The grace period for renewing expired road tax and driving licenses ends on December 31, but the road transport department (JPJ) says that a total of 3.78 million vehicles throughout the country are still running on expired road tax as of mid-November, Bernama reports.
With only a month to go before the end of the leeway, JPJ deputy director-general (planning and operations) Aedy Fadly Ramli reminded vehicle owners that they should renew their road tax as soon as possible. “For now, they still have a chance to renew their road tax, but after December 31 there will be no more warning or extension of the grace period,” he said.
He said that road tax renewal can be carried out at any JPJ branch or done online, and advised motorists not to wait until the last minute to renew their road tax, as this could cause congestion at JPJ counters.
The leeway for the renewal of road tax and driving licences was announced on June 1. In line with the closure of land transport agencies at the start of the full movement control order (FMCO), the transport ministry had announced that those with their driving license, road tax or vocational license (PSV/GDL) expiring between June 1 to July 31 this year had been given an extension until September 30 to renew the documents.
In September, transport minister Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong announced that the deadline had been extended until the end of the year.
Looking to sell your car? Sell it with myTukar.
This is Malaysia. Everyone loves to do things last minute. Since extended to December 31st, people are probably thinking “aiya, still got a month to go, later only renew la”
grace period also our thing..expecting that after 31dec
When not given, they complain Gomen heartless.
Never ever question malaysia customary practice of last minute rush work.
In Malaysia, when you do your job quick & complete the task early, your boss will say, “So free ah? Here.. I give you some more things to do..” That’s how the culture of procrastination came to be, but it has also got unfortunate effect when doing own personal task.
So,is Uncle Wee aware that the 3780000 vehicles not only have no road tax but many with expired insurance?
How can anyone claim insurance against the party at fault should there be a total write off due to accidents?
If you claim your own first party insurance for a Rm300,000 Mercedes ,your next purchase of another premium car will have zero NCD.
Is our menteri too caught up with the “ancient”JPJ,while law abiding motorists are penalised by roque drivers who couldnt be bothered to renew road tax plus insurance?
Gomen Spanco maintained Vellfires got no problem with roadtax /insurance..all paid by the rakyat.
And then when deadline is too close, they complain the Gomen is heartless & just out to fine them.
It is never their fault, it always must be someone else’s.
Sure waiting for time extension. on 31st December, they will blame the government for not being considerate enough.
saman them only la… biar they all kecut.
Read the latest news then you can get the answer.
https://paultan.org/2021/11/29/jpj-counter-system-ancient-needs-to-be-digitalised/
JPJ is too ‘ancient’ to dealth with the problem. Old equipment, old mentality, not responsive, waste time then what do you expect?
My road tax n insurance expired on 31st March 2021,so I went to renew it at post office, they said cannot bcos MCO, but I still want to drive my car, I hv no choice then I bought an insurance called promilej online, so I drive my car till today I want to renew my road tax, they said cannot becos my insurance still hv 3 months to go, so how??