BMW i5 G60E – specs listed on Malaysian website; eDrive40, M60 xDrive; up to 601 PS, 582 km EV range

BMW Malaysia has listed preliminary specifications for the BMW i5 on its official website, a few months after the all-electric sedan made its debut back in May this year. The company has already been accepting registrations of interest for a while, and we’re now getting some details of what to expect.

In terms of variants, the model page lists the eDrive40 and M60 xDrive, the latter being the more performance-focused option. Both use the same lithium-ion battery but the eDrive40 comes with a single electric motor driving the rear wheels, while the M60 xDrive gets a dual-motor setup for all-wheel drive.

Each powertrain has specific nominal outputs as you’d expect, although the figures can be increased when certain modes are engaged. Here are all the facts and figures of the i5’s variants:

BMW i5 eDrive40

• Electric motor output: 313 PS (308 hp or 230 kW) and 400 Nm
  • Electric motor output with My Mode Sport and Sport Boost/Launch Control function engaged: 340 PS (335 hp or 250 kW) and 430 Nm
  • Battery capacity: 81.2 kWh net (84.3 kWh gross)
  • Range (WLTP): 497 to 582 km
  • 0-100 km/h time: 6.0 seconds
  • Top speed: 193 km/h

BMW i5 M60 xDrive

• Electric motor output: 517 PS (510 hp or 380 kW) and 795 Nm
  • Electric motor output with My Mode Sport and M Sport Boost/M Launch Control function engaged: 601 PS (593 hp or 442 kW) and 820 Nm
  • Battery capacity: 81.2 kWh net (84.3 kWh gross)
  • Range (WLTP): 455 to 516 km
  • 0-100 km/h time: 3.8 seconds
  • Top speed: 230 km/h

BMW i5 eDrive40 example routes (left), M60 xDrive (right); click to enlarge

As for charging, the i5 duo can handle a maximum AC input of 11 kW, with a full charge from 0-100% taking four hours and 15 minutes (eDrive40) or four hours and 25 minutes (M60 xDrive). Peak DC charging capacity is the same for both at 205 kW, with a 10-80% state of charge achieved in just 30 minutes. On the model page, BMW Malaysia lists a few example routes for each variant from Kuala Lumpur to either Kuantan, Singapore or Krabi, including any potential stops for charging.

In the configurator section, we’re presented with quite a number of options, including Base, M Sport and M Sport Pro appearance packages. In addition to that, there are also 13 colours listed (the Base only gets eight hues), five wheel designs ranging from 19 to 21 inches, eight interior upholsteries as well as seven interior trims. The car depicted in the video at the top of the page is an eDrive40 with the M Sport package (M Sport Pro comes with a black grille surround), while the following still image is also an eDrive40 but in Base form.

BMW i5 with Base appearance package (left), M Sport (middle), M Sport Pro (right); click to enlarge

Further down, available equipment mentioned include the Iconic Glow kidney grille, Dynamic Light Carpet, a panoramic glass sunroof, BMW Interaction Bar, an 18-speaker Bowers & Wilkins sound system, BMW Curved Display with BMW Live Cockpit Professional, AirConsole games and Driving Assistant Professional.

Do keep in mind that what’s mentioned here isn’t indicative of what customers will be able to buy, so we’ll have to wait till we get a proper spec sheet. Aside from the fully electric i5, we should also expect BMW Malaysia to offer petrol and plug-in hybrid versions of the latest G60 5 Series, although these options won’t benefit from the current electric vehicle (EV) incentives offered by the government.

GALLERY: G60E BMW i5 M60 xDrive

GALLERY: G60E BMW i5 eDrive40

Learn more: ,

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Peppa on Sep 29, 2023 at 10:20 am

This could do well in Malaysia if it is not more than RM400k. The range and space are plenty good

• 0t0man on Sep 29, 2023 at 3:36 pm

Listed specs that we’ve known for 4 months now is newsworthy, l0l

• Nice

• The front and back are hideous AF. Not sure what BMW is smoking, but seeing as they’ve public admitted they’re catering to EMEA and Chinese markets this makes sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • Pears on Sep 29, 2023 at 5:35 pm

Better than Mercedes EV and Mercedes non-EV

• Rolled Eyes on Oct 01, 2023 at 10:55 am

It’s OK bro. Please stick with your choice. Better or not, it’s you and your gang’s opinion. Mercedes owners don’t give a hoot cos most of them also own BMW as 4th or 5th car anyway. They don’t discriminate as much, or should i say not as narrow minded?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
        • Isaac on Oct 01, 2023 at 6:03 pm

Yes, similar goes to Mercedes fanboys too should also bash other brands including BMW and Audi. Btw, if Mercedes Fanbois doesn’t discriminate then why Mercedes fanbois have been discriminating other brands including Audi much, anyways, since you don’t know much

• Isaac on Oct 01, 2023 at 8:01 pm

I mean Mercedes fanbois should not bashing other brands including BMW and Audi, well since they are the ones who did that. I have to recorrect my first sentence.

• Tesla on Sep 29, 2023 at 4:05 pm

If the price is not competitive vs Tesla then good bye….will be a niche product

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Pears on Sep 29, 2023 at 5:25 pm

Niche product? Then why many will still buy BMW EVs models when BMW EVs have many advantages

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 01, 2023 at 8:33 am

say tak nak to overpriced unreliable yahudi crap, say yes to Tesla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Isaac on Oct 01, 2023 at 6:05 pm

Better than Mercedes EQE and W214 E Class

• hazri on Oct 02, 2023 at 7:28 pm

i miss the old design already..

• But too bad, outdated than this car. This car looks fresh than old 5 series