2022 Honda HR-V scores 5 stars in ASEAN NCAP test

The 2022 Honda HR-V has received the full five stars in the ASEAN NCAP 2021-2025 assessment protocol, and the SUV delivered “an incredible performance” with a score of 81.38 points.

In the July 2022 test, the HR-V scored 35.00 points for Adult Occupant Protection (AOP, 40 max), 17.81 points for Child Occupant Protection (COP, 20 max), 18.57 points for Safety Assist (SA, 20 max) and 10.00 points for Motorcyclist Safety (MS, 20 max).

In Malaysia, the Honda Sensing active safety and driver assist suite is standard across the HR-V range, with the latest wide-view camera. Six airbags is from the E onwards (four on the base S) and LaneWatch is available from the V. Auto high beam is also on every HR-V.

“We are pleased that Honda is one the vehicle manufacturers that consistently ensuring their models to have both passive and active safety technologies. Apart from increasing the safety level for the vehicle occupants, Honda has also made the initiative to equip their SUVs with technologies that are able to avoid collisions with vulnerable road users such as motorcyclists,” said MIROS director-general, Datuk Khairil Anwar Abu Kassim.

“We have read cases before where children were accidentally left inside vehicles, which is something that we can indeed avoid. Hence, we are proud that Honda has also installed Child Presence Detection tech in the HR-V as standard equipment. By having this special technology, we are able to prevent incidences where children were accidentally left in the vehicles and consequently avert such unavoidable death,” he added.

For more on the new HR-V, check out our launch report, spec-by-spec comparison and review.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Savon on Sep 19, 2022 at 7:12 pm

Still not very good safety rating
    Come with 4 star EURO NCAP
    No blind spot monitor
    No 360 degree camera
    No rear cross traffic alert
    No front parking sensors

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 13
    • Novas on Sep 20, 2022 at 12:51 am

Watched the video ? 2:37 Blind spot monitor
      are you Toyota Salesman ? feeling threatened ? should be
      Corolla Cross ….
      no rear seatbelt reminder (also lower child occupant points)
      AEB – Only car/truck not include cyclist/motorcyclist/pedestrian
      no auto high beam
      low side impact points (ouch my shoulder)
      go watch side impact Asean NCAP (the car almost roll over)
      no hill decent control
      no steering assist
      no stop & go (wheewwwww traffic jammed gonna be very exhausting)
      still analog meter ? nice 2010 technology
      foot parking brake ? nice 1990 tech
      no auto hold ? whewwww traffic jam gonna make your leg tough on right side only LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 53
      • ROTI CANAI on Sep 20, 2022 at 8:30 am

laughs in proton x50, semua ada

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Dah Menang Semua on Sep 20, 2022 at 8:51 am

ASEAN NCAP
        ALZA 81.64 (DNGA power?)
        HRV 81.38 (City platform)
        BRV 77.02

• aumeow on Sep 20, 2022 at 9:22 am

Shaddap la honda troll, honda trolls have been spending their time for trolling other brands nonstop, because honda trolls are threatened too much most of the time about other brands. If you say
        HRV is better than Corolla Cross then why Corolla Cross gets 88.61 vs HRV gets 81.38 points
        Corolla Cross come with auto high beam and stop & go also got, you don’t know meh?
        Corolla Cross Hybrid come with full digital meter, you don’t know meh?
        This is to tell how much you have done reading spec so far
        How about why HRV no blind spot monitor? Also No 360 camera? Also No rear cross traffic alert? Also Come with analog meter but half while half come with digital? Also No temperature meter? Why? Even S spec come with 4 airbags?
        Do your homework first before you troll any other brands again.

• agreed with you aumeow. Those who usually post counter remarks are usually fanboy that doesn’t really own one or not seriously interested in getting one. I had made my long consideration before I had to give up and switch to the T badge, despite no matter how much I had like the design and looks from the beginning when it 1st launch in Japan. Sad truth but had to accept.

• Those fanboyism from honda always can’t even accept peoples/owners truth at all on what’s happening on honda issues but as usual they are always trying very hard by talking nonsense on other brands when package is really good. I don’t really understand why? Just because honda fanboys are always like trying to defend by bringing up more sales while safety already lose, same can be said for quality. Either that, are those honda fanboys are very jealous that seeing other brands came with better package? With those attitudes most of the time, people will turn away all sorts toxic talking from honda fanboysim and company itself and will buy others.

• Note Pen on Sep 20, 2022 at 7:47 pm

Yeah, also come all sorts poor quality problems like steering rack

• newme on Sep 20, 2022 at 12:10 pm

Stop and go? That’s the most horrible invention and dangerous. It should be banned.

• Stop & go applies complete stop if the vehicle ahead stops in front of you, and then resume driving the car autonomously if the stop is less than two/three seconds. Though Stop & go function have more advantages which is much better than nothing

• ROTI CANAI on Sep 19, 2022 at 8:43 pm

test the same car in europe and see if can even get 3 star

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Sep 20, 2022 at 8:42 am

Why HRV only scores 4-star in Europe?

• aumeow on Sep 20, 2022 at 9:23 am

It does matter, who’s gonna buy HRV that come with poor safety ratings

• Kapchai on Sep 20, 2022 at 9:37 am

If test to previous europe protocol, it can get 5 star.

BMW i4 EV also only 4 star for latest Europe Testing protocol.
        Hyundai Tucson 2021 get Zer0 Latin NCAP lagi.

Semua pun Total Loss after 64km/h accident.

• At the end of the day, many would still choose this over rival due to the fact it has 1.5T option, bigger interior space and better styling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • Haters will always be haters. Ignoring the actual fact. Don’t like should just go jerkoff.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Who buy this car when looks so ugly. In this pic, the rim also looks ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • newme on Sep 20, 2022 at 12:12 pm

If people can accept X50 grille that looks like a vagina opening, I am sure they can accept anything.