a seven-inch Display Audio head unit, six airbags, front parking sensors, Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA), ABS, EBD, brake assist, Emergency Stop Signal (ESS), Hill Start Assist (HSA) and a reverse camera.

Most of the above-mentioned items (aside from the 18-inch wheels and front parking sensors; these are new) are already found on the pre-facelift model, but the biggest addition to the mix is the Honda Sensing suite of safety and driver assistance systems. This makes the Civic the third locally-assembled (CKD) Honda model to come with Honda Sensing, after the CR-V and Accord.

You get the full works here, from Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) with Low Speed Follow (LSF) to Forward Collision Warning (FCW), Collision Mitigation Braking System (CMBS), Lane Keep Assist System (LKAS), Road Departure Mitigation (RDM), Lane Departure Warning (LDW) and Auto High-Beam (AHB). Also present is the Honda LaneWatch camera that gives you a better view of the left side of the vehicle – useful when making lane changes in that direction.

According to information that dealers have (apparently) sent out to customers, the new Civic will be officially launched by the end of September, with three variants on offer, including the base 1.8S, 1.5TC and 1.5TC-P. The base variant retains the 1.8 litre SOHC NA four-cylinder with 141 PS and 174 Nm, also with a CVT, and gains a number of new features.

Aside from the updated styling (minus the black grille), the 1.8S gains front parking sensors (as mentioned earlier, automatic wipers, 60:40 split-folding rear seats (previously a fixed bench) as well as a new wheel design (likely still 16-inch units). Moving up, the 1.5TC will get LED headlamps and fog lamps instead of the previous halogen units, plus the addition of Honda LaneWatch. Meanwhile, the range-topping 1.5TC-P is the only one that comes with Honda Sensing, those 18-inch alloys, the black grille and new tailgate spoiler.

For now, Honda Malaysia has yet to provide official pricing for the Civic – the current pre-facelift is priced from RM108,165 to RM128,631 – for the same variant line-up. Are you excited about the imminent introduction of the Civic facelift? Will you prefer it to the likes of the Mazda 3 and possibly the latest Toyota Corolla Altis as well?

GALLERY: Honda Civic facelift, Thai-spec

GALLERY: Pre-facelift Honda Civic 1.8S

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 10, 2019 at 3:52 pm

The Civic will continue to sell well especially with the added kit. The Mazda 3 will obviously not do well with it’s price at the moment and the new Altis….will have it’s own segment of customers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 5
    • taboogen on Sep 10, 2019 at 4:32 pm

Now with Sensing, yet cheaper then altis & m3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
      • YB K. Kinte on Sep 10, 2019 at 6:43 pm

I prefer Subaru Forester. I think it is a better car and a real SUV worth the money. C segment has become too expensive in Malaysia.

Actually C segment is really small and so sempit and you pay SUV prices for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 35
        • Calvin on Sep 11, 2019 at 8:57 am

This is not a Forester article or anything related to SUV segment. Please keep yr paid fanboism away.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • Guru Besar on Sep 11, 2019 at 11:19 am

“Actually C segment is really small and so sempit and you pay SUV prices for it.”

unless if you are a 190kg giant, well, I find that the civic is spacious , as big as the 2004 accord.

• Copy Paste on Sep 11, 2019 at 1:44 pm

Copy paste: “What crap you talking about Kunta? you ok or not brother?? why suddenly got Subaru Forester SUV?”

• Optimus on Sep 11, 2019 at 3:17 pm

C segment small and sempit? What are you, an 800 pound gorilla? C segments are pretty much the smallest size that an average Murican can fit in comfortably. Asian sizes are typically much smaller than your average Muricans.

• what a comment. joke of the year!hahaha

• Sohai on Sep 10, 2019 at 8:11 pm

X70 turun lagi 20k CKD, SUV Volvo 1.5T Dual-clutch Wet from 89k

• Brian on Sep 10, 2019 at 4:39 pm

Civic – sane people
      Mazda3 – refined people
      Altis – sheep people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 36
    • Mazda Service is bad from Facebook Owner. Especially Hyundai Service Malaysia is bad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 11
  • 2017 mazda3 already have all the function and now only Honda sensing, blah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 29
    • Gt turbo?

• want the little turbo for what? tell me what you can do with the cvt add turbo please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
        • wahahaha on Sep 11, 2019 at 9:14 am

Got turbo with CVT it can smoke the mazda3 lo

• got turbo mean can smoke mazda3, than I have LJ mean I can F your gf? funny fan boy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
          • jjjjjjj on Sep 12, 2019 at 4:09 am

Honda fan boy sikit sikit moved the turbo out for topic, this car is everywhere simply throw a stone also can hit a turbo car, salary 3k can get turbo car for drag race now a day, dont think you change a red Honda badge can be type R la, same thing don’t think you have a turbo can do everything, let’s face the truth, it’s just a entry level of Japanese compact car, a.k.a lala car, quality? nah, solid? nah, spec? fansy meter only.

