MCO reinstated in KL, Selangor, Penang, Johor, Sabah, Melaka and Putrajaya from Jan 13-26 – full travel ban

The government has announced the reimplementation of a movement control order (MCO) for the states of Selangor, Johor, Penang, Melaka, Sabah and the federal territories of Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan, and this will be in effect from January 13 (at 12.01 am) to January 26.

During the same period, a conditional movement control order (CMCO) will be applied to Pahang, Perak, Negeri Sembilan, Kedah, Terengganu and Kelantan, while a recovery movement control order (RMCO) will be in place for the states of Perlis and Sarawak.

The move, aimed at arresting the third-wave spread of Covid-19 which has seen a significant increase in daily cases, was announced by prime minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin in his special speech to the nation this evening.

He said that reinstating the MCO was necessary to curb the spread of the virus, which could possibly rise to as many as 8,000 cases a day by March if left unchecked. He added that the healthcare system was also at a breaking point and would not be able to cope if the situation continues unabated. The total number of Covid-19 cases stands at 138,224 as of today, January 11.

In the case of the MCO, this follows much of the protocols and standard operating procedures (SOP) applied during the first MCO, which ran from March 18-May 4 last year. Inter-state travel across the entire country is prohibited, and in states under the MCO, inter-district travel is also not permitted. In line with the travel ban, the government said that police roadblock operations will begin on January 13.

All social activity involving mass gatherings of people such as weddings/kenduris, conferences, meetings, seminars, courses, religious processions or group sporting events will not be permitted in states under the MCO. There will also be no in-place dining allowed in MCO states, with stalls and restaurants only permitted to do take-away and deliveries.

The government said it had identified five economic sectors that will be permitted to remain operational during the MCO period, and these are manufacturing; construction; trade, logistics and distribution; plantation and commodities, as well as essential services.

It added that only 30% of management staff will be allowed to be in the workplace, while the number of supporting staff or workers on site at any one time will have to be determined by the organisation, with strict SOPs in place. As for the list of essential services, these will be detailed by the ministry of international trade and industry (MITI) like previously.

Additionally, for states under the MCO, the previously seen 10 km radius limit for the purchase of food and necessities as well as for the seeking of healthcare and medical services has been reimplemented. Only two people will be allowed to travel in a car (as in Phase 4 of the MCO last year) when going out to shop for necessities or to seek medical services.

As before, any individual that is caught violating MCO rules will be slapped with a RM1,000 fine, and there will be no discount once a compound notice has been issued.

Also, as before, we remind everyone to heed the government’s fight against the pandemic by just staying at home. If it is absolutely necessary for you to get provisions, medical supplies and food, please make it fast and limit the distance travelled for those purposes. And please, don’t go rush out to buy groceries and supplies in the next 24 hours – you will still be able to shop for these during the MCO.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Bel Jin on Jan 11, 2021 at 7:16 pm

the sign of failed government not knowing what to do. how to do it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 40
    • Dr Strange on Jan 11, 2021 at 10:56 pm

Oh really? UK has 80,000 deaths and USA have 100,000+ deaths. Are they failed governments?
      Stop moaning. The ones that failed us were those in charge back in Feb whom allowed gatherings to happen which created the first cluster. From there it spreads all thanks to them.

• Safety First on Jan 11, 2021 at 11:08 pm

Govt think Safety First. You want ours to be like USA with 1 million infections and 100k deaths? So selfish.

• Contradiction on Jan 12, 2021 at 12:00 am

M’sia with 136k infections & 550 deaths, failed gahmen?
      USA with 22million infections & 370k deaths, failer gahmen?
      North Korea with 0 infections & 0 deaths, success gahmen?

Nice logic, Comrade.

• Sick & Tired on Jan 12, 2021 at 7:03 am

Failed? Which was the one that didn’t manage covid well when it first came to mesia back in Feb 2020? Not the current one for sure. So which gomen that failed?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 29
      • Ajibkor on Jan 12, 2021 at 9:48 am

Stupid dude.In Feb,how many cases?Now is 4 figures.You failed your maths?We don’t care PH or PN.We want control before each of us gets vaccine.

