PADU development cost is over RM85 mil, says Rafizi – so why isn’t it fully used for targeted fuel subsidies?

If you’re wondering how much it has cost to develop the Pangkalan Data Utama (PADU) socio-economic database, here’s the answer. From 2023 till now, the government has spent RM85.27 million to get the much-vaunted integrated national socio-economic database in place, The Star reports.

According to economy minister Rafizi Ramli, the cost includes that for equipment and ICT software, checking and verification services, publicity services and strategic communications for the platform. The sum spent also covers the registration of users, both online and offline, he said in a written reply in parliament, made in response to a question by Salamiah Mohd Nor (PN-Temerloh) on eligible recipients of targeted subsidies based on the PADU database.

The database, which was officially rolled out on January 2, is supposed to combine all available data of individuals and households collected from government departments and agencies, making it a key component in how the government retargets subsidies and assistance, utilising household net disposable income metrics as an indicator.

In early communication about it when it was launched, the government said that the data collected by PADU would be used to determine eligibility for its targeted fuel subsidy, but the subsequent emergence of the Program Bantuan Subsidi Madani following the move to implement targeted fuel subsidies starting with diesel raised questions about how big a role PADU actually played in determining things in the diesel rationalisation programme.

Much of this is down to having diesel owners register themselves for aid under Budi Madani, which begs the question – if PADU has all the necessary data, why can’t it be used to determine who is eligible and who isn’t, and why the need to register yet again on Budi? After all, it has been established that the database has info on all the cars you own, as well as relevant data that would determine if you qualify or not for assistance.

The lack of dynamic and complete data could have something to do with that, with Rafizi revealing that PADU now has data on 10,544,016 individuals.

This is marginally lower than the around 10.85 million that was said to have signed up at the end of the registration period (March 31). While that number was nearly 50% of the total number of 21.96 million Malaysians aged 18 and above (out of 30.08 million individuals placed in the database), that’s also half the available dynamic data the government has at its disposal to quantify things. One can only hope that the process for RON 95 petrol will be smoother and more transparent when it comes.

Whatever the case may be, PADU chugs on, with Rafizi stating that the database has entered the second phase, which involves analysing and streamlining the data of those registered on it. He said that this phase also includes determining household size, expenditure, net income and forming a “use case.”

Regarding the mechanism for targeted subsidies, he said the criteria for the use case are still being determined. “The government will ensure a fair mechanism to identify beneficiary groups and minimise inclusion and exclusion errors,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• I already told you, Padu and 1MDB are the same, government just use all kind of excuses to eat our money

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 9
    • Afiyt on Jul 13, 2024 at 7:26 am

Walauns’ logic RM 42 billion (US$11.73 billion) 1MDB draining to Ah Jib Gor and Jho Low pocket = RM85 million for the sake of nation financial management.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 47
    • Dah Menang Semua on Jul 13, 2024 at 8:31 am

1MDB -RM43b (current exchange rate)
      With 70% said to be recovered
      Still “missing” about RM13b
      13,000 X RM1mil my fren

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
    • DonkeyKong on Jul 13, 2024 at 11:46 am

Apa RM42 billion pulak? You guys haven’t been following the 1MDB trial ka? ‍♂️

This is exactly why the lousiest govt keeps getting voted into power by low-information voters like these. It’s a clear indication that you guys voted Pakatan and got us into this mess LOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 16
      • sutyr on Jul 14, 2024 at 7:05 am

Its name tells of his so high-information by itself.

• Crdest on Jul 14, 2024 at 3:16 pm

Publicly filed 1MDB account on 2015: RM42b ($11.73b) DEBT including interest
        Source?
        Malaysian guaranteed bond issued by Goldman Sach in 2013:$3b
        $sakau?
        Petro Saudi (real saudi oil co is Aramco): $1b
        Goldman Sach commission: $300m
        Rosmah’s handbag and jewellery:$270m
        Jho Low use to buy properties:$140m
        Equanimity yatch: $250m
        Jho Low parkland hotel:$139m
        Reza Red Granite:$57m
        Singapore returns:$50m
        Najib account:$681m
        Roger Ng, Khadem AlKhobaishi,Leonardo Dicaprio drawings, Monets, Marlon Brando oscar, transparent piano fo Miranda Kerr, Paris Hilton invitation to party,so on and so fourth

• DonkeyKong on Jul 15, 2024 at 4:03 pm

LOL debts doesn’t mean missing money, moron. Looks like you have no idea about what’s mentioned in the Goldman Sachs and 1MDB cases.

