With the Covid-19 movement control order (MCO) in place, the Causeway between Johor and Singapore has been closed till March 31, in response to the Malaysian government’s directive to close all borders. However, the Johor State government is hoping to have its border to Singapore reopened within the next few days, reports The Star.
Johor chief minister Datuk Hasni Mohammad said stringent health checks would be implemented on both sides of the Causeway as part of the state’s Covid-19 mitigation plans. This would allow those working and studying in Singapore, comprising a sizeable percentage of Johor’s population – some estimates place it as high as 400,000 – to resume their daily routines.
“Among the categories exempted are those with work passes by Malaysia or Singapore, students studying in Singapore, those with specialised skills, businessmen, those involved in logistics and others that would be announced soon,” said Hasni. Hasni also said a special committee, headed by himself, would meet today and hold discussions with Singapore authorities before the matter is forwarded to the Federal government.
This new gov totally memang tak boleh nak harap.
For the safety for all of us it was prudent and farsighted to lockdown the causeway. As one analyst sums up, this hurts SG more than JB. So it was responsible of our gracious govt to keep us safe.
Next two weeks are crucial for Malaysia.
If we take adequate precaution and break the chain then we can tide the Corona virus Outbreak else we have a big problem in hand especially for the elderly population
So far so good. Malaysia has done well so far in its fight to contain Corona Virus. Now we are in stage 3 in which Virus spreads through social contacts & in social gatherings.
Be a responsible citizen by following & educating others to remain careful for next one
Eagle tribe has too many business entities at stake when sinkapool causeway is closed. Feline group must be considerate on wealthy-being of eagle tribe ok.
This gomen know how to handle issues upfront or not?
At least better than PH did. If they had followed S’pore to lockdown back in Feb, our infection cases wouldn’t have jumped so high. Now it is left for PN to pickup PH shits and take the difficult but brave decision to lockdown the county. A test of true leaderships are when such decisions needed to be made. PH failed on this account while PN has passed it. As a doctor, it pains us to make hard decisions but it has to be made, only failures do not take actions.
Do you even know what ur saying or not? Do you want to spread the virus around? Sharing isn’t caring in these situations.
Epic fail,Rakyat kenot rely dis gomen manage MY
Yes. PH has epic failed us, PN has epic failed us. Time to get back BN pronto!
Now more than ever I am truly regret voting against BN. Next election and until I die, will be for BN.
PN = BN sir… lol
Malaysia = Wild Wild West. Yeehaa senorita!
Balik kampung~~ hohohoi Balik kampung~
I dont think I would support this.
First of all, the number of cases spike includes Johor as well. By opening the gate again, thousands of people would gather and queue which increase the risks of infections. We are not only endangering ourselves but also our neighbours Singaporeans. And if you are wondering why I care about Singaporeans, well, Johor economy also partly rely on Singaporeans which means many of them will travel over here. We are massively increasing the risk of infections for both countries in return which is bad in the long term.
Then other states will ask to open their borders with Thailand.
Sad to see the Johor gov chooses money over saving lives.
should do like US-Canada border closing- by mutual consensus and closed to all NON-ESSENTIAL travel. which means trade and supply lines will still run.
some issues you can u-turn, flip-flop whatever.
some you need resolve. this is where you need resolve so it won’t be a 3rd wave. 14 days economic hit vs a pandemic that will last for months and months and end up with a greater economic hit. go figure
If you want to permit Malaysian workers to cross the causeway, then do the same for all borders to be fair. Anyway, I believe Singapore impose 14 day self quarantine as well, so I see no point of this. Same in Brunei, they also impose 14 day self quarantine for anyone entering country. I empathise with everyone caught in the situation. It’s trying to make the best of a very difficult situation.