Mitsubishi Mirage with Dynamic Shield facelift spotted

Now here’s something totally unexpected. The Mitsubishi Mirage, which first surfaced in current form way back in 2011 (a facelift debut in 2015), has been spotted in Thailand with a facelift!

In the past decade, Mitsubishi has tried a couple of family faces, but has of late settled on the Dynamic Shield look, as seen on the current Triton pick-up truck and Xpander MPV. That signature look has since been grafted on the also-very-old ASX crossover and even Japanese kei cars. Now is the turn of the Mirage to get the Dynamic Shield face.

Even if the headlamps seen here aren’t as slim as those on other iterations of the Dynamic Shield, the look is unmistakable. It features a tall grille spanning the height of the face, connected to the headlamps. Inverted chrome brackets give the face the sunken cheeks look, with foglamp cutouts outside of it. The eyes appear to have double curves as LED daytime running lights.

The Mirage first surfaced in 2011, and it was given a facelift in 2015

Away from the front end and new two-tone wheels, the body of the five-door hatchback seen here appears identical to the Mirage that we know. Note the rising character line on the profile, which rises from the front wheels, and the door handles that reside below the line.

The word from Headlightmag in Thailand is that Mitsubishi is planning to unveil this facelifted Mirage along with its Attrage sedan sister – which will also get the Dynamic Shield front – at the Motor Expo 2019 event next month. The Phase 2 Thai Eco Car should soldier on with the 1.2L three-cylinder engine paired to either a five-speed manual or CVT. Phase 2 regulations require C02 emissions not exceeding 100 g/km and fuel economy of at least 23.25 km/l.

What do you think of this new look for the Mitsubishi Mirage?

GALLERY: 2016 Mitsubishi Mirage

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Abang2 Basikal Lajak on Oct 31, 2019 at 3:24 pm

Mitsubishi is really a pioneer in technology and research. Pity we were too arrogant an cerai Mitsubishi. PRoton started to die away when we cerai Mitsubishi and introduced our Ferrari based Campro engines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • You do know that the Mirage doesn’t even have ESC, right? If Mitsubishi pioneer in technology and research, why need to be saved by Nissan? You don’t know what you are babbling about.

• if Proton continue work with Mitsubishi, we can have better engine before Geely step in, not just Campro.

And we could possibly have Nissan-Renault-Mitsubishi tech as well, since it is saved by Nissan as you mentioned.

• Calvin on Oct 31, 2019 at 11:10 pm

Refresh my memory here, but what “better engine” are you talking about? The last “better engine” they had was 4B1X series which wasn’t developed by them. So stop dreaming that Mitsubishi had anything substantial to offer.

Again what “Nissan-Renault-Mitsubishi tech” are you referring about? The same tech which they won’t bring like Nissan ProPilot, or diesel engines that Renault don’t sell here? Please tell us what.

• Mirage here is like a mirage. You think you might have seen the car but then it disappears and you don’t know if you have seen it or not.

• Asam laksa on Oct 31, 2019 at 3:30 pm

I think it looks modern and stunning! I hope Mitsubishi will bring this game changing Mirage alongside Xpander and Pajero Sport to game the outdated Proton Iriz, Exora and Chinese rebadged X70 over.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • You’re an idiot. The Mirage is the worst car on the new car market, and Mitsubishi is the worst car maker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • P2 sales troll and intelligence, is like oil and water.

• Mirage worst car on the new car market? Mitsubishi worst car maker? What makes you judged it this way? What facts are you based on?

I see Mitsubishi Xpander sell like hot cake.

• Similar way of comment on 3.24pm and 3.30pm. Obviously it’s by the same person here but with different names.

• Amran on Nov 01, 2019 at 9:00 am

Habeslah iriz

• Oh pls do try. The 1st gen Mirage got habis’ed by Iriz. New improved Iriz welcomes new challengers anytime.