According to Facebook posts by a local Volkswagen dealer, the Golf R is set to become a locally-assembled (CKD) model soon. Details like pricing and a launch date were not provided, but the dealer stated in the post that bookings are currently being accepted.
The Mk8 Golf range in Malaysia currently consists of just two variants, namely the GTI and Golf R. Of the two performance offerings, only the GTI is assembled locally while the Golf R is fully imported (CBU) from Germany. It should be noted the Golf was previously available in R-Line guise but that has since been discontinued.
At present, the Golf R goes for RM431,162 on-the-road without insurance. If it is indeed true that a CKD version will be introduced, we can expect it to retail for lower than the CBU price tag. It would also mark the first time the Golf R is produced outside the ‘home of the Golf’ in Wolfsburg.
For even more guesswork, we don’t expect the Golf R’s powertrain to be any different between the CBU and CKD versions. The setup is currently made up of an EA888 2.0 litre turbocharged inline four-cylinder petrol engine pumping out 320 PS (315 hp or 235 kW) and 400 Nm of torque, paired with a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission and 4Motion all-wheel drive.
As for equipment changes, the CKD Golf R should match the CKD Golf GTI by gaining the latter’s IQ.Drive – this was introduced in March this year. The CBU model arrived back in February 2022 without any advanced driver assistance systems (ADAS), so getting an updated kit list to ensure parity is a possibility.
GALLERY: 2022 Volkswagen Golf R (CBU)
More fun than driving mercedes and A35 AMG
Yes owsemm. Pipu stronk konfiden in the current PHBN gomen,!!
If you prefer R, thinking it’s more fun, sure. Many reviewers have commented that the GTI has higher fun factor at a much cheaper price. No doubt, not as fast as the R but definitely more enjoyable to drive.
Mercedes has a completely different focus and target market. One day, you might understand it and enjoy owning one.
And you’re comparing this against the AMG A35? Which is cheaper by the cost of a Honda City? Really?
I own an AMG and a GTI. Both cars are fun in their own ways. You should try having 420HP under your right foot before saying it’s less fun. In fact, all cars are fun in their own ways. You just need to know what to do to improve them.
Owned three cars at home, C Class W205 2016, Golf R 2019 and Audi A5 Quattro 2022, already driven but sorry to say, merc is still long way to beat both of my Golf R and Audi A5 as both have better power and better handling than C Class W205 2016. Even I also tried with my friend 330i LCI G20, somehow can also feel that also beats my C Class W205 2016 and also realized that why my C Class W205 2016 is a bit uncomfortable as 330i LCI G20. Yet my friend also told me he also chose 330i LCI G20 over W206 C Class as due to comfort, handling, performance and interior. I also don’t even trade in my C Class W205 2016 to any new Merc models as no differences inside and technology also not much difference after test out not only any new Merc models and also C Class W206.
Just traded in my 330i LCI G20 for Lexus IS 300 F-Sport. best decisi
Yes, but in the past and now did you know why other continental brands have already beat mercedes. I’m not saying that Mercedes is bad, but in truth and reality, things will change though and also talk in facts
Agreed
Another wow news today.
How about Tiguan R Ckd version? Really like to see that coming.
If not possible, VW Malaysia please bring the new and upcoming 2025 Tiguan R and Ckd it in Malaysia.
Do not want to settle with the GLC300 or X330i at that price range. Tiguan R would be better specs and powerful as well.
Hebat la Malaysia! Thanks to Anwar and PH-BN government, even Germans also want to assemble their cars in Malaysia. KipiDAP!
Jangan lupa isi borang keahlian DAP.
Malaysia will become first world thanks to PM Anwar Ibrahim. He is just like Erdogan of Turkiye who made the country relevant today
CKD PRICE: RM 399’999. LMAO
Nice car to drive.. Hope they dont stick an insane price tag to it …
They will.
Never say based on price till this locally assembled car launch
Pls scrap cars above 20yrs. Full of bc bruk otr
They had to, at 431k that’s about 80k more than the A35 which is it’s competitor. Overseas their prices are comparable but no not here in Bolehland.
If drop to rm350, same price and same performance to A35, die hard will say better buy R. Even non die hard fans agree But at the end Even die hard fans will go for A35.
Die hard fans will not simply buy A35 as can see why A35 cant beat Golf R when comes about power and handling
Because you are not rich enough to own any car. If yes, you can have multiple premium cars. Because you are not rich enough too to own one. When you are finally to own one premium car for working hard so long, ask yourself will you buy golf R or AMG35? Either one of this car is a huge upgrade compared to your existing cars. You can hardly notice the dif during test drive. Also you are not track racer. Other than speed, you enjoy the infotainmemt system, the ambient of interior design, the premium feel of the brands. That’s why die hard fans of tyre R will not spend rm300k for it. Many of them will tolerate and just buy C class and 3 series. Fast enough for majority of us. Even If you give me rear wheel drive, i dare not try to drift. I have no skills to squeeze the car to the max.
One – why many not buying Type R because is CBU if CKD, many will buy, get your logic correct
Two – Rich or not rich, doesn’t mean that rich people will simply buy premium cars just because of loving showing off and because of the brands, people now will make sure to buy car when quality, tech, power and design are there especially when doing research before buy cars but only not the smart one will simply buy car because of the brand but don’t know whether feels boring or not, or good quality or not or feel underpowered or not or pass moose test or not like why mercedes have recently fail in moose and handling test
Three – if you say this car have no difference than Golf R and Golf under MK7.5, have you see any differences or you just simply said
Also, yes, many love to buy BMW and Mercedes, but already in the past and even before pandemic, but things will change, no longer buying car because of logo and now people are now looking forward to buy cars if performance are good, interior and tech have more details, quality is there and so on.
GTi already expensive. How much lower can the R go? Cheaper than arteon?
Tapi kete kami ada tebo
Ativa and Golf aren’t same segment and interior level are also different
GR COROLLA > THIS
Both of Corolla GR and Golf R are worth looking cars
More attractive than A35
If one got the money to buy R spec, what is CKD to him? What about normal and GTi Golf?