SUKE Highway Phase 2 teased – Ulu Kelang to Sri Petaling in just 20 minutes, official opening soon

Prolintas has teased the impending opening of the Sungai Besi-Ulu Kelang Elevated Expressway (SUKE) Phase 2. The concessionaire posted up a picture of the SUKE’s Sri Petaling interchange, saying that it will take just 20 minutes from Ulu Kelang to Sri Petaling.

“Your journey will be faster with the opening of the Sri Petaling interchange, SUKE Highway Phase 2, soon! This highway is the best alternative to avoid traffic jams on the MRR2. Experience a smoother and safe journey with SUKE Phase 2, which connects you direct to your destination. This intersection is set to connect you to six other highways heading to the south of KL,” the caption reads.

Phase 1 of the SUKE was opened to traffic in September 2022. The first phase is a 16.6 km stretch spans from the signature big loop Cheras-Kajang interchange to Bukit Antarabangsa. Phase 2 connects Sri Petaling and Kesas (where Endah Parade is) to the Cheras-Kajang interchange, near Plaza Phoenix.

Click to enlarge map

In total, SUKE has 14 interchanges along its 24.4 km main line length (57.7 km if one includes all the interchanges), and these are Sri Petaling, Sungai Besi, Alam Damai, Cheras-Kajang, Cheras-Hartamas, Bukit Teratai, Tasik Tambahan, Permai, Kosas, Pekan Ampang, Ampang Point, Ulu Kelang, Hillview and Bukit Antarabangsa.

The MRR2 alternative is linked to the said ring road, Kesas (at Sri Petaling), KL-Seremban Highway, Sungai Besi Expressway (Besraya), Grand Saga, Ampang-Kuala Lumpur Elevated Highway (AKLEH) and the Duta-Ulu Kelang Expressway (DUKE). The future East Klang Valley Expressway (EKVE) will also be linked.

SUKE is a very scenic highway with a couple of unique features, and one more will be joining the list with the opening of Phase 2. Those around the Cheras area would know of the double-deck highway at Alam Damai that has been erected for some time now – that’s part of SUKE Phase 2.

As for tolls, the SUKE has three toll plazas – Phase 2’s Alam Damai will join the existing Bukit Teratai and Ampang, which collect RM2.30 each. Read all about the SUKE here, with our drone shots.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Nurul Izzah on Jun 06, 2023 at 11:35 am

Anwar menang rakyat senang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Ground europe passenger on Jun 06, 2023 at 12:45 pm

The constructions infront of the desa tun razak finally over kah? The bugging jam like over 10 years to build this suke, hopefully it can helps to ease the cheras jam.

• Bad planning due to bad planners on Jun 06, 2023 at 3:25 pm

In 3 years,it takes 1 hour from Kajang just to reach the first Suke interchange at Alam Jaya to Ulukelang.
      Cheras will become a car park during peak hours moving at snail pace.

• Pengguna lebuhraya on Jun 06, 2023 at 1:34 pm

SUKE DUKE membayar tol untuk masa perjalanan yang singkat

• 20 minit jer!… but kene bayar lah

• For 8 years or so it took them to complete the highway, users of current MRR2 suffered due to excessive lane closures and disruptions. Gomen should ensure no disruptions to current roads and highways if new highways are planned. It seems new highway construction are major cause of jams.

• I was told it cost RM7 to pass through the current completed section of SUKE. So entire journey of 20 minutes could cost double that? No thanks.

• When you constantly have to go through the snail pace traffic, if not not moving at all, that RM7 is just a small amount for the stress free drive assuming it’s free flowing cos we all know many toll roads also have heavy traffic.

• Pro Highway on Jun 06, 2023 at 7:27 pm

Lovely. We need more wider expressways (min 5 lanes) in Klang Valley and outside Klang Valley (min 3 lanes). LEKAS hoghway can be extended to connect with PLUS instead of ending at Ampang Seremban (which you need to use state road with 10 traffic lights before you can reconnect to PLUS).

• Mr nobody on Jun 06, 2023 at 9:22 pm

Tmn len seng double decker stretch doesn’t look like it’s gonna be ready soon.

Just 3 weeks ago at Alam Damai, it looks like it’s still knee deep in the works with few huge heavy machinery milling about. The limited number of machinery goes to show how soon its going to be completed unless they want to open Alam Damai ramps next year.

• ManaNi... on Jun 06, 2023 at 11:21 pm

Yes it’s faster to get there. Money gone also very fast. I now using from kajang to Ampang… go 2.30×2 and back 2.30×2. That’s 9.20 everyday. Almost enough to buy 2x menu ramah…
    When school holiday or weekend not so jam I will use back old way to save money.

• meladam on Jun 07, 2023 at 10:01 am

sounds tiring. Maybe you can rent a nearby condo or start your own biz. just saying :)

• Obsessed with highways on Jun 07, 2023 at 9:00 pm

The rakyat is sucked dry left and right – we pay for the cars and tolls, which finally feeds the govt / highway concessionaires. Now you wonder why there’s not much incentive to improve public transport.

• Suvanna bt Saravanna on Jun 22, 2023 at 2:30 pm

once this is over, another project will turn up and cause road closures all over again. bad planners. curse the politicians