The 2025 Proton X50 facelift has been spotted again, this time by Yong Owen and Lee Sherman. Some of the sheetmetal changes are visible, including a redesigned tailgate that houses the chiselled full-width taillights and moves the number plate recess lower down.
The redesigned bumper keeps the quad tailpipes but gains a new diffuser design. The Binyue L-specific rear bumper is less aggressive than the previous Binyue Cool (the left-hand-drive prototype seen in 2023 was based on this earlier model), ditching the diffuser fins and fake vents. However, the car you see here gets the Cool’s outlandish Batmobile-style rear wing.
The frontal spyshots show that the lower grille is full-width and has horizontal slats (like the Binyue L) instead of mesh (like the Binyue Cool), essentially confirming that the X50 facelift is based on the former. Expect slimmer headlights (with S70-like DRL dashes), L-shaped bumper corners that mirror those at the rear (with the bonnet and front fenders re-profiled to fit) and new 18-inch turbine-style alloys.
The Geely Binyue L also has a revised cabin that incorporates new air-con vents, climate control toggles and a revamped centre console with twin grab handles, configurable storage and a thin translucent gear selector.
There’s also the latest Flyme Auto infotainment system that made its Malaysian debut on the eMas 7, running on an 8.8-inch slimline instrument display and 14.6-inch centre touchscreen (the current X50‘s displays are 7.0 and 10.25 inches respectively). Other new bits include novel new sunvisors with a see-through lower half that retains forward visibility while still cutting out glare.
Could the X50 facelift get Geely’s latest four-cylinder turbo engine, used since the Binyue Cool? In the L, the mill produces 180 PS at 5,500 rpm and 290 Nm from 2,000 to 3,500 rpm. That’s 3 PS and 35 Nm up on even the highest-spec direct-injected TGDI version of the existing GEP3 engine, giving the Binyue L a 7.6-second 0-100 km/h time. The gearbox should be the usual seven-speed wet twin-clutcher.
GALLERY: Geely Binyue L
AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.
hopefully new engine
It’s nice to dream however in Malaysia all the China Proton cars are 3 cylinders for a reason and no way they will introduce the better for the lower end SUV.
Apa secret ? Go see Geely cina u know the look lah
Highly plausible sharing the same mild hybrid powertrain as the bigger sibling X90
I do feel like it looks tacky as hell. It is like the old alphard with tacked on full width taillight. Trust me they look hideous
Why should we trust u. U are no one. just like one of the bubble in the sea floating with no purpose.
China already launched it since year 2022, other SEA countries launching it in year 2023/2024, Potong now only testing it in year 2025
Geely, not Proton.
and we will launch it in 2027..LOL
Launch imminent 2025
Doubt they will use 4 cylinder engine..probably the same old lorry sound 3 cylinder engine
If is a 4 cylinder timing chain engine, under rm100k i will buy.