• Compared to other countries,Malaysia is doing much better job of managing this- Not like rhe UK where numbers ofnew cases are in rhe tens of thousands!!!

• Aura89 on Jan 12, 2021 at 7:51 am

Failed? How? Pls elaborate more lah! I swear, PH trolls are getting lazier and lazier makes me missed Kunta’s trolling. At least he tried hard to earn his paycheck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 25
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 12, 2021 at 10:39 am

Rakyat ekceli so feddup and frust but YB2 & gahmen still hard politicking…. covid cases 3,000+ daily, banjir rumah & makan xde, jalanraya berlobang2.. i’m a sabar & reasonable man, but this obviously utter failure.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 11, 2021 at 7:27 pm

Only got 2 weeks? Bet abah is gonna extend for another 2 more weeks to see the results.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • maslan on Jan 11, 2021 at 8:28 pm

Extend we can do more cooking at home. Masak apo pon jadi…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • KUNTA KUNCHI on Jan 11, 2021 at 9:25 pm

What about people going to receive their cars from car distributors in a week or two? JPJ tutup?
      Car dealers tutup?
      Now the car buying frenzy is slowing to a trickle,cos like it or not another round of retrenchments is unavoidable,for those who r in a precarious employment position.
      It is indeed a disaster since the sept 26 Sabah elections,when returnees are not properly quarantined.
      The virus exploded from the 500 Sabah mini wuhan returnees who tested positive.The virus did not come from transboundary haze.
      Now people are living in more financial stress,families are separated from loved ones due to interdistrict travel bans.
      Who is responsible for this mess? Bear in mind 95 percent of the rakyat has obeyed international travel ban and local sops.It is only 5% or less who keep breaking SOPs.
      If there is one more MCO.3.0…imagine for yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
    • Freddy K on Jan 11, 2021 at 10:00 pm

Now is not the time to complain, now is to stay safe, stay at home….. AND WEAR YOUR GLOVES. MUAWHAHAHAHAHA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
      • Angkat baju… Cepat lari masuk kete.. Kito balek kampong, ho ho hoi, balek kampong!! Sama2 skali lagi… balekk

• Ajib tai kor on Jan 12, 2021 at 9:19 am

You can’t differentiate a complaint from concern.We r not complaining.We r raising issues that concern the rakyat..Politicians don’t get retrenched.Workes get retrenched,dude.

• Gabriel on Jan 11, 2021 at 10:16 pm

Pity those that bought new car for Chinese New Year. Cannot show off already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • Sick & Tired on Jan 12, 2021 at 7:05 am

Ahbeng crying cannot show off their new rides

• Ajib tai kor on Jan 12, 2021 at 9:10 am

Show off?Those who can cancel the purchase,better do fast.You may not have a job to feed 96 monthly instalments.,unless u r super loaded like Hafriz who keeps buying X50.n exotic cars.

• Almighty Snack Bar on Jan 12, 2021 at 12:17 am

Illegal Bark so much. Do ntg but only making Malaysia a fool. Useless.

• CHE AZLAN SHAH on Jan 12, 2021 at 8:04 am

Kerajaan gagal rakyat jadi mangsa nya. Yg bebas dlm mco ini siapa. Orang tua, kluarga Dan kanak jadi mangsa d mereka telah patuhi sop. Yg degil d punca dari sabah lepas berleluasa d angkuh. Inikah kerajaan pn yg kita mahu. Tun m maseh d perlu kkan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • Last last promote M jugak.
      Next time start with promotion M code dulu, takayah tulis pangjang. Motif clear.

• Wa sedih on Jan 12, 2021 at 8:51 am

Patutnya PM buat PKP utk zon merah di Kedah?? Risau la kami :(

• azrai on Jan 12, 2021 at 9:54 am

Agong declares emergency until 1st August.

• Arafat on Jan 22, 2021 at 11:28 pm

Now i am in malacca ,my flight 2february ,how can i go kl airport.

• Arafat on Jan 22, 2021 at 11:30 pm

Now i am in malacca ,my flight 2february ,how can i go kl airport. Please inform me