2025 BMW i4 eDrive35 facelift launched in Malaysia – laser taillights, updated design, 500 km range; RM295k

BMW Malaysia has launched the new BMW i4 eDrive35 M Sport, which made its global debut back in April last year. The updated electric vehicle (EV) gets some styling tweaks along with a revised kit list, with the asking price being RM294,800 on-the-road without insurance. This figure is without BMW Service Inclusive (BSI) which includes an extended five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty and six-year, unlimited-mileage service package – adding this brings the price to RM315,600.

The pre-update i4 was offered in eDrive35, eDrive35 M Sport, eDrive40 M Sport and M50 versions, with the middle child being replaced with the newer model introduced today. The difference in pricing is RM10,000, with the equivalent older model costing less at RM284,800 (RM305,600 with BSI). We can expect the other variants to be updated as well, although nothing’s been confirmed for now.

Starting with the exterior, the latest i4 sports a redesigned kidney grille that can be identified by its diamond-patterned inlay similar to what you’ll find on the iX2. Also new are the adaptive LED headlamps with BMW Selective Beam technology and vertical L-shaped daytime running light bars. We’re also getting the fancy laser taillights similar to those found on the M4 CSL.

Elsewhere, the M Sport bumpers are unchanged from before, but the M high-gloss Shadowline trim is new and replaces the previous i4 eDrive35 M Sport’s Frozen Grey exterior highlights. The 19-inch aerodynamic wheels in 996M bicolour are also an inch larger than the outgoing model’s 18-inch 858M units.

Moving to the interior, the refresh introduces a new flat-bottomed sports steering wheel in a three-spoke design with a 12 o’clock marker. The air vents and control panel beneath it have also been revised with a more modern look, with the former now illuminated to match the rest of the ambient lighting. The i4 also gets M PerformTex upholstery in black with M piping that is said to be more environmentally-friendly.

Returning features include the BMW Curved Display with a 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster and 14.9-inch central touchscreen, joined by a head-up display, an anthracite headliner, aluminium rhombicle anthracite M trim, three-zone climate control, Connected Package Professional, ConnectedDrive services, a wireless charging pad as well as powered front seats with memory function for the driver.

As for the powertrain, it’s still a rear-mounted electric motor rated at 286 PS (282 hp or 210 kW) and 400 Nm of torque. This is good for the same 0-100 km/h time of six seconds as well as a top speed of 190 km/h. M Sport suspension remains the default as before.

The lithium-ion battery maintains its gross energy capacity of 70.3 kWh, although the usable capacity is slightly more at 67.1 kWh (previously 66 kWh). This is good for a slightly higher WLTP-rated range of up to 500 km (previously 483 km). For charging, a full charge with the 11-kW onboard AC charger (Type 2) will take seven hours, while with DC fast charging (CCS2) at up to 180 kW, a 10-80% state of charge is reached in just 32 minutes.

Driving Assistant remains standard for the i4 eDrive35 M Sport and includes Active Cruise Control with stop and go, Lane Departure Warning with Lane Return, Lane Change Warning, Front Collision Warning with Brake Intervention, Rear Crossing Traffic Warning, Rear Collision Prevention and Speed Limit Info.

2025 BMW i4 eDrive35 M Sport spec sheet; click to enlarge

Parking Assistant gets upgraded to the Plus version that comes with Park Assist, Active Park Distance Control Reversing Assistant and Lateral Parking Aid, while the Reversing Assist Camera is replaced with the more advanced Surround View System with Remote 3D View.

Buyers will have two new exterior colours to choose from, which are Cape York Green and Fire Red, with both joining the existing range that includes Alpine White, Mineral White, Black Sapphire, M Portimao Blue and M Brooklyn Grey.

GALLERY: 2025 BMW i4 eDrive35 M Sport facelift official photos

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• other people EV selling cheaper and cheaper while this one is more n more expensive

• ROTI CANAI on Jan 16, 2025 at 11:48 am

betul2 harga yahudi. boikot. beli byd seal atau xpeng g6

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
    • Roti Sht on Jan 22, 2025 at 9:08 am

Every time I see roti canai I’ll vomit, is better I drive my Conti car.

• Lawless on Jan 16, 2025 at 4:16 pm

i4 very nice looking car, but why rear seat still don’t have the flat flooring.

• 300k for only 400Nm, 0-100 km/h time of six seconds… is this the new luxury to get overtaken by Seal and Model 3 on the road? Lmao.

• What is seal? Model 3? Exotic car man u cant see 10 in a year. Model 3? Semua org beli entry level very slow punya la. My friend model 3 masuk kilang alot he wanna hentam the car d. He sold it to a kesian who also sold it not long after. He bought 330i and never look back at ev again. Now he warning every friend who think of EV. Muahaha last time he is champion of ev and tesla. Remember he brought a cameraman just to take pic of collecting tesla.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • Keep lying, try harder. I have driven my Model 3 for more than a year, never once it needs servicing, let alone masuk kilang. BMW is the one people call Banyak Masuk Kilang instead lmao

• View account on May 19, 2025 at 3:48 pm

U cant afford BMW-i then just go buy Tesla. Tesla owner fantasizing they belong to luxury group and keep dreaming. Look at the price everyone knw camry or Mazda 6 is above u in Price no need merc or bmw. Seal top speed is just 180kmh for performance model dont think it will keep up with a 330i or 340i which easily pass 240kmh. And yes, all my University female friend talked bout Tesla a lot but during lunch break all fighting to enter car of the guy with a BMW 320i. Ask why, they answer, Tesla is special but BMW is the guy they going after. Funny?

• ROTI CANAI on Jan 20, 2025 at 4:14 pm

stop fantasizing

• ROTI CANAI on Jan 17, 2025 at 7:36 pm

kena overtake by proton emas also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • DUmb Thed on Jan 26, 2025 at 12:06 am

Kindly check LC500 how much it cost, what’s the acceleration from 0-100, luxury car is not always about 0-100 dumbsht. Even myvi maybe can faster than your stupid seal, d!ckhe@d.

• anonymous on Jan 17, 2025 at 9:20 am

does this not come with an upgraded audio system? can’t find it on the brochure either. if so, kind of a bummer considering it’s a solid packaging otherwise.