Fine foreign cars buying RON95, why fine us? – PDAM

Presently, if a non-Malaysian buys subsidised fuel (RON 95 petrol) at a Malaysian petrol station, the dealer can be fined up to RM1 million or jailed for three years – but the foreigner gets away scot-free, says a report by The Star.

Exasperated by this and the increasing number of foreign nationals exploiting the situation, the Petrol Dealers Association of Malaysia (PDAM) wants legislation to penalise such foreigners instead of the dealers themselves.

The association’s communication and media secretary Gordon Lim said it was difficult for petrol dealers to keep a watch on foreign cars that use petrol pumps located at the far end of stations and use credit cards to quickly fill up.

“It is unfair to penalise petrol station dealers. The dealers do not want to sell RON 95 to foreigners. The profit margin in such transactions is minimal, so it’s not practical or worthwhile to break the law.

“As long as the buyers are not penalised, they will always keep trying,” Lim said, adding that Singaporean plates are similar to Sabahan plates, making it difficult to accurately identify foreign-registered vehicles.

On the suggestion that an attendant be stationed at each pump to monitor foreign vehicles, Lim said this was not viable as it would drastically escalate operational costs, citing the “razor-thin” margins under the automatic pricing mechanism (APM).

Lim said that would also increase reliance on foreign labour, as locals were not generally willing to be pump attendants. “It would also defeat the self-service policy at petrol stations,” he added.

Would the problem go away with the start of targeted RON 95 petrol subsidies? Lim said PDAM was still in the dark regarding this, but noted that there would be no issue if subsidies are removed completely.

This age-old issue recently resurfaced due to the thousands of cars entering Johor from Singapore for Chinese New Year. The Star reports that a video of a Singaporean car pumping RON 95 at a Johor Bahru petrol station’s far end a few days ago went viral, and that the Johor domestic trade and cost of living ministry (KPDN) has issued a reminder that foreign vehicles are barred from buying RON 95 petrol.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express frustration over Malaysia's fuel subsidy policies and enforcement issues related to foreign vehicles pumpining RON95. Some suggest stricter penalties, such as fines, jail, or corporal punishment, to deter illegal filling by foreigners, while others propose designated foreign vehicle sections or system controls like bank card restrictions. Several commenters emphasize the importance of targeted subsidy for Malaysians, especially B40, and criticize current policies as unfair or ineffective. There are debates about the legality of foreigners using Malaysian-registered vehicles or payment methods, with suggestions to improve enforcement and prevent abuse. Overall, opinions reflect dissatisfaction with government enforcement, concern over resource misuse, and calls for more logical, fair policies for domestic benefit.

• opmanmy on Jan 31, 2025 at 12:19 pm

Enforcement is lazy approach. Dealers cannot run away…but the foreigners can. So instead of penalizing the foreigners, you know la how enforcement here is about…look for “easy” target. Yep, the law should be amended. Fine the foreigners! Minister, pakai otak sikit ok! Ini tak perlu AI! Common sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 5
    • Phua choo kang on Jan 31, 2025 at 5:56 pm

We are strong country, you think malaysia can touch us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • Message to mat rempit out there on Feb 03, 2025 at 4:38 am

Next time you see sinkies filling up with ron95, surround their cars and beat the shit out of the sinkies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Maleise is a joke on Feb 01, 2025 at 8:34 am

If menteri got otak, maleise would be more developed and richer than sinkieland la

• Akmal ham cheese on Feb 01, 2025 at 8:37 am

We no common sense. Our iman tergugat. We have to make pulis repot. They’ll help us think straight because we lost all ability to think logically. Tak senang la abam pulis kita. Sikit2 buat repot

• Malaysia for malaysians on Feb 03, 2025 at 4:19 am

Menteri busy with menial stuff like sacred socks and ham cheese. If they want to enforce bahasa melayu as the official language then ron95 should be the official petrol for ALL malaysians

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 03, 2025 at 3:53 pm

RON95 no subsidy will only benefit Sinkies as they still enjoy the currency conversion difference with MYR. So removing subsidy won’t hurt them but will defo hurt us and B40s more. Is this Gomen a servant of Sinkie rakyat or wat? Can we charge them for high treason & treachery to the rakyat Malaysia?

• Phuddi sung Lee on Jan 31, 2025 at 1:02 pm

This is we call monkey biz as throw blames to each other , special technique by pdam

• Aung sang Sukyi n Ajibkor on Jan 31, 2025 at 2:01 pm

Poor PDAM dealers..memang,kesian.
    There must be a mechanism..like livestreaming the offending foreign car to our borders,for our authorities to fine them kaokao,like say Rm1000,failing which the car is detained.
    The petrol pump staff or even the public can assist if there is a mechanism.
    Right now,the Banglas have their hands full.Enforcement shouldnt be on their shoulders.

