New Volvo S60 teased again, Malaysian launch soon

The new Volvo S60 is really coming soon to Malaysia, as this is the second teaser by Volvo Car Malaysia (VCM) following the first hint early this month.

A year ago, we were told by VCM that the third-generation S60 would reach our shores in Q3 2019, so it’s just about on schedule as promised. The new S60 is the the first Volvo to be made in the United States and global distribution started in the second quarter of this year.

Malaysia is Volvo’s regional assembly hub, and the S60 will eventually roll off the plant in Shah Alam for domestic consumption and exports to Thailand, but early batches could be CBU imports, which is the typical style for VCM – we’ll see in a bit.

The international press drive in the US last year showcased the S60 T8 Twin Engine Polestar Engineered and the S60 T6 AWD R-Design that you see here. We’re not expecting the 405 hp/670 Nm Polestar-tweaked car – stuffed to the gills with branded kit such as Ohlins adjustable suspension and Brembo six-pot brakes – to reach Malaysia as it will be prohibitively expensive.

The T6 AWD is more likely. It’s powered by a 2.0 litre four-cylinder Drive-E engine, which is under the hood of all S60s. In this guise, there’s a turbocharger and supercharger combining for 310 hp and 400 Nm of torque. The twincharged engined is mated to an Aisin eight-speed conventional automatic transmission.

There will be local assembly, and when it starts, we’re expecting a CKD T5 with 254 hp/350 Nm (FWD, just turbo) and (non-Polestar) Twin Engine plug-in hybrid variants – of course, the latter will be dependent on CKD PHEV incentives by the government for a competitive price tag.

As usual, base Momentum, luxury Inscription and sporty R-Design trim levels will be available globally, but expect VCM to push the latter, as the S60 will be the most sporting model in its range. The red S60 you see in the VCM teaser above is an R-Design, similar to the one in our pics above.

The new S60 looks fantastic, doesn’t it? If you’re into wagons, the estate sister of this car, the V60, would be drop dead gorgeous. It has been spotted running in Malaysia more than once – in August and earlier this week – so there could be a chance that VCM is looking to introduce the model in the near future. Or is there a surprise double launch waiting for us around the corner?

Both sightings were of the wagon in T8 Twin Engine AWD plug-in hybrid guise, in posh Inscription trim. The ICE part of the PHEV consists of a 2.0 litre twincharged Drive-E engine with 303 PS/400 Nm, a crankshaft-integrated starter/generator and an eight-speed auto. An electric motor – juiced by a a 10.4 kWh lithium-ion battery – on the rear axle provides 88 PS/240 Nm for a total system output of 390 PS/640 Nm.

GALLERY: Volvo S60 T6 AWD R-Design

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Nurul on Oct 18, 2019 at 1:44 pm

(Like) Volvo S60 and BMW 330i
    (Dislike) Mercedes C300

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 9
  • T8 AWD , fastest car in its class , shud hv a drag race

• longjaafar on Oct 18, 2019 at 2:39 pm

With 254bhp, it goes head on with the BMW 330i. Price will determine it’s competitiveness…

• Will it come with android auto, volvo, u need to bring back physical controls for the climate system

• I wonder what the price would be? This may really move the meter for Volvo in Malaysia, if priced close to the BMW 3 series.

• Razif Zaini on Oct 18, 2019 at 5:16 pm

I hope Proton fanboys dont come here and say buying Volvo is a waste of money because kononnya, Proton cars now use Volvo technology.

Dream on. If like this, nobody will buy Volvo lah

• Anand on Oct 22, 2019 at 3:10 pm

Volvo sales rep said they launching t8 r design cbu this 25th and the price is below 300k. What’s surprising is they are also saying future CKD version will be the same price. How is this possible?