• wahaha on Sep 12, 2019 at 9:47 am

Exactly! Mazda3 got no “LJ” to smoke civic hahaha

• what can you do with the turbo? myvi have turbo too, your civic can run faster than myvi?

• Well i lazy/notninterested to layan ur myvi turbo aka fake shit.. Im talking bout stock cars. Well civic turbo easily smoked mzda 3 anytime anywhere.. Did that once at traffic light.. Pretty sure we was flooring as I could hear his engine screaming but civic beat mz3 flat (drag race)

• wah really can smoke mazda3 ah your 1.5 little turbo? than my passat twin charge can smoke ferrari or not? got turbo means can smoke people? or you use to tiong people butt with the turbo? u know civic using what kind of turbo?

• Civic gets smoked by jetta tho

• “we was flooring”, Civic proud owners’ level, LMAO.

• wahahaha on Sep 11, 2019 at 9:15 am

I checked Perodua website, i cant find the price for Myvi Turbo nor its specsheet

• God car on Sep 11, 2019 at 9:50 am

Lol. dont compare with myvi lar.. that is God car. Unbeatable..even ferarri/lambo/Porsche also cant beat Myvi Turbo.

• Sxhai Mazda on Sep 14, 2019 at 11:53 pm

Wow , sibeh sxhai leh u , i am not civic fanboy also know how to see horsepower and touqe , obviously power confirm civic better la nob

• Hong Yee Hong on Sep 10, 2019 at 7:45 pm

All the function? What is all the function?!

• Yes finally !!!

• Finally, Honda Sensing on the Civic. Next up, 1.5L turbo on the HRV.

• SampanTechnology® on Sep 10, 2019 at 6:28 pm

Oh wow. Turbo in HRV?? Bwahahahah!! With HRV SampanTechnology® ride, expect HRVs end up in longkang next! *Bounce bounce bounce

• Worth worth to buy Civic on Sep 10, 2019 at 4:15 pm

Buy Honda Civic than Mazda 3. Price is cheaper as CKD & more things

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
  • newme on Sep 10, 2019 at 4:17 pm

Sony vs Skyworth, which one would you buy?

• LG Led TV. But why you are talking about TVs on a car site? Got lost?

• Choose wisely but it your money on Sep 10, 2019 at 10:36 pm

Buy Sony or Panasonic for continuous software update. Chinese Skyworth looks good on pricing but you will be dead locked with non working smart things.

• G-Shock on Sep 10, 2019 at 4:22 pm

Got issues about Honda in bolehland so I won’t buy Civic. Mazda is very expensive from RM140K to RM160K and Mazda service is bad. I will pick Toyota Corolla Altis, no matter if Altis is CBU or CKD and Toyota service is good

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 38
  • msia driver on Sep 10, 2019 at 4:23 pm

hot cake come more hot again lolzz
    x70 sales will go to drain now soon

hear that few thousands of x70 booking owners have cancel and shift to this facelift civic today

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 49
    • Brian on Sep 10, 2019 at 4:40 pm

Is that so? But I heard that many thousands were cancelling their Altis booking to wait for Civic and X70 CKD. You must have heard it wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
  • Proton oh Proton on Sep 10, 2019 at 4:27 pm

This is what I’m waiting…

• Lets see if Honda Malaysia can maintain the same price with the added safety kit. I’m guessing they will increase the price by RM2k~RM10k.

• With or without the safety upgrades, the facelifted civic will be pricier than before, that is a surety. I think as of now only Proton launches new/upgraded cars but at lower prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Ben Yap on Sep 10, 2019 at 4:35 pm

Honda Civic will continue to dominate the market. the Mazda 3 with torsion beam is so expensive that it will be left far behind in sales. Meanwhile the Toyota Altis with an old engine but new skin will not sell well as there is hardly any major equipment upgrade. For the Korean cars, they are not even in the league.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
    • Not Toyota Fan on Sep 10, 2019 at 5:26 pm

Heard rumours that new Altis be rebadged as Corolla, with goodies such as Lane Keep Assist, Radar Cruise Control, Pre Collision System, Dual Zone digital air-conditioning, 7″ colour multi function display. Supposedly only 1.8L NA (maybe also 1.8L Hybrid).

Not sure if it can seriously challenge the King of C Segment sedan (Civic Ketam).

• Smart ppl will go for altis port injection, m3 na direct inject is still ok, civic turbo with direct inject need to do walnut treatment which Honda Malaysia is not providing the service…calat lor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
      • tables on Sep 11, 2019 at 8:44 am

m3 will lose to altis and civic turbo in Malaysia coz of prices, safety as well as bad mazda aftersales service in Malaysia.