• Akmal ham cheese on Feb 03, 2025 at 4:30 am

PDAM giving shitloads of excuses. Which business would say no to sales? Melei wanna buy beer you think the kk mart cashier say sorry I can’t sell to you? You don’t need an attendant at each pump, just 1 at the entrance to filter out foreign cars will do

• OneAMG on Jan 31, 2025 at 2:13 pm

Simple. Disable credit card transaction when a foreign credit card is detected. If he uses a Malaysian credit card, then he’s not a foreigner. So Malaysian driving foreign car also cannot buy RON95? Then what about foreigners driving Malaysian cars? Can buy?

• Hantu Raya on Jan 31, 2025 at 3:40 pm

That’s the bank’s job, all card payment terminals belong to them and there’s no way they want to get involved in this.

• Gomorrah on Jan 31, 2025 at 10:03 pm

If our policy implementation was thought through logically like you’ve said you think our country will be where it is ah?

• Hamster on Feb 01, 2025 at 8:44 am

Majority can’t think logically. Pulis will help them think after making a report

• Art of maleise politics on Feb 01, 2025 at 7:54 pm

1) Weaponize poverty and keep the poor addicted to handouts
        2) Create religious issues to mask the gomen’s shortcomings
        2) Put religion ahead of all economic and social decision

• Rewind to 1957 on Feb 03, 2025 at 3:14 am

Not so much policy making but the core itself is wrong from the start. When a country’s constitution favors a race or religion, it’s a recipe for disaster

• MPower on Feb 01, 2025 at 8:21 am

I’m willing to stand at petrol pumps help sinkies pay with my MALAYSIAN credit card + 10% commission. If you look like a foreigner just stay in your car, I’ll help you fill up for another 5%

• Maybe on Feb 01, 2025 at 9:28 am

Using a card issued in Malaysia does not mean he/she is not a foreigner. Foreigner can obtain such banking facility too with slight hurdle.

Anyway, the system can be programmed in a way the card cannot be used to purchase RON95. The gomen should act through BNM for this to happen.

Long time ago when Islamic banking starts to gain market share, some cards issued under such banking facility could not be used at some non-halal merchant. Its not working perfect but with relevant vital details obtained, this can easily be done at 100% accuracy for buying petrol. Banks will keep quiet about this as they answered to shareholders and not the gomen. Profit always comes first for them.

• Perhaps? on Feb 03, 2025 at 3:37 am

Can I pump ron95 if i’m a foreigner with the same belief as your country’s official religion

• Drug dealers on Jan 31, 2025 at 2:26 pm

Same same la. Cops catch and hang us for drug possession but drug addicts enter pusat serenti minom teh only

• The price of RON 97 in Malaysia is much cheaper than even the lowest-grade petrol in Singapore. Why do Singaporeans still want to pump the subsidized fuel that is available only to Malaysians?

• Lawrence Wong on Feb 01, 2025 at 8:08 am

1) Because we are CHEAPSKATES
      2) Not all sinkies are rich. We have your B40 equivalents too.
      3) We spent too much on COEs so we taking your sweet subsidized petrol
      4) Claim our share of the country. Tunku Abdul Rahman kicked us out from maleise. Ridiculously cheap untreated water from johor not enough.

• Kea Was on Feb 01, 2025 at 1:29 pm

Kiamsiap

• This article seems to suggest that foreigners (people) are the same as foreign-registered vehicles. I am a non-Malaysian but I live here (legally), work here, and pay plenty of taxes here. My car was bought and registered here in Malaysia, so even though I am a “foreigner,” it is 100% legal and appropriate for me to pump subsidised 95 RON fuel into my Malaysia-registered car if I choose to do so.

You could do a better job of making this distinction. Otherwise, you’re just adding to get likelihood that I’ll be confronted by some confused person at a petrol station who thinks foreign nationals can’t buy this fuel.

• Akmal ham cheese on Feb 01, 2025 at 8:14 am

We so confused. Our iman tergugat. We must make pulis repot because we so weak we lost ability to think logically. Who else is confused?

• Mamat keliru on Feb 01, 2025 at 8:16 am

Nak tanya ni. Kalo nampak mat salleh kat stesen minyak pakai kete sewa plate Malaysia bulih isi ron95 tak? Ke tak boleh jugak?

• The only B40 foreigners are rohinyas and indon construction workers. If you pay plenty of taxes means you’re T15 mat salleh. You rich we take more from you so shadap

• Maybe on Feb 01, 2025 at 9:37 am

Well Chad, if you paid plenty of taxes then high chance u belong to that so called T20 group. Regardless of foreigners or not, most probably you are not eligible for subsidy when the time comes.

Right now, just pump whatever u want into your fuel tank. U got my blessing.

