Proton X50 SUV production not affected by Covid-19 outbreak, launch to happen virtually – report

Yesterday, Proton announced that a total of 50 employees have tested positive for the coronavirus. It’s certainly a serious situation for all concerned, but it seems to have not sidelined the company’s production schedule for the highly-awaited X50 SUV – if a report by SoyaCincau is any indication.

In a statement published by the tech portal, the national carmaker said that while the engineering division has been quarantined due to the new cases, it does not expect production volumes to be affected. It added that it will proceed with launching the car this year, although it will do so in virtual form.

The company originally intended for the launch to be a physical event but then decided that it would be out of step with the “mood of the nation” – even before the Klang Valley’s second conditional movement control order was implemented last week. As such, it has scaled down its plans considerably.

In the meantime, Proton is still taking orders for the X50, a B-segment SUV based on the Geely Binyue/Coolray. The car debuts several new features, including a revised Geely Key User Interface (GKUI 19) and Level 2 semi-autonomous driving functions. These include autonomous emergency braking with pedestrian detection, adaptive cruise control with stop and go and lane centring assist.

All variants will be powered by a 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engine in two flavours. Standard, Executive and Premium models get the port-injected version with 150 PS and 226 Nm of torque, while the Flagship receives the direct-injected variant making 177 PS and 255 Nm. A seven-speed wet dual-clutch transmission is fitted as standard, with drive sent to the front wheels.

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Very good for Malaysian consumer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Why worry the x50 on Oct 20, 2020 at 10:04 pm

City since its launched already sapu most of x50 sales. It is wise choice to pay more on japanese car to get a better RV and realiability

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 51
      • Nakamichi on Oct 21, 2020 at 7:07 am

Nice try honda salesman as your showroom still so empty

• Norlia on Oct 21, 2020 at 8:53 am

Come on dear fellow Msians. Now the time to prove our love to nation, sapot x50! Kemon ayuh!

• X50 potong no 1 on Oct 21, 2020 at 11:24 pm

As usual potong only design the front grill. Rest all cina barang i think. Same same like x70 i think.

• Aura89 on Oct 22, 2020 at 9:45 am

You think wrong. Try harder to use that brain b4 you troll.

• Why So Serious on Oct 21, 2020 at 8:59 am

You talking about this reliability? https://paultan.org/2020/06/18/honda-malaysia-recalls-55354-units-over-fuel-pump/

• Raja Kamarul on Oct 21, 2020 at 9:32 am

5,000 vs 22,000 is sapu meh? Looks like your teachers and parents wasted time sending you to math class and tuition la wei….

• Kotembad on Oct 21, 2020 at 10:32 am

Better RV? Perhaps. Reliability? Perhaps. Is it a fun car? lmao no

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 21, 2020 at 10:34 am

20K bookings enough makan for this year. Early xmas holiday already.

• not true bcos only dumb people buys that slow lorris tank like suspension no power which myvi aso can cucuk at 170km/h and slowly overtake City :))

• Contradiction on Oct 21, 2020 at 12:41 pm

If Honda really sales so good, why the salesmen feel the need to troll here then?

• Dredd on Oct 20, 2020 at 10:34 pm

Well done Dr Li Chunrong! geely Chinas terbaik!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • Angry Voters on Oct 21, 2020 at 8:56 am

Lucky it was Proton, they managed to control it well. If it were the other national carmaker, hampeh everyone dah kena.

• Potential buyers. on Oct 20, 2020 at 9:42 pm

Stil undecided how much to sell n too much publicity on the flagship model.

• Jeremy on Oct 21, 2020 at 12:54 pm

It seems pricing is fixed but waiting for launch. Now launch is decided to go virtual so i think it was scheduled in this 2 weeks.

• suomynona on Oct 20, 2020 at 9:48 pm

All the best for their virtual launch event!

• Amran on Oct 20, 2020 at 10:35 pm

Syukur not affected X50 delivery schedule….

• Mr moustache on Oct 21, 2020 at 8:03 am

The more I see, the more I feels like the grilles have Misai Ikan Keli

• Neutral on Oct 21, 2020 at 8:41 am

Of course X50 has nothing to worry about but Honda does. That’s why Honda Malaysia marks down the prices of all the new City variants even they’re better equipped now. That’s what we Malaysian want : Competition.

• Angry on Oct 21, 2020 at 8:53 am

Waited for too long. Proton show insincerity of helping buyers to save from SST! ..l..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Jeremy on Oct 22, 2020 at 11:34 am

So you say, but Almera got soft launched without pricing why you no complain. Xpander also got soft launched yesterday without pricing why you no complain. Are they insincere to help buyers save from SST?!

• Lychee Pie on Oct 21, 2020 at 10:46 am

when will Jiaji coming in?

• Standby buyers, anytime you will receive a call from Proton for your car delivery :-)

• newme on Oct 21, 2020 at 10:59 am

Haven’t launched one ar? Haven’t launched also flooded with so many articles. Brace up for a bigger wave of articles flooding when it is launched.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Spin Too Much on Oct 21, 2020 at 9:31 pm

LOL! You sound like the biggest Proton hater that is just super butt-hurt over tech your favourite car company can NOT provide you. It’s so super obvious how seathing you’re coming across… Try harder to sound like you are actually being un-biased next time… It’s really too obvious. And btw… the articles are coming from Paul Tan, not Proton. If you felt it unnecessary, just don’t read and comment in EVERY SINGLE Proton article that came up. It’s that simple.

• dumbyou strikes again on Oct 21, 2020 at 10:23 pm

And you have problem with that because? You got forced to read only articles about Proton?

• Aura89 on Oct 22, 2020 at 9:49 am

Even in non-Proton or Geely articles, he only talks about Proton or Geely. Proves how dumb he is the way he actually ‘promotes’ his hated brands.

• dong gor on Oct 21, 2020 at 11:16 am

keep taking booking money but car still not launched. Delay until CMCO now employees also infected and have to go virtual launch, and still talking no action. pui

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Raja Kamarul on Oct 21, 2020 at 5:00 pm

Boss… kalau takda duit duduk senyap senyap la

• Dong key on Oct 21, 2020 at 10:28 pm

Virtual launch is the responsible thing to do during these times. Guess you have the same way of thinking as the current government that sacrificed months of hard work to contain Covid just to play the ‘Game of Thrones’ in Sabah.

• We shall see later got Tg Malim cluster pulak and production will be halted……