• Amran on Jul 16, 2024 at 12:56 am

Want to see where 1MDB money go to? TRX
          Want to see where Pakatan spend gomen money? the fleet of mentri Alphards

• Wee Wee ...the trojan horse on Jul 13, 2024 at 9:24 pm

Alto it is inhouse..Rafizi didnt reveal the source of the software and hardware.Surely there r ‘suppliers”.
      How clean is this Madani govt…no one knows,,time will tell.
      Just like it took some time for MACC to uncover “ALLEGED CORRUPTION” in the Jana Wibawa case after MoomOO’s govt has fallen.

• macampondan on Jul 15, 2024 at 3:14 pm

dompet pun padu… kan

• What a joke.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
  • Oh shit…spend like your bapa punya wang!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
  • Sohai on Jul 12, 2024 at 9:39 pm

Spent so much money with no outcome.
    Earlier it was reported that PADU largely use existing resources to build.

He needs to understand that if he doesn’t utilize the data soon, some of the data will go stale. A person was unemployed beginning of the year doesn’t mean he is unemployed now.

Jibby didn’t need any of this fancy database and still managed BRIM.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 3
    • Jayden on Jul 13, 2024 at 1:07 am

Najib is the best. He pump life to the economy and life is easier under him. So many project and investment that if finished MY will benefit much. Too bad, all my relatives and family voted him out and go camping celebrating historical moment while I skipped all the stupid voting and everyone scolded me for like 10 yrs and say Im traitor. I m just being practical and analyse the situation. They said heaven will arrived when Anw become PM. Now all of them say Im the smart one they all want Jib back. Some of them even delete the family gathering pic during the bersih and yellow march. Haha.. their apology to me, and praises…better late than never.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 39
      • anwar menang, rakyat dijubokkan on Jul 13, 2024 at 9:25 am

“So many project and investment that if finished MY will benefit much”

how many now is white elephant?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 18
        • DonkeyKong on Jul 13, 2024 at 1:24 pm

ECRL. Bandar Malaysia. TRX. HSR. MRT. LRT. UTC. Klinik Rakyat 1Malaysia.

Please do tell which one of these is a white elephant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Useless Minister

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 3
  • Peppa on Jul 12, 2024 at 9:57 pm

Why does rafizi face always look like a creepy pedophile?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 6
    • DonkeyKong on Jul 13, 2024 at 1:27 pm

Rafizi is definitely not a pedo. Just ask Bukhairi Yusof a.k.a. Bucks. He can attest that Rapuzi just plays for the other team and doesn’t play with minors.

• Menteri ekonomi terpaling bahlol on Jul 13, 2024 at 5:57 pm

I’m a pedo!

• Sound like Elon Musk..

• Markup more than 10000%…ready to keep for stepping down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
  • Things like the PADU will only create more civil servants and i guess, friends of rafizi gets to run the system as a reward for their support.
    A big gomen will eventually crawl into your life telling you what to do etc. What we need is a small gomen that does not intefere with our everyday life. Small gomen means less regulation, less bureaucracy, faster approval for project proposal……create more jobs and opportunities. Big gomen meabwhike will vomoete with private businesses unfairly, using tax payers money to destroy tax payers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
    • Agreed, well…not only friend of minster got benefits from PADU, some other project in transportation also benefited to their friends and their circle of power.

• strongly agreed.. This so called Padu definitely formed by d gangs n **ma zai of Rah fee gee…

• Dugung X on Jul 14, 2024 at 1:56 pm

Malaysia already got the highest civil servant per capita in the world, google it. Every 4 taxpayer is funding 1 civil servant’s salary, and their salary is HUGE. Imagine this invisible dude in your family draining your resources daily and contribute next to nothing.

• Dugung X on Jul 14, 2024 at 2:00 pm

Also you will own nothing and be happy eventually. Look at what happened to Astro, gonna end up being eaten up by the government as they can’t afford to pay 700+ million ridiculous tax.

• Corrupted Malaysia Government on Jul 13, 2024 at 4:41 am

Why don’t use that 85mil to benefit Malaysian people instead of develop that PADU crap which is useless at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
    • Uselesss gomen on Jul 13, 2024 at 6:56 pm

Aiya… must come out with some noob thing to spend ppl money mah. Next time better not to anyone. Just reject ur own vote and put inside the ballot. Let this stupid parties know that we do not want any of them to be in power!

• Dugung X on Jul 15, 2024 at 1:58 pm

So many ppl always follow blindly n support of course they continue milking rakyat la

• Grumpy_car on Jul 13, 2024 at 6:26 am

Wow, he didn’t use the correct formula. He hasn’t included the costs for utilities, maintenance, and staff salaries (do you we don’t pay the gov servants salaries?). The total amount will be much higher in the long run, especially after the equipment becomes obsolete. Do you know how often Google replaces their servers to keep their cloud services efficient?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Best minister in the world on Jul 13, 2024 at 7:28 am

Superb.

• Ji Kao on Jul 13, 2024 at 8:37 am

I thought it was free for the benefit of rakyat

• Frankc on Jul 13, 2024 at 9:15 am

I hope rafizi understand that this data will be less accurate as time progresses. People’s economic conditions can change from time to time.
    I really don’t understand how a static data can capture the much needed current info if it is not dynamically updated.
    Big data is only as good as what you put in. Rubbish in rubbish out

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • anwar menang, rakyat dijubokkan on Jul 13, 2024 at 9:28 am

The oxfart’s mySejahtera costs RM70 million…

RR got double degree so cannot make less then RM70 million la… definitely must be la…

• Newme on Jul 13, 2024 at 10:37 am

Which minister’s spouse own this company?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • ROTI CANAI on Jul 13, 2024 at 11:26 am

85 mil. hello? apa ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • ICE or Hybrid only on Jul 13, 2024 at 11:30 am

This menteri really bahalol…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Simon Low on Jul 13, 2024 at 12:24 pm

Pls justify. This was claimed to be internal development. How can such simple and ineffective system cost so much? Pls disclose full detail breakdown of cost. Most likely super duper high salary paid to lousy developers and programmers. Pls be accountable cause you are an accountant too. Full disclosure. In addition, this should not even have to be spent cause data are all over with LHDN. You are just duplicating. Pls listen to what public is saying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • Juragan on Jul 13, 2024 at 12:36 pm

Last time this useless minister said PADU was internal development and no tender. So how and where they spent RM85.27milion ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
    • Yeirr on Jul 14, 2024 at 8:12 am

New PC, new server, data centre, software, training, bandwidth, broadband, disaster recovery centre.
      I believe if it was outsource to son in law company easily can breach RM8.5billion. Remember RM3.5b Immigration NIISe contract awarded to Muhyiddins now no where to be found son in law?

• PDW7257 on Jul 13, 2024 at 2:26 pm

Humility is not in his dictionary.

Everyone else is ‘bodoh’

• 7774g92 on Jul 13, 2024 at 4:10 pm

Didn’t PADU get hacked? He wanna brag about wasting 85 mil on that?

• Another lame plan to masuk pocket program, kudos , lesson learnt, don’t ever trust any politics!!!

• Spend this much our money then doing useless thing, also been hack steel data.

• Zero head on Jul 13, 2024 at 8:09 pm

Regardless of which party rule it always incompetent. BCOS the root cause it’s a bunch of good for nothing civil service . Minister is like manager and the civil servant is like engineers . A good manager without competent engineers yield no result .

• Karamgit on Jul 14, 2024 at 6:02 am

what is all the fuss creating PADU and BUDI, just use MyCard IC NUMBER to allow subsidies, Track IC No who used high consumption more than RM400 , RM 1000 and so own every lorry driver must tap IC to enable subsidies price, And track using AI , Apa susah sangat la woi..

• IT Infra, SW License, Development, Services and Maintenance wud not cost RM85M from 2023 till now…

• Andrekua on Jul 14, 2024 at 7:09 pm

Honestly why are people getting anxious over RM85m? Are they really concerned about the money spent or just fretting over possible possible subsidies removal once they worked out crunching the collected data?

• opmanmy on Jul 14, 2024 at 8:26 pm

Another excuses to develop something but not really useful. Waste of tax payers’ money. RM 85 mil can upgrade several or many police stations that much needed to upgrade. What a waste of RM 85 mil. Really joker!

• Ben Yap on Jul 15, 2024 at 8:38 am

In January 2024, the government said that PADU system was built by civil servants, it did not incur additional setup costs except for hardware which amounted to RM2 million. Now it has balloon up to RM85m more than 40 times the cost that was announced. Please step down! This is taxpayers’ money and there is no cost saving.

• Eskay on Jul 15, 2024 at 2:41 pm

Simple Calculation
    ——————————-
    ( Budi Madani, RM 200 x 12 months ) – ( R/Tax RM 820 ) – ( Car Insurance, RM 400 ) = ( Nett acquired, RM 1,180 ). So,equal to RM 3.25 a day. ( RM 1,180 divided by 365 days )
    But, unfortunately my case still under review / appeal.

• karpal_sinking on Jul 16, 2024 at 1:01 pm

with rm85 million we could have bought 10 MRI machines for gov hospitals. but instead we got PADU lmao

• i think for PADU cost rm80 million++… so stupid n SPRM need to check… tak logik