BTW ‘legal’ and ‘appropriate’ is living in 2 different universe.

• Don't risk your life on Feb 03, 2025 at 3:49 am

I suggest you migrate to another country before you get beaten up in petrol stations by the rempit mob. The majority in this country can’t think straight anymore after decades of brainwashing by rasis politicians and religious cults. This country turning into another Iran or Afghanistan

• Stefan Pertz on Jan 31, 2025 at 4:17 pm

A foreigner does not equate to a foreign registered vehicle. I am a foreigner with a local employment pass, paying taxes to the Malaysian koffers; my vehicle is registered in the name of a Malaysian company. Totally fine for me to buy Ron 95 last I checked. And if that becomes a problem, I will have to send my Malaysian wife to the station with my locally registered vehicle.

This happens when an article is just copied from another media…

• Tonto stesen minyak on Feb 01, 2025 at 8:28 am

If your Malaysian wife not free then you can use my services at 5% service charge. Just stay in your car I’ll help you fill up with our sweet subsidized petrol

• ROTI CANAI on Jan 31, 2025 at 4:36 pm

Remove subsidies. Only bumi get special

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • Akmal ham cheese on Feb 01, 2025 at 7:52 am

Saya sokong! This country belongs to us

• Malaya for malays on Feb 01, 2025 at 7:56 am

Other races can go home

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Kuah dhal on Feb 01, 2025 at 8:47 am

Sure! We always give way and special treatment to golongan OKU and handicapped

• Dumb race saying dumb things on Feb 01, 2025 at 8:54 am

Never failed to entertain

• Weak attempt at being batu api

• Malaya for malays on Feb 03, 2025 at 4:05 am

If this country can have IT malls and universities for bumi only then gomen can also restrict subsidized fuel sales thru petronas only. Pump attendants just need to verify from the customers’ face and skin color. Those don’t look like bumi gets chased away with a broom

• So silly. Completely remove the subsidy lahhh. Its funny. A subsidi to subsidy to subsidize 95% of population. And you call it targetted. Funny

• Lapizi Lampazi on Feb 01, 2025 at 8:30 am

Yes we target to exclude the rich. Tak suka bulih balik (insert country of origin)

• Player 2 on Feb 01, 2025 at 9:39 am

Hey…give them a break. Dont we enjoy their constant comedy show every now and then?

• redhulk on Feb 01, 2025 at 8:27 am

Fine kau la. Kau pemalas nak larang orang asing isi minyak RON95. Kau fikir untung kau saja. Pasal kau pemalas, semua orang lain kena isi dengan minyak harga market. Dah takda subsidi.

Tu belum kira kau yang jenis subahat dengan penyakau2 subsidy petrol dan diesel.

Dan kau yang dah jujur buat kerja larang orang curi petrol dan diesel subsidi, komen ni bukan untuk kau. Ni ditujukan kepada pemalas dan juga geng penyakau.

• Earth prince on Feb 03, 2025 at 4:10 am

Tempias kat orang kita weiii. Penyakau terhormat tu pun orang kita jugak weiii

• Has the petrol station done enough to prevent such case? Maybe remove Ron 95 petrol pump at the far end for a start.

• Senthil Raja on Feb 01, 2025 at 9:02 pm

Designate foreign pumps section la. Makes life easier susah sgt ke?

• Can ask local pump for me on Feb 03, 2025 at 4:13 am

Macam non-halal section kat supermarket kan? Boleh je suruh orang lain belikan. Mengidam pulak nak makan ham cheese & red wine yumssss

• subsidy on Feb 02, 2025 at 8:20 pm

Just float the damn RON95 price as per diesel, give targeted subsidy to those qualified like diesel subsidy…..this will help reduce traffic jam on the PLUS and other highway, lesser ppl driving outstation …lesser traffic jam. current ron95 subsidy is not sustainable and will bankrupt the country. Better channel the fund to build more hospital, school, pay more teachers, nurse & doctors!

• Rumah halaman sendiri dilupakan on Feb 03, 2025 at 11:15 am

PMX is using taxpayers money to build hospitals and schools in gaza but not for his own country

• Ben Yap on Feb 03, 2025 at 10:51 am

Singapore has one of the strictest corporal punishment. Malaysia can adopt that too. Foreign vehicles that are found pumping RON95 is akin to stealing national resources and offenders should be jailed, fine and whipped. These will be a good deterrent from pumping RON95.

• Levin on Feb 03, 2025 at 4:06 pm

Easy. Let them fuel up subsidized RON95 then impose fine on them for double the amount and this must be paid before leaving the border check. Settle.

• Curi ayam on Feb 04, 2025 at 8:09 pm

Sebab tu kalau ada pump attenden mcm dulu tak jadi hal² ni, buat semula. Wajibkan rakyat Malaysia