• Pretty sure we wont be getting that port injection atis engine….

• Another cheap facelift car by Honda. Con all the Honda fanboys. goodluck tin Milo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 30
  • t(-_- t) on Sep 10, 2019 at 6:03 pm

Gosh, look at that ugly tail-lamp design. Super odd that people gushing over the Civic just because it’s “Honda”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 10, 2019 at 8:25 pm

x70 better

• According to pizy new honda civic should be around MYR 60k.

• new Corolla vs new Civic, I will pick new corolla.Because new corolla spec not bad. Civic QC & SC is done very bad.And this engine 1.5t is not real VTEC turbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • Zoom Zoom on Sep 11, 2019 at 10:04 am

lol.. but the turbo can is still way more powerful than the old 1.8 N/A in the corolla. New CBU 1.8 Corolla expected about 140k vs 1.8 civic 108k = 32k diff! Not everyone willing to pay a premium of 32k for Corolla over Civic.

• You have a point about Honda QC and SC; both are horrible for honda owners.

• Im starting to like Honda

• Pakulupapito on Sep 11, 2019 at 7:22 am

Civic only win in term of price and interior space, everything else…its Mazda 3. Mazda service is bad???? Never experience anything that could be considered bad, hassle free booking, not so expensive charges, they they checked everything and even claim some parts under warranty. And also, after my warranty period ended, i encountered some defect and that got replaced under goodwill. The only thing downside that the service center did not have ‘kuih’ like perodua. But you dont have to wait long, not many car servicing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
    • What bout engine performance??

• wahahaha on Sep 11, 2019 at 9:22 am

Civic win in:
      1)Price(<—-END of story)
      2)Resale value
      3)Engine/Power/Turbo
      4)Multi-Link Suspension
      5)Space
      6)Fuel Economy

What is the everything else in Mazda3 in your head?
      1)Looks
      2)Premium Feel
      3)HUD
      4)Rotary dial(but no touch screen)

• L1988 on Sep 11, 2019 at 3:14 pm

u can comment again when price release…. it better stay same price… LOL

• Zoom Zoom on Sep 11, 2019 at 10:00 am

But Price and interior space are main reasons why Civic now captured 85% of the total C Segment sedan in Msia. A car that is way more practical than Mazda 3. Rear space for M3 is even worst than B segments (City/vios/Almera). Others are resale value and spare parts.. there are so many Honda Authorised stockist out there. New Civic vs New Mazda now.. easily > 100 : 1

• RejimKejamGanas on Sep 11, 2019 at 7:59 am

Where is the RS? Have to wait another year?

• Vin Poh on Sep 11, 2019 at 12:50 pm

Malaysian ppl like to compare resell value instead of driving feel.. If like to compare here n there better go for Toyota Hiace.. more space more seat can travel long distance… just my advise hahahaha

• msia driver on Sep 11, 2019 at 5:12 pm

of course need to compare la, this is buy car hundred thousand, not buy sayur at pasar malam….

• Jaydon on Sep 12, 2019 at 2:21 pm

This car is amazing but the Type R is still my favourite

• Don’tCare on Sep 12, 2019 at 7:13 pm

This Civic is highly favored & contaminated by local Ah Bengs. Mostly drive like an idiot on the road.

• If i am honda malaysi, will price this civic 10k less than mazda 3….sure a lot of ppl sapu…higher margin for honda malaysia…

• dong gor on Sep 13, 2019 at 3:07 pm

When civic was launched here, it has a installed a cross bar behind the rear seat and the answer the engineer gave during press conference was to stiff up chasis for better handling. Does it mean the facelift version will have less solid chasis with split seats?

Paultan, please do not forget to throw this question if you are meet Honda Malaysia

• Honda FiTT on Sep 13, 2019 at 3:46 pm

A friend of mine just bought a Honda Civic 1.5T a month ago, WTF!?? Honda sales person never tell him there’s gonna be a facelift coming, that is a loss right there. There is a saying,”Good things come to those who wait”

• lala land on Sep 28, 2019 at 4:40 pm

Buy civic so expensive… drive daily in kl.. 60kmh – 80kmh… buy axia also drive the same speed… lalalalalalala

• Sajy2k on Nov 02, 2019 at 9:57 pm

Tak tau HARGA nak book amacam??

• ssajy2k on Feb 17, 2020 at 12:46 pm

what happen for those already booked the car ? any update ?

• Dream Land on Feb 21, 2020 at 1:41 am

on Wednesday 19 February I message the salesmen at Honda asking if they have any info, and they told me that they don’t have any info and they said to wait until March now…