Perodua will not increase prices of existing models in 2023; ‘as long as we can withstand, we will,’ says CEO

There have been some upward movement in car prices this year as costs rise, but market leader Perodua has vowed to maintain its prices in 2023.

“For Perodua’s existing models, although there’s an increase in material prices, we will maintain our prices, at least for this year,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Seri Zainal Abidin Ahmad at the company’s 2023 outlook event yesterday.

Perodua will instead use its “own internal cost reduction for us to manage” and “there must be a way for our vendors to also reduce costs, whether from overhead reduction or whatever,” he added.

P2 has been consistent with its stand to not increase prices. “We hope material prices and fuel prices remain manageable; at the same time, we also hope that foreign exchange and interest rates would be favourable to industry growth,” Zainal said last month, adding that if these factors remain “within acceptable levels”, Perodua will maintain its vehicle prices.

As for the jump in price from old Axia to the upcoming D74A Axia, the P2 chief stressed that the higher price is due to the car being bigger, safer and better equipped than before. It’s not due to the “impact of inflation or material costs”, he said.

“As long as we can withstand (bertahan), we will withstand,” Zainal declared, adding that his personal forecast is that cost of materials will peak this year and will start to come down by mid-year.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Undi PH dapat UMNO on Feb 01, 2023 at 8:05 pm

The best car brand in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • P2 penipu scalper, in the past RM 50k can get you full spec Myvi. Now P2 downgraded buyers from Bsegment to Asegment. Shame on you for insulting buyers P2!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • Kambi on Feb 03, 2023 at 6:57 am

Excited, cancelling my sister booking of 2nd hand compact hb VW Polo, which only has 2 airbags and no VSC, no reverse camera, no BSM, etc.

• milo tin low cost not affected , thats why no price increase

• peroduasupporter on Feb 08, 2023 at 8:22 am

milo tin boleh!

• Being over gungho ..A Clear and Present Danger on Feb 01, 2023 at 8:13 pm

Dont even think of increasing price,P2 .
    You should think of price reduction.
    Without 250,000 buyers last year..you r no where.
    Time to reciprocate the blockbuster support from us P2 loyalists.
    Raya is around the corner very soon.
    Absorption of the SST n a further 5% rebate will be a win win blockbuster sales booster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • Celup King on Feb 01, 2023 at 10:24 pm

They oredi upcar prices long time ago. In the past RM 50k can get you full spec Myvi. Now P2 downgraded buyers from Bsegment to Asegment. Shame on you for insulting buyers P2!
      P2 penipu scalper!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Retired grabber on Feb 01, 2023 at 8:19 pm

No asa option for top model like ativa and alza please. For whom may feel that not really useful. For eco idle if really need to include it, please ament system only stop if shifted to neutral gear, dun auto stop the engine while in D gear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Anonymous_C on Feb 01, 2023 at 9:31 pm

Existing models don’t have much changes.. initial manufacturing parts for these previous launch model should be at positive margin.

P2 don’t really introduce new parts to each model product, thus parts manufacturing mostly comes from cost of material, labour and etc etc.

If take Alza for study case, that model didn’t have much changes and demand is so high. P2 never much reduce this model’s price range until end of production.

Believe P2 has a lot of reserve funds.

• Kenny on Feb 02, 2023 at 9:46 pm

Exactly, they started using newer tech earlier,

E.g aluminium block engines, 0W-20 fully synthetic, then now D-CVT, changes are quite progressive to made thier DNGA Alza good, which better than my old Honda Stream – better posture comfort yet more spacious.

• Ya Perodua madani! Maintain price and give ACC. Not like bimmer on Feb 01, 2023 at 9:50 pm

Kelab Penyokong Zeer

• newme on Feb 02, 2023 at 8:58 am

“Perodua will not increase prices of existing models in 2023; ‘as long as we can withstand, we will,’”

What a noble statement. Padahal new model naik gila2 quoting advanced features that no one wants in budget cars.

• PlainBS on Feb 02, 2023 at 11:07 am

Dear P2, stick it up to your AXX…
    I am not willing to spend over 50k bucks for a small car Axia.
    No wonder sales are down….

• Aura89 on Feb 02, 2023 at 11:07 am

Wait, why would anyone pay for this at this point? Other manufacturers have cars that are better than this. It feels almost like an attempt to juice more the whales, since everyone with a brain would not buy this. It’s also on the limit of being a scam, there are people who bought just a week and regret it now.

• Justice on Feb 02, 2023 at 2:13 pm

Perodua will not improve its car qualities, services and delivery timeliness as longs buyers blantly continues to support them sounds more accurate

• Language Teacher on Feb 03, 2023 at 11:10 am

we not quite care about the price..we need to know how soon can we get our booked cars, waiting for more than 3 months is unacceptable..there are customers who waited for 6 months i heard ..come onnn…