Chery Omoda 5, Tiggo 8 Pro Malaysia launch on July 6

We’ve talked about the brand’s return, showed you the cars from China and detailed the two local launch models – now, finally, Chery’s brand launch is a go, and the chosen date is July 6. “Block your calendars on 6 July 2023 and witness our momentous brand launch! The Omoda 5 and Tiggo 8 Pro will be taking centre stage,” Chery Malaysia said on its Facebook page.

UPDATE: The Chery Omoda 5 has been launched in Malaysia, with pricing starting from RM109k.The Tiggo 8 is priced at RM160k.

Here’s a recap of the Omoda 5 and Tiggo 8 Pro SUVs, starting with the smaller and funkier one. The Omoda 5 is a B-segment SUV that’s taking aim at the Honda HR-V, Toyota Corolla Cross and Proton X50. No small CBU batch to ‘test the waters’ but its CKD local assembly at Inokom in Kulim right from the start – Chery is serious about its return and has made Malaysia its right-hand drive R&D and production hub.

Behind the Omoda 5’s wide, studded nose is an 1.5 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine with 154 hp and 230 Nm of torque, hence the 230T badge. Drive goes to the front wheels via a CVT with nine virtual ratios. Chery’s in-house engines will get a 10-year/1 million km warranty in Malaysia, which should put to bed any reliability concerns.

Chery is perhaps the most international-minded Chinese OEM, and the Omoda 5 gets Apple CarPlay and Android Auto. Wireless too, and your phone rests on an angle for easy viewing. Speaking of phones, there’s also wireless charging. Also included are a sunroof (manual sunshade) and an eight-speaker Sony sound system. And how about double-glazed windows to boost NVH? It’s also a better right-hand drive conversion effort than Geely-Proton. Full walk-around video here.

How much? We’re expecting the Omoda 5’s price to slot between the X50 Flagship (RM113,300) and HR-V Turbo V (RM134,800); perhaps closer to the Proton. We’ll see.

The Tiggo 8 Pro we’re getting is the latest improved version of the SUV, which is badged Tiggo 8 Pro Max in China. They’ve decided to drop the ‘Max’ suffix in Malaysia to simplify things – it’s the only Tiggo 8 we’re going to get anyway. Like the Omoda 5, the three-row, seven-seat D-segment SUV is CKD locally assembled in Kedah.

Under the hood is a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine with 250 hp and 390 Nm of torque. Power from the GDI engine goes to the front wheels via a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission, and there are three drive modes – Eco, Normal and Sport.

By the way, today’s Tiggo 8 Pro differs from the one that was previewed in Malaysia last year. The SUV gets an updated look that features a new “galaxy” grille and the rear end sports a full-width LED bar and fancy T-shaped third brake lights. The wheels are now 19-inch items, an inch up, wrapped with 235/50R19 tyres.

It’s nicer outside now, but it’s inside that the updated Tiggo 8 Pro shines. The big SUV gets a contemporary and horizontal dash design featuring must-haves such as conjoined screens (24.6 inches in total, Chery says), inline AC vents and a high centre console. It’s all much neater now, and there are places where you’ll find Mercedes-esque details – think switches, open-pore wood trim and Burmester-styled speaker grilles.

The steering wheel is also new, with Chery spelled out instead of the logo. Speaking of logos, there are Tiggo emblems on the side of the central screen and the rear AC vent area. Kit wise, the airbag count maxes out at nine now, and there are a total of eight Sony speakers.

As for the rest of the kit, the list includes an electronic parking brake with auto hold, automatic LED headlamps with LED daytime running lights, LED tail lamps, welcome lights and multi-colour ambient lighting, electric front seats with ventilation/heating, driver’s seat memory, dual-zone auto air con with rear vents, powered tailgate, electronic panoramic sunroof, wireless phone charger and Apple CarPlay/Android Auto compatibility.

Full ADAS suite too, of course. By the way, the camera system isn’t advertised as 360 degrees but 540. Before you scratch your head, the extra degrees are contributed by the underfloor camera. How much for all these kit on a Proton X90 and Mazda CX-8 rival? How about around RM165k? Before you answer, check out our full walk-around video.

Not long now, just a little more than two weeks more for the official brand debut of Chery and its two launch models – the Omoda 5 and Tiggo 8 Pro. More are coming, including CKD plug-in hybrids and CBU full EVs.

GALLERY: 2023 Chery Omoda 5 in Malaysia

GALLERY: 2023 Chery Tiggo 8 Pro in Malaysia

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Better buy now… China EVs are gonna be unaffordable to most soon!

• Haters gonna hate on Jun 20, 2023 at 10:54 am

Look inward, your salary is too low for current lifestyle, time to make a change and stop being lazy

• applegreen on Jun 20, 2023 at 4:27 pm

thanks to our brilliant PH BN gomen.
        cheap Proton & Smart EV real soon..

• Celup King on Jun 20, 2023 at 5:25 pm

Tenkiu Azminkor & Sabrikor for bringing back Chery as CKD to boost job opportunity. Hope uols come back soon again.

• Bob Mal on Jun 20, 2023 at 11:05 am

Well all they best although we are unsure how Malaysia is considered its right-hand drive R&D and production hub since Indonesia similarly already assembled and sold both cars months ago.

We are Glad you have not been like Hyundai bringing the car from Indonesia and mark it up almost 2x.

• yusrykru on Jun 20, 2023 at 11:10 am

bring mo competition

• President Xi on Jun 20, 2023 at 11:19 am

China numba one!

• Maximilliano Chow Sing Tung on Jun 20, 2023 at 4:36 pm

Too much tofu you eat ah

• President Xi on Jun 20, 2023 at 5:42 pm

Soon we will conquer u. I meant ur car market. We will dominate! And soon people no longer buy Proton Perodua!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Like the color tho.

• komarad on Jun 20, 2023 at 12:09 pm

Geely n Proton trembling already..

• Good marketing, good review, nice design just doubt when sales overflow,will it ended like other carmakers …..short of parts, less durability of parts/components quality for this region…..lack of knowledge and low integrity,efficiency by local agent….ended up most cars lying in SC for months….

• Patutlar PT wrote a buying guide for X50. Kecian Proton.