2023 Toyota Corolla GR Sport confirmed for Malaysia – launch on August 28; to be priced at RM152,800?

UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has begun teasing the new Toyota Corolla GR Sport, which will be launched in Malaysia this coming Monday on August 28, 2023. The sportified C-segment sedan will join other GR Sport models in the line-up based on the Corolla Cross as well as the Hilux.

UPDATE: The Toyota Corolla GR Sport has been launched in Malaysia, with the regular variants also receiving updates.

The company is not providing official details for now, but based on our previous sighting of a price list for the Corolla which included a GR Sport package option, the upcoming model will come with a GR Sport front bumper, alloy wheels, interior finishing and sports suspension tuning.

Said price list (effective from July 3, 2023) is still accessible on Toyota Malaysia’s website, with the GR Sport package priced at RM5,000. However, it is only offered for the 1.8G variant, which currently has an estimated price of RM147,800 on-the-road without insurance. As such, the Corolla GR Sport will most likely retail for RM152,000. We’ll need to wait until Monday to find out if this is true.

With no mention of engine tweaks, the Corolla GR Sport should retain the same 2ZR-FE 1.8 litre naturally-aspirated inline-four engine that makes 139 PS (138 hp or 103 kW) at 6,400 rpm and 172 Nm of torque, mated to a CVT driving the front wheels. This echoes the Corolla Cross GR Sport and Hilux GR Sport, which only get visual and suspension changes.

The debut of the Corolla GR Sport in Malaysia is delayed when compared to neighbouring markets. In Thailand, the Corolla GR Sport (known as the Corolla Altis GR Sport there) comes with a hybrid powertrain, while in the Philippines, the model is powered by a non-hybrid 1.6 litre NA four-cylinder.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
  • kusoking on Aug 25, 2023 at 2:12 pm

Is it because the engine be a GR sport or add the body kit became a GR? No, thank you toyota Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 33
    • Vantage on Aug 25, 2023 at 3:56 pm

Then why so many malaysians love to buy GR, it is only you can’t able to afford

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 25
      • Tsalesmanv2 on Aug 27, 2023 at 2:19 am

Nope, people buy because it looks sporty
        Even got tapau by Civic or Mazda 3 , we still win the RV race.
        HP & Torque means nothing without sporty looks.

• Peppa on Aug 25, 2023 at 2:12 pm

What about the tech? At RM150k, it should come with 2.0 Dynamic Force engine, Toyota in-house infotainment system and digital instrument cluster

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 0
    • Sarcasm on Aug 25, 2023 at 6:45 pm

No need. As consumer still buying it because it is Toyota. Trust me.

• call me by your name on Aug 25, 2023 at 9:47 pm

nah youre talking with toyota malaysia here

• still the same? too late…
    many ppl will wait for tesla model 3 with this price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 25
    • Really? on Aug 25, 2023 at 3:37 pm

Good luck with maintenance price and quality if you buy Tesla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
      • EV car can last very long.

look how long your table fan or ceiling fan last.

that’s literally the same EV motor. with 0 maintenance.

your slow jap car on the other hand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 34
        • Really? on Aug 25, 2023 at 3:52 pm

It depends on which EV car brand are more reliable. EV car does not mean that able to last long and also zero maintenance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Yaris GR on Aug 25, 2023 at 2:27 pm

Cantik dan mantap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
  • Ben Yap on Aug 25, 2023 at 2:47 pm

RM150k for a 1.8… might as well just get the Civic FE with higher power output.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 31
    • Chris on Aug 25, 2023 at 3:57 pm

Honda’s quality, and reliability are in the past. The only saving grace is the spare part availability and repair time is acceptable. If unlucky, you’ll probably need to spend some amount of time visiting service center

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 17
  • tricycle on Aug 25, 2023 at 2:48 pm

Not a civic competitor and not mazda also. maybe can compete with myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • eeeriz on Aug 25, 2023 at 2:57 pm

Corolla Altis has been with 1.8 litre engine for as long as I can remember.. i wonder if toyota wants to upgrade to turbocharged engine for GR variant.

• Well sadly in Malaysia only the Camry, Innova ZENIX & Harrier having the Dynamic Force Engine at least latest in the Toyota engine family that manages to achieve 40% Thermal Efficiency without turbo or hybrid while the rest of the models offered here still using the same archaic engine type.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Haidi on Aug 25, 2023 at 3:01 pm

When it comes to the price tag of RM15x,xxx , feels like it’s too expensive for a 1.8L NA. I know it just added RM5,000 but the 15x,xxx will not be a good number for its sales, my guess.
    Still wish Toyota the best. Happy to see the C-seg GR-S is finally here.

• GR this there la, no need la. Syiok sendiri It is just a Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 20
    • Vantage on Aug 25, 2023 at 3:55 pm

Then why so many malaysians love toyota sportiness like GR, only you can’t able to afford

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 22
  • GengM on Aug 25, 2023 at 3:04 pm

Findings ways to increase price by adding few plastics…. huh.. another CON MAN Effort

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
  • anonymous on Aug 25, 2023 at 3:12 pm

what a missed opportunity to not introduce the hybrid because honestly the hybrids are tried and tested and most toyota owners around the world swear by them. itulah UMWT really sucks here, hyper focused on giving their cars the ‘look fast’ treatment or selling what Perodua already is selling. our only offering for a hybrid is the corolla cross with sub standard specs. a shame really.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
  • alibaba902 on Aug 25, 2023 at 3:37 pm

still cheaper than kimchi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Really? on Aug 25, 2023 at 3:38 pm

GR-S is the best

• Vantage on Aug 25, 2023 at 3:57 pm

Come with hybrid

• NotAGR on Aug 25, 2023 at 4:06 pm

139PS also sport leh?

• hazri on Aug 25, 2023 at 4:22 pm

for the price, maybe should wait for new facelift crv and cx5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • Ur moms car on Aug 25, 2023 at 4:31 pm

Rather have a hybrid than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Winner Ong on Aug 25, 2023 at 4:45 pm

Happy news for losers pay this money for small enjin car so be happy my self free also don’t want. I drive my BMW Range Rover is call class so don’t be angry me because I call you loser. You better stay loser for ever bcos your otak is nothing inside pay 150k for rubbish you better to buy use conti. Winner wish prosper to my fans who take my advice but loser can forever be loser.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • Victor T. on Aug 25, 2023 at 9:12 pm

Just to keep in mind the PH-market Corolla GR Sport now also gets a Hybrid powertrain but still expensive and features still not worth IMO.

• FudgeMeSideways on Aug 25, 2023 at 10:05 pm

Why is it so hard to release Corolla hatchback in Malaysia?

• RavenAii (Member) on Aug 26, 2023 at 6:27 am

What? Still the same old 1.8L na? At least give us the 2.0L Dynamic Force, or if not viable just put the 1.8L hybrid from the cross. I drive a friend’s Corolla and I do admit its such a nice car, but the engine though. Most Malaysians are hunger for horsepower and the 1.8L na does not justify the RM150k pricetag.

• Junkies otr on Aug 26, 2023 at 9:02 am

Bengs will having wet dreams

• JJTan on Aug 26, 2023 at 6:24 pm

Looks good, but there’s only ONE problem which I couldn’t understand about UMW Toyota Motor is that they offer 1.8L engine for Corolla Altis instead of 2.0L Dynamic Force engine which was available in most other countries. Really hoping that UMW Toyota Motor can bring in 2.0L Dynamic Force engine into Malaysia for Corolla Altis to replace current 1.8L engine.

• This GR is just body kit. It may look sporty but when others invite you for a race, you has to console yourself that you want to drive safely.