Chery Omoda 5 H now with RM13k rebate; base C gets limited Bloodstone Red, Vanilla Blue colour options

It would be no exaggeration to deem the Omoda 5 the spearhead of Chery’s Malaysian re-entry last year. Klang Valley roads are awash with the things, and JPJ data says that over 7,200 units have found homes from January to November this year.

Chery’s most popular model carries a 156 hp/230 Nm 1.5 litre four-cylinder turbo engine and a nine-virtual ratio CVT. Locally-assembled (CKD) from day one, the bold-looking Omoda 5 is a tad larger than the Honda HR-V and very lux inside, with conjoined screens and a high centre console.

Now there’s another reason to buy one – the range-topping H variant is being offered with an up-to-RM13,000 rebate. That means, for a bit over RM100k, you’ll get red highlights on the front lower grille, side mirrors, lower doors, rear spoiler and wheels, plus full faux leather upholstery, a sunroof, eight Sony speakers, powered/ventilated front seats, 360 camera, sequential indicators and a power tailgate – all of these, the C variant doesn’t get.

The C variant is priced at RM99,800 – no promo this round, but you can have yours in the new C-exclusive Bloodstone Red or Vanilla Blue body colours, which are limited to just 150 units each. They’re striking hues, and you’ll still get two 10.25-inch screens with wireless Apple CarPlay/Android Auto, wireless phone charging, proximity lock/unlock, ambient lighting, full ADAS and double-glazed windows.

As standard, the Chery Omoda 5 comes with a seven-year/150,000 km warranty and five years’ free labour (excluding parts) for every alternate service, but you can fork out RM2,000 for a 10-year/1,000,000 km engine warranty, or RM11,600 for that incredible warranty plus a seven-year Extra Peace of Mind service package.

Not forgetting Chery Malaysia’s ‘Great Year-End Lucky Draw’, which offers buyers who register their new vehicle within this month a chance to win prizes worth over RM150,000, including a brand-new Omoda 5 as the grand prize, household appliances, video game consoles and shopping vouchers.

Chery Omoda 5 H

Chery Omoda 5 C in Bloodstone Red

Chery Omoda 5 C in Vanilla Blue

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• ICE or Hybrid only on Dec 13, 2024 at 7:52 pm

Tak laku keras…

• ROTI CANAI on Dec 13, 2024 at 8:18 pm

Axle warranty how

• Colin on Dec 13, 2024 at 9:10 pm

Back then we used to make fun of Chinese cars, fast forward to today, Chinese car brands are starting to keep up with American, German, Italian, British, Japanese and Korean car brands . I’m glad my mom bought this car and Not the Corolla Cross . Even the styling this car looks cool outside and inside than the Corolla Cross.
    Those haters and trolls can say whatever they want about reliability, but so far my mom’s car is still doing well. The only drawback about this car is when you’re in a traffic jam, the 7-speed DCT makes the car jerky , but on highway s , the 7-speed DCT and a good powertrain combine can be useful for over talking slow-moving cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • hyin21 on Dec 15, 2024 at 9:30 pm

I am wondering why they give so generous rebate

• Mata kucing on Dec 16, 2024 at 9:04 am

Haha. Talk cock. I noticed only one community buys this trash. IYKYK why.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • Jeremy on Dec 16, 2024 at 3:49 pm

Mata kucing ……If don’t like then no need to
        buy, easy.

• Jesper on Dec 16, 2024 at 4:03 pm

Mata kucing…… trash talk all you want….. because people will still buy this car.

• Eugene on Dec 16, 2024 at 4:07 pm

So you don’t like…..then don’t buy…… because talking trash to other people will only make people think like you’re a 9-year-old kid

• ironic on Dec 17, 2024 at 12:08 am

proton/geely is also china car, i wonder which community buys proton?

• ironic on Dec 17, 2024 at 12:11 am

proton rebadges geely cars. guess which community buys proton the most.

• BYD = Buy You Die… very soon

• SibuMan on Dec 14, 2024 at 9:03 am